We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We stayed at the Portola only 1 night but wished we had more time. The hotel is in a gorgeous location, next to Fisherman's Wharf and about a 15 minute walk along the bike path to Cannery Row and the aquarium. We had adjoining rooms which we got for 50% off due to a summer special they had for Sunday nights. So we basically got a huge suite for about $200 which was a steal. They both opened up to a courtyard with tables where we were able to eat our breakfast. There is a nice pool and hot tub, and some nice looking restaurants (we ate at Fisherman's Wharf so didn't eat there). We LOVED the cookies that you get a check-in so much that we even bought more when we left. The beds were incredibly comfortable and the rooms were extremely clean and nicely updated. The staff was very nice and helpful, and we were able to get our aquarium tickets there which was very convenient. People have mentioned the lack of A/C in the rooms, but we were there during a heat wave and even still it was cool in Monterey. There are ceiling fans in the rooms, and they brought us additional floor fans for both rooms. Plus - just simply opening the sliders cooled off the rooms immediately. There is no free WiFi in the rooms (they do have it in the lounge though), and you do have to pay for parking but those were the only drawbacks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlrFromMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,487)
There are newer reviews for Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,384 - 1,390 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2013

Wish we had more than one night in Monterey! We found the Portola to provide a good position for us, experienced no problem with noise in our nicely appointed room as other reviewers had mentioned, and the bed was REALLY comfortable. Staff weren't the warmest we came across throughout out holiday but weren't unpleasant. We had the breakfast included in our rate and was really nice. Only gripe which prevents me from giving another star to this hotel is that wi fi was not included...I found that surprising in a hotel of this cost and standard, and the access I purchased I had trouble with connecting. While the welcome cookie was a nice touch, I would happily forgo that and have free wi fi provided.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sydney_AustraliaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

When we arrived the rooms were not quite ready so we enjoyed the hotels wonderful chocolate chip cookies yumm and Jack's Restaurant and enjoyed the wonderful service providedby Rita and Blake. They were welcoming and suggested wonderful tea since I was not feeling well. I enjoyed the Turkey Avocado with Bacon Club and everyone enjoyed the friendly staff we kept coming back for more. Our rooms were spectacular and so comfortable with wondeful views of the ocean especially 4 fireworks shows onIndependemce day. The Spa was amazing Michelle did superior work with my Serenity wrap. I felt revived. The front door staff were always helpful and uplifting opening doors and attentive to communicating to have fun and explore Fisherman's Wharf, Big Sur and 17 mile drive. Michael and Troy at the front desk were wonderful answering questions about the Monterey Bay Aquarium. The hotel does have two day tickets so make time for that and the hotel pool and hot tub to relax. Make time for pirate treasure with a mysterious map to explore with history and stories all around the hotel. Pino's Restaurant was amazing great food and service morning, noon, and night. Make time for Alavarado Street and explore Crepes they were out of this world. There is so much to do and see let Monterey take you away again and again.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on the 5 th to 7th floors great views.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelique S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

With a dog and a small child, we absolutely love Portola. They pamper the dog and child as soon as you arrive and the front desk service team is simply wonderful! They are friendly, patient, knowledgeable of the area and honest. If you are worried that the hotel is not walking distance to aquarium, don't be. What you don't get in terms of walking distance, you gain with a whole new family-friendly pier area with shops, views and museums. The restaurants were good quality as far as family-friendly eateries go-- perhaps not for foodies but it was much better than some of the family options by the aquarium. We've also been here during the holiday season and the decor makes you feel fuzzy and merry all over. We loved the extended ground level balcony for our dog and didn't mind the foot traffic at all. My one complaint would be the carpet, while cleaned well, could be replaced. Too much wear for a hotel room.

Room Tip: If you don't have a dog, don't stay ground level with the open/extended balconies. If you d...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sklo2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

My husband, 18 month old daughter and I stayed here during the 4th of July weekend. The hotel was recommended by a friend who has young kids as well. We were very pleased with the accomodations. The hotel is very family friendly. The room itself was very clean and a good size. They set up a crib at no extra charge. The breakfast was wonderful - good selection of pastries, fruit, yogurts, hot foods, and omelets and waffles made to order. The service was excellent as well. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. The hotel is about a mile from the aquarium, but there is a pedestrian and bike path leading to Cannery Row / Aquarium, and it's a very nice walk. There's a Walgreen's and Starbucks nearby. The grounds around the hotel is pleasant as well. It's part of "Old Monterey" and there are some nice landscaping and old stucco houses. It's also a short drive from an amazing park with an excellent playground for kids. The only drawback would be the fact that there is no air conditioning in the room. Normally, this wouldn't be a problem, but it's been very hot lately in the bay area. Overall, this would be my hotel pick for my next Monterey trip.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clee300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

The first room we checked into was on the second floor overlooking a public plaza. As soon as we opened the door of the room, we knew it was a mistake. The noise level was high and since there is no air conditioning, the windows had to be open. We immediately called the front desk but they could not change the room until the next day. We stayed the night and could not get more than a few minutes sleep with all the noises coming into the room. Even when somebody on the street spoke in a normal voice, you could hear them as if they were in the room with you. Our second room was in a better location and we had no complaints until we received a notice that on our last day of our planned stay, the water would be turned off from midnight until 8:00 a.m. Since we were scheduled to leave at 6:00 a.m., I wanted to know how we could possibly shower, use the bathroom facilities or even brush our teeth before leaving! We are not camping, we are staying in what should be a nice hotel for about $200 a night. The water would be off in one whole section of the hotel - their only offer was to move us to the wing that we originally were in with all the noise. We checked out and went across the street to the Mariott. Never again!

Room Tip: Just stay home.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The hotel is in a great location if you want to be near the Fisherman's Wharf area. Not close to the more happening Cannery Area. There is a free shuttle bus, which appears to run frequently. The hotel itself is warn out. If you are in the second building you are a strong walk from the front desk and since there is no air conditioning.....the noise of the street is loud and close. The pool is very small with a small number of seats. Parking is difficult as the hotels valet is on the street and seem fearful of local traffic police. Not a terrible hotel, but certainly not 4 star.

Room Tip: Make sure you are in tower!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chief959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,625 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £150 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing