We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pacific(Monterey)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Hotel(Monterey)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa(Monterey)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colton Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,648)
Filter reviews
2,648 results
Traveller rating
1,217
820
350
179
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,217
820
350
179
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrew pubjack's restaurantfisherman's wharfwarm cookiescannery rowchocolate chip cookiesceiling fanconvention centerbreakfast buffetself parkingwithin walking distanceper dayupon checkbeautiful hotelmonterey baysea lionswhale watching
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,653 - 1,658 of 2,648 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I booked this hotel off of Hotwire. We arrived in Monterey and to our surprise the hotel was in the best location. You could walk one way to the center of town or walk the other way to the aquarium. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Love the feel of the lobby and it is modern and convenient. I would so stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aniello1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We chose this hotel for a conference because it was listed as "pet friendly." The stay absolutely exceeded all expectations. The hotel is beautiful, only a few steps from Old Fisherman's Wharf. The staff is gracious. The restaurants are excellent, pet friendly and a great value. Look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We've stay here before - and it was wonderful - so we felt hopeful this visit would be the same great experience. Thankfully it was. We booked two rooms and took our adult daughter with us to celebrate her birthday.

The room was very clean - front desk staff were helpful and pleasant. Warm cookies upon arrival are a small thing for a hotel to do but it really has a great impact on travel weary guests :) ( It made up for the valets not asking if we needed help with the bags. )

I told the person in reservations that we were coming as part of our daughter's birthday celebration and when we arrived in her room, she was tickled to see "gifts" form the hotel ~ a bottle of wine, crackers and a fruit and cheese tray!! What a wonderful surprise!

The pool we clean and quiet - the breakfast buffet was incredible (!) - they really made our stay pleasant and pampered.

Room Tip: We requested robes and newspapers for our rooms ~ they did provide the robes but forgot the papers.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

The weather was cool during my visit, but the lobby was warm & inviting with its indoor trees & lots of comfortable seating. Upon check-in, I was greeted by friendly staff & the warm cookie was a nice touch. From the bar area, I could hear a wonderful musician playing, the acoustics bouncing throughout the entire lobby. The bar staff were friendly, not at all stuffy. My room was nicely appointed, clean, and the bed very comfortable.

I had some difficulty getting back from my bike ride down to Carmel and wasn't able to make it back to the hotel in time for checkout. One quick call and the lady at the front desk had me sorted for a later checkout, beyond what they would normally consider "late". I am so grateful for the wonderful service I received.

The proximity to the Wharf, and the short walk to Cannery Row make this hotel ideally situated to check out many of the attractions that Monterey has to offer.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Havent stayed here for years but got a great deal on travelzoo so we went. From the first moment you arrive pleasantries abound. we had our car parked and front desk staff were on the ball and gave us 2 fresh baked chocolate chip cookies. Our room was small but above average in luxury. We took a walk on the wharf which is steps away and then that night caught our fav comedien at the Golden State theater 2 blocks away. We ate a local restaurant called Risonis which was fantastic and reasonably priced food was fresh service was great. We had buffet breakfast at Jacks in the hotel which was amazing and all the mimosas you can drink. Omelets are custom made and service is top notch. When we checked out and got our car the Valet called us by name and thanked us for coming

Room Tip: ask for left side of hotel the right side overlooks plaza and is noisy
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews