We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not 4 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
La Grange, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good, but not 4 Star”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location if you want to be near the Fisherman's Wharf area. Not close to the more happening Cannery Area. There is a free shuttle bus, which appears to run frequently. The hotel itself is warn out. If you are in the second building you are a strong walk from the front desk and since there is no air conditioning.....the noise of the street is loud and close. The pool is very small with a small number of seats. Parking is difficult as the hotels valet is on the street and seem fearful of local traffic police. Not a terrible hotel, but certainly not 4 star.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chief959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,415 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,097
    766
    317
    159
    76
See reviews for
721
844
75
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Woodland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2013

This is truly a 4 star hotel. High qualty room, food, and service. The location is ideal. It is close to everywhere. The bathroom is ordinary and needs to be remodeled but the room was large enough and the bed and pillows are very comfortabl. Warning: if you need silence to sleep, watch out! The sea gulls won't shut up.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawwiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We have been to the Portola twice in the last two years. Both times we were so impressed by the quality of the rooms, the friendliness and co-operation of the staff and the great location to many of the sites in Monterey.

The reception area was very helpful with "How to get here and there" and check-in/check-out was smooth. The room was very nice and the bed was so comfortable with a great pillow menu.

The restaurant staff was friendly and helpful and attentive. They did their best to quickly get us a table and take our order even when they were very busy. The food was very good. We had the great breakfast buffet and the awesome dinner with wine included with our package.

The wharf area with several shops and restaurants is nearby as are other great restaurants by the marina. Take a free trolley with stops out front and across the square in back and go downtown or to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Children are welcome and they have a nice pool area to keep them entertained. There is also a candy store right out the back.

We will go again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, CA
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Very nice hotel with no air conditioning so make sure your room does not face west. Has a beautiful lobby nice though not large rooms. Beds are very comfortable. Paid a total of $230 a night on a prepay deal. They had a very good special after the prepay special which included mimosas and breakfast for I think $100 less per room per night. As I expected because we had prepaid (2 rooms for 2 nights) they would not let us opt out of prepay and in to the new much better deal. So, if you plan to stay here watch the internet for specials for this hotel before you actually book. You may save a hunk of cash. One fun thing to do with kids is to register at the front desk for the treasure hunt. The hunt takes you around the hotel where kids have to watch to answer questions and at the end the get a prize of an eraser and pencil. Each time you have a new visit to the hotel you can do the hunt again and the prizes get better. The shuttle stops in front of the hotel. One thing...if you want to go to the aquarium make sure you purchase your tickets at whatwever hotel you are staying in. They offer all the normal discounts (AARP, AAA, etc) as you will get at the aquarium itself, but the ones you purchase at the hotel are good for 2 days instead of 1 day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We found a travel zoo deal that included breakfast and I decided to get it for our anniversary. The hotel was really nice with an amazing lobby. All of the hotel employees were very attentive yet friendly. The hotel was not snobby at all! The pool was small and packed. There was a rare heat wave while we were there. The rooms don't have air conditioning because Monterey doesn't usually get hot. The ceiling fan and huge windows were perfect. The breakfast buffet was really good with lots of made to order omelets, French toast, pancakes, yummy waffles, etc. breakfast went till 11 am and check out at 12:00.
We loved walking around the area of Monterey that we were not very familiar with. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbell, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Well appointed room with Keurig coffee makers, small refrigerator, TV, desk, couch, balcony with chairs. However, the mattresses were soft and felt worn out. Additionally, the bathroom is really basic with a cheap sink, counter and shower. The walls are thin - you will hear the neighbor's toilets flushing, TV on, kids running etc. There is no A/C so if you are warm you will have use the ceiling fan, or keep the patio door open for the ocean breeze but you'll have to put up with the traffic noise.

Parking costs $17/day. Internet is extra. The two waters on the desk cost $4 ea. The dolphin soft toy left on the bed cost $13.

Location of the hotel is very good. The hotel has a courtyard with cafe, shops, restaurants. The Fisherman's wharf is right across from the hotel. Del Monte beach is 5-10 mins walking distance. You can walk to downtown for its restaurants/cafes or walk 20 mins to Cannery Row.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBF2255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

This was quite a big hotel that also seem to be used for conferences. The rooms were very good and service was excellent. There are several restaurants nearby and we ate at the pub belonging to same hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parnassus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,611 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#17 of 56 in Monterey
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#9 of 56 in Monterey
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing