We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location; pleasant staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location; pleasant staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

I have stayed twice at the Portola in the last few months and both times found the staff very helpful and friendly. The location is great, especially for early morning walks and when the farmer's market is happening on Tuesday late afternoon. The restaurant has good quality food, especially fresh seafood caught that morning. Beds are comfy and high quality linens. All around - a winner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFInow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,062
    743
    312
    153
    72
See reviews for
693
821
75
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larkspur, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Portola Hotel & Spa had a casual, comfortable atmosphere with an amazing attention to detail. I'd like one of those beds for my home!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

Wonderful scenery, overpriced.
Beds are too uncomfortable. Too soft you feel like drowning on the matress. Sound isolation is not that good, you hear everything in the corridor and lobby.

Room Tip: Get to be on the main building, not on the adjacent one on the other side of the road next to the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruiamador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Date of Service:
4th of July long week end

Cost:
Price Line $110 per night, yummy....

Good Stuff:
Oh...and the cookies upon check in...they were REALLY good. I did old man Mr. Bumble and got an extra one.
The Portola hotel puts you right where you want to be; steps from the pier, close to shopping, and a 1 mile walk to Cannery Row. Oh yes, Location, Location, Location.
Staff was extremely friendly. Did not talk to them much other than checking-in, one bellhop we saw on the elevator, and some housekeeping staff in the hallways - always score some extra soaps my granddaughter likes them, but everyone was professional, courteous, and friendly. No complaints here.

Bad Stuff:
NO air conditioning. This was not disclosed when booking.
The staff must get this complaint frequently, because they have a little verbal dance they go into if you ask about it. Something about the Russian Sput-Nick still being in orbit , and Global Warming, along with Saving the Whales.

Not sure if this goes in the good or bad stuff category, the city fathers, in their infinite wisdom decided the 4th of July fireworks were not a good thing, so the town was empty -no fireworks- Hay... the bar was open, hick!

Quality of the Hotel:
The hotel itself is really no better than a new Holiday Inn or one of the nicer Hilton Garden Inn, except for having perhaps nicer decor.

My reason for picking this place. You know how you will be visiting someplace and look at a hotel or restaurant and say that looks like a good one, maybe go in and check the lobby out, stop by the bar and have a toddy or two. Then say to yourself next time I am in town I am going to stay here. That's all I got for an excuse.

Parking Costs:
$17 you park it, $20 they park it, fetch it when you want it and re-park it.
You know I hear people complain about parking costs, at the big hotels,
my thoughts on the matter - consider $50 a night in San Francisco - take a pill!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OutandAbout15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

I traveled from New York and went to the Portola for 4 nights with my Mom, who is close to 80 years old and has lived in California for the last 35 years. While a bit pricey for a hotel with no air conditioned rooms, we found that as promised, the A/C was not needed. Opening the patio door a short while before bed time and turning on the ceiling fan was more than fine---in July. We ate dinner at the hotel's Jacks Restaurant, an elegant wood paneled place with a nautical decor...good food and good service. The hotel also has a casual eatery, called Peter B's Pub, a brew pub where we had a burger and grill cheese sandwich, both very nicely done with friendly service. The hotel is a very short walk from the wharf area ( maybe 3 minutes) , which has several shops and seafood restaurants. We dined there at Domenico's ( excellent), with a water view. The hotel's spa is across the center courtyard ( as is the pool and hot tub) and some of the hotel rooms. I found the massage there to be relaxing and worth the cost. Also across the center courtyard is Pino's, a small cafe which serves a well done and inexpensive breakfast. One of the few disappointments of this hotel was it's $15 a person buffet breakfast located in Jack's Restaurant. When we went in to see what they were serving, several trays looked well picked over ( ONE danish left on one platter, about 5 rolls left on another!!!) and the selection limited, although there was a chef preparing custom eggs upon request. We said no thanks, it actually had no appeal.Thank God for Pino's , where we had breakfast the rest of the trip. A great Italian restaurant, Cibos, is located just directly across the street from the hotel's front entrance, and we had dinner there twice. Excellent food, great service. The trolley stop is in front of the hotel,it's free in the summer and will take you in a loop around Monterey, and to the Aquarium and Cannery Row . Its convenient and fun. Park your car at the hotel, which is $20 for a valet park per day. Worth it. Parking is tough in Monterey. Be aware the trolley stops running at 7pm, but then you can call for a cab to get back if necessary. Our room, on the 5th floor in the main building , was quiet as requested, had 2 queen sized beds and a generous sized bathroom, plenty of towels. No issues with maid service. The carpet could have used a bit of a cleaning but was not horrible. The rest of the room, including bedding, was spotless. We were there on a Tuesday and and were delighted that in summer, Tuesday is the day for a "farmers market" on the streets right in front of the hotel, which included not just farm produce, but also many crafts people, vendor food, and live musicians hoping for a tip!! More like a street fair and a lot of fun. The staff at this hotel was unfailingly nice and helpful, from porter to desk staff. We used the concierge in the lobby several times, an efficient knowledgable woman. We also bought our tickets for the aquarium at the hotel front desk, saving us a tedious wait in the very long lines at the aquarium itself, but there is no discount. Get your tickets discounted by purchasing them at AAA in advance if you are certain you are going, but if not, this is a timesaving alternative. Overall, given the nearness of the restaurants like Cibos and Pinos, and the location of the Wharf and the Trolley, this is the most convenient large full service hotel that you could stay at in Monterey, and we felt this hotel worked very well for us indeed. Much was at your fingertips. Very nice. I would return here again.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAR1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Monterey's Portolo is the perfect place to stay if you're visiting this area. Walk out the back entrance to the lobby, go straight ahead, and in 5 min. you're walking into Fisherman's Wharf, with dozens of restaurants, shops, and sights. The tree-filled lobby is beautiful and the staff is always friendly and helpful. Jack's Restaurant, Portolo's on-site restaurant, has amazing breakfasts, with a chef to whip up any omelet you can imagine, and the dinners there are some of the best in the area. Rooms, and their beds, where perfectly clean, comfortable,and relaxing. I can't think of any negatives to the Portolo Hotel and Spa!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
116 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

We were given chocolate chip cookies once we checked in which the kids loved! We had a room with a courtyard view which was nothing special but it was quiet. The rooms are a very nice size. The beds were very comfortable and the down comforter was a nice touch. The rooms do not have air conditioning so we had to sleep with the slider window open but they have a security latch for it. There is a small refrigerator which was nice for keeping waters and fruit. The bathrooms were a little old but nothing bad. The hotel is really in a great location. We were walking distance to many restaurants and you can even rent bikes right outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travlin0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,576 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing