We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but not a hotel to really rant and rave about.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel has a good location close to everything but other the that it is an ok hotel. It is just a place to stay, nothing major. The Spa is also nothing major, felt more like an after thought. As other reviews have mentioned, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. Didn't bother us too much but if you are a light sleeper, I can see how this will be bothersome.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noemivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and do hope you will return to Monterey and the Portola Hotel & Spa soon. Please let us know while you are here if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,487)
There are newer reviews for Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,488 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

I recently spearheaded a trip for a group of golfers down to Monterrey.
Twenty of us stayed at the Portola Hotel and Spa for the second year in a row. We loved the service, the amenities and the location. The staff was friendly and outstanding and the rooms excellent and clean at a fair price. What we like best is the fantastic location 100 yards or so from the Pier. We walked to a great fresh local seafood dinner at Abalonetti's on the pier (its the best of all of the restaurants on the pier) and enjoyed too much wine and had a short pleasant walk back to the hotel. We all agreed the location and services are excellent and we will be back next year at the Portola Hotel. Also the SPA there is the "sleeper"...it is very, very good with the Jacuzzi, pool and massage rooms, etc.

Room Tip: Get a Bay View for sure
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our third stay here, and the property has improved with each visit. It was perfect for our group meeting of ~400. A 70-minute walk will get you at the butterfly sanctuary in Pacific Grove. There are easily a dozen eateries within a 45-minute walk. The TV feed needs improvement, and the room safe wasn't working.

Room Tip: If barking seals annoy you, get a room on the east side.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

First class - the room was wall equipped, well decorated, comfortable, warm and inviting. The bed was lucious - I would have taken the mattress home with me if I could! The staff were all lovely, and the hotel is in a perfect position for everything Monterey has to offer...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shorty0168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope you return to visit us again soon.

All of the Portola Hotel mattresses are made locally from Monterey Mattress Co. and can be purchased through the company directly if you do decide you would like to take a mattress like Portola's home.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Our group of 40 stayed at the Portola for 4 days and nights and had a wonderful time. Events in the hotel were all handled perfectly: great meeting rooms, great AV support, great group meals, and great staff support as needed. We loved the ambiance of the hotel, the friendly and professional service, the location, and the comfortable rooms. This group travels widely and well so is not easily pleased. Without exception everyone found the experience at the Portola excellent.

Room Tip: We liked the main part of the hotel
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jen704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I was recently at a meeting in Monterey and stayed at the Portola. This is a first rate hotel with an outstanding location and a friendly staff that go the extra mile in every regard. If your travels take you to that part of the world (and hopefully the will) I highly recommend the Portola.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senesac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

It is sometimes difficult to distinguish between hotels that are good and those that are great. The Portola has so much going for it, including a great location, very comfortable beds, reasonably up-to-date rooms, immaculately clean accommodations, and a crackerjack staff. But there is no getting around the few, significant flaws that keep me from being able to provide a higher rating.

Other reviewers have rightly reported that noise is something of an issue. I was able to hear quite a lot of doors closing, toilets flushing, and other neighbor noise through the thinly insulated walls. More troublesome was the noise coming from the pedestrian plaza just outside my third-floor window. None of this woke me from a sound sleep, but there were a couple of nights where falling asleep took a bit longer.

Another disappointment was the lack of free wireless internet in the room. I will never understand how budget and moderately priced hotels manage to offer free wi-fi, while very expensive hotels like the Portola see the need to charge an additional fee. TV doesn't cost extra; neither should wi-fi.

Lastly, there is just no getting around the weird, dated feeling of the Portola's decor. From the concrete plaza that surrounds the hotel's perimeter to the cavernous lobby and labyrinthian conference center, the Portola lacks aesthetic appeal. The management seems to have attempted some minor cosmetic improvements, but nothing short of a major capital investment would help to modernize the Portola's confines.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We value you as a guest and we want you to know that we greatly appreciate your feedback. We always make it a point to share guest feedback with our team to improve upon every guest experience.

Moving into 2014 we are looking at updating several guestrooms with double pane windows to improve upon guest comfort. We do hope you will return to Monterey and the Portola Hotel & Spa soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 56 in Monterey
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £150 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing