We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“In the middle of the action”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel during our tour of California.
The staff was very welcoming and not obtrusive, the kids were offered warm chocolate chip cookies upon check in.

The room was a spacious double-double at the end of a looong corridor. it was nicely appointed in a marine-themed style. We had no problem with outside noise, except for some sea gulls screaming in the morning, but this added to the holiday-by-the-sea feel.
The bathroom wasn't really up to par and although very clean, would be more likely expected in a 3* Holiday Inn.

We ate breakfast at Jacks restaurant twice, which was very good value for money, especially with kids. The restaurant staff was again very helpfull and out of the way, the best we met this two weeks in California ! Especially the lady cook at the egg station deserves accolades for her great service.

Free WiFi service is only offered in the lower lobby area and in Jacks Lounge. In-room WiFi is prohibitly expensive and worth the trip to the lobby.

Kids activities like a treasure hunt are offered by the reception desk upon request, and the hotel itself is located next to fishermans wharf (where you HAVE to take a whale watching cruise with "gowhales.com" at the end of the pier and then to the right) and the aquarium (another must) is only a short (shuttle) ride away.

If you like Spa activities or spending time by the pool, you maybe should ask for a room in the other building across the pedestrian street, where the Spa and pool area are located.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,072
    752
    314
    153
    75
See reviews for
698
832
75
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights with our 3 young kids. Got a great rate but not worth it due to how loud the outside area of the hotel was. Our room was overlooking the area where they have wedding receptions, so for both nights of our stay we had to endure the extreme noise from outside our room. There is no AC in this hotel so even with the sliding door closed we could hear the music like it was playing in our room full blast. It was near impossible to get the kids to sleep with the noise. The front desk did inform us that the music would only go until 10pm but even after it was shut off at 11 the noise from the after wedding party made it incredibly loud. Beside the noise, no ac, and the $20 charge a nite for a rollaway bed, the hotel has everything else going for it.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashleyinmass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Even though I have rated this a four, it is more of a 4+. I had indicated that I wanted a balcony and a quiet room and got both. This trip was special because my husband and I took two of our grandchildren (ages 9 & 13) to visit the Monterey Acquarium and wished to spend some quality time with them. We all loved the hotel, the room and bathroom were very spacious and clean, a big flat TV (40"), and comfortable beds. What more can you ask for? Well, we slept good because it was quiet. We could hear the plumbing from the upstairs room but since that was only twice at about after 7 AM it was no problem.
The front view from the balcony was nothing to write about, but to our left you could see the ocean, and to the right a view of the city.
The free shuttle runs every 12 minutes or so and it stops in front of the hotel. During our stay there was a bit of construction going on so it stopped around the corner instead-no biggie. We enjoyed leaving the car in the garage and took advantage of the shuttle. Nice driver.
We arrived at the hotel around 10:00 AM and were able to park in the hotel's parking garage. Also, after checking out (11 AM) we were able to leave the car in the hotel's parking garage until 3:00 PM without having to pay a second day fee. That was just an added bonus and perfect for us since it gave us time to go to the wharf and the children enjoyed playing in the sand. When we returned we were able to access the pool area so the children stayed playing there until time to leave. The pool area is very nice, the pool is round, only 3 1/2 ft. deep all around. There is also a hot tub. Towels are available and at your disposal. Two cabanas and lots of lounge chairs. You need the room key to get in. Since we parked ourselves (did not use the valet service) and had to keep the room key to swipe it when leaving the parking garage it worked out perfectly!
Everyone at the front desk was very nice and helpful. Actually, everyone that worked at the hotel was super nice. We ate at the restaurant one night and had the brunch breakfast and it was all delicious. The kids super enjoyed it, and so did we.
The only thing that was a bummer was that when we checked in we were not offered the chocolate chip cookies and I did not ask for them. :( I guess I did not need the extra calories.
All in all the hotel was beautiful, rooms perfect, the coffeemaker in room fantastic, plenty of hot water in the shower, nice service from everyone and a perfect location! We will definitely stay again!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a quiet room and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAqbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2011

Stayed during the Concours d'Elegance and was extremely disappointed. First off the Portola is in a highly desirable location and have comfortable beds. The accolades however end there and is not deserving of the $$$ you have to pay stay at their property. When I think 4 stars, I think of luxury, amenities, and outstanding service. After all you're only one star away from being a "fiver". For the most part the staff was courtesy, however only did enough to get you off their back and leave them alone. It seemed that they just wanted to past the buck and blame to someone else. Their rooms are not what one would expect for a 4 star property. As mentioned their beds are comfortable but that's it. The rooms are small, and dated. I noticed pieces of the wall chipping or chipped pieces on the floor. The bathroom, was small and the shower seemed to have a mind of it's own, switching between hot and cold water. There was also no air conditioning in the room, only a rattling old celing fan the was so noisy. So no A/C means a very stuffy room. Their window also had a wood stick in the slot used a security to lock the window. Seemed kind of odd for a four star hotel. The room was also so noisy being close to a public street.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jsais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The hotel is situation in downtown Monterey, close to everything. If you are going to do a family vacation, this place is ideal. The harbor is a 2 minute walk, the acquarium (which is worth the money) is a short shuttle ride away, and the beach/park is also close-by. There is also a farmers market on Tuesdays that begins virtually at the hotels doorsteps and extends for 4 or 5 blocks.

We got a room with 2 doubles, and it was quite spacious. It was clean and quiet, and in the mornings we awoke to sound of barking sea lions.

We had breakfast every morning at Jacks, and the buffet is worth the $16. Omlette bar, smoked salmon, array of baked goods, pancakes, french toast, waffles, etc. And kids are only $6. We filled up and didn't need to eat until dinner.

The staff went out of its way to make sure our staff was enjoyable. Everyone wore a smile and was attentive to our every request.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hairtonic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Many corridors and walkways lead to many rooms with different outlooks, Ours was pleasant but noisy (faced north). Long walks to the outside (important if you're walking your pet). Good basic upper-mid-range furnishings and comfort level. Good food and attractions within walking range.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WhirledTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on a trip between San Francisco andLos Angeles along Pacific Highway 1. Rooms were very comfortable and spotlessly clean. The hotel has great amenities and is right in the heart of Monterey. We enjoyed being able to walk to all the main attractions from the hotel and the staff were very helpful in making suggestions and arrangements for tickets etc. In fact right from the minute we checked in until we left that was one of the biggest differences between this hotel and so many others - the staff actually cared and the service in any of the restaurants, bars etc was superb.
We ate in the hotel and the food was great, would thoroughly recommend breakfast which really set us up for the day even with three 15 year olds!! Do not miss Peter B's good food a hotel restaurant bar with a micro brewery!!
Used the fitness center which is just across the street from reception which was well equipped and not too busy. The pool made a nice distraction for the kids and allowed us some time to enjoy Monterey.
Would we go back without a doubt!! value for money excellent, service friendly and attentive, food excellent all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing