We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful lobby for lounging :)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beautiful lobby for lounging :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

The weather was cool during my visit, but the lobby was warm & inviting with its indoor trees & lots of comfortable seating. Upon check-in, I was greeted by friendly staff & the warm cookie was a nice touch. From the bar area, I could hear a wonderful musician playing, the acoustics bouncing throughout the entire lobby. The bar staff were friendly, not at all stuffy. My room was nicely appointed, clean, and the bed very comfortable.

I had some difficulty getting back from my bike ride down to Carmel and wasn't able to make it back to the hotel in time for checkout. One quick call and the lady at the front desk had me sorted for a later checkout, beyond what they would normally consider "late". I am so grateful for the wonderful service I received.

The proximity to the Wharf, and the short walk to Cannery Row make this hotel ideally situated to check out many of the attractions that Monterey has to offer.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    733
    308
    150
    71
See reviews for
686
813
74
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tracy, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Havent stayed here for years but got a great deal on travelzoo so we went. From the first moment you arrive pleasantries abound. we had our car parked and front desk staff were on the ball and gave us 2 fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. Our room was small but above average in luxury. We took a walk on the wharf which is steps away and then that night caught our fav comedien at the Golden State theater 2 blocks away. We ate a local restaurant called Risonis which was fantastic and reasonably priced food was fresh service was great. We had buffet breakfast at Jacks in the hotel which was amazing and all the mimosas you can drink. Omelets are custom made and service is top notch. When we checked out and got our car the Valet called us by name and thanked us for coming

Room Tip: ask for left side of hotel the right side overlooks plaza and is noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

Always excited about our trips to Monterey when we are staying at Portola Hotel & Spa, beautiful rooms, awesome staff, our favorite,Tiffany Short, always makes our stay so interesting. Breakfast at Jacks is Perfection, take your time and enjoy, Peter B'S is also a fun and delicious place to eat, both have great food !!! We usally stay at the hotel our entire stay enjoying the beautiful pool, or spa or workout room or taking a walk on the wharf, so refreshing to have everything in walking distance, we come home relaxed and can't wait for our next stay at this Beautiful Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank golfer080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Jazz Bash by the Bay held it's festival> 03/ 01 to 03/03/ 2013< at the Portola Hotel & Spa near the Wharf and it was part of the Convention Center where the third floor Stienbeck Hall is located! Great hotel with great food! A gret brew pub that sits around the corner! It is a nice time but be advised during the week food is not serve after 10:00 pm! Cannery Row is a mile away and this provides a nice walk down a shoreline path!

Room Tip: Across from the main hotel near the pool&spa;in the parking structure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LongBeachTexasT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We spent a long weekend and had a very relaxing yet entertaining time. Portola is an amazing establishment. The hotel is very classy and the staff very warm. There is so much to do and see right there! Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgarant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Our stay at the Portola Hotel and Spa was the BEST!!

You can't beat the location of the hotel, everything is walking distance. Our room had a great bay view. The rooms were great, bed was comfortable and the staff was very helpful.

We had a good time hanging out at Peter B's too!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

As the author of two California Coastal resort/hotel guidebooks--I know well what makes a place extra special. Everything else being equal in a prime property, it is the exceptionally helpful and friendly staff who are always at the ready to assist in any fashion that makes a place truly memorable. And this is definitely the case with the Portola. Perfection in the human experience is no accident--it is a mataphor for the "top-down" style of management. You will likely come away from a weekend stay at the Portola raving just as much, or more, about the cool staff members encountered as the extraordinary culinary offerings of fresh, locally sourced food, the great times in their Peter B's Brew Pub, or the absolutely front-row-center location in the heart of historic old-town Monterey. Did you know that the only place in America that exceeds Monterey's number of historic colonial-era structures is Williamsburg, VA? I could go on and on, but the bottom line is the Portola receives an A+ review from me. Highly recommended equally for a romantic getaway or a corporate retreat/meeting. Bravo Portola--for getting it right!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank journeysofdiscovery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing