We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ROOM!!! GREAT LOCATION!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed her Nov. 22-34. Big hotel great location.
Fisherman's wharf less than a minute away, cannery row and monterey aquarium half mile away which is very walkable with a nice scenic walk ( my 5yr old son enjoyed the walk). Room is big and clean, nice balcony with a view. You do tend to her noise usually the sea lions lol

Stayed: November 2013
Thank fvillota1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor. We were happy to hear you and your family explored the area and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return and hope to have you back in Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,485)
There are newer reviews for Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,227 - 1,233 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed 2 nights for the Big Sur half marathon and the hotel was just perfect. Location wise was great as it was by fisherman's wharf and right by the start and finish of the race. Race expo was also at the adjoing conference center. Rooms at the adjacent building was huge with a balcony and we were able to bring along our small dog since it is a pet-friendly hotel. K coffee maker was a treat. Fitness center was adequate with machines and some free weights. Went for dinner at Jack's restaurant and was fortunate that we were able to used our Travelzoo dinner voucher for their great menu selection. The night before the race they even offered an all-you-can-eat pasta feed for that much needed carbo loading. Self-parking was just around the corner and connects conveniently to our building. Hotel staff were great as well and we'll definitely be going back whenever we need a place to stay in Monterey.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gilbert5361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Walk to the wharf, short drive to Cannery Row, this location is great. The rooms are okay for the price. Was there for a conference, and didn't eat in the restaurant, but the food was not at all memorable. I stayed on in town after the conference ended, and I'm glad I decided to move hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just got back from Portola last week and really enjoyed the visit to Monterey. The hotel it self is ok.......I just prefer a smaller hotel, this place is huge and takes awhile to get from room to lobby and restaurants and stuff. Not that I mind walking but there's isn't that personal touch at a big place like this. Its really nice, the breakfast buffet was delicious, and the location was perfect. Walked easily to Cannery Row (a little less than a mile) and the Wharf is pretty much right outside the lobby. Rooms were equipped with any and everything we could need and super clean/nice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauralynnparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your feedback and do hope you will return to visit us again soon. Please let us know while you are here if there is anything we can do to make your stay a more personal experience.

Thank you again.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed at Portola Hotel and Spa in November 2013 and really enjoyed ourselves! The lobby is beautiful and they give you cookies when you check in. Rooms were very comfortable with all necessary amenities and your own personal Keurig! This is a very GREEN hotel so I don't believe their is A/C but we didn't need it in November. We kept our window open and could hear the sea lions! Speaking of that...the location is the best thing about this property! You can walk out the lobby door and practically walk onto the Wharf! So nice to be able to be within walking distance of good restaurants. But, you don't have to leave your hotel for good food! Jacks was great and the hotel also has a great Brewery Restaurant as well (can't remember name). If I had to critique anything I would say the walls are very thin...very very thin... However, I would stay here again. Great for couples or families. It's a tad pricy but I think if you just want to experience Monterey, this is a great place to stay to do it.

Room Tip: If you want a view...stay on the highest floor
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendyzChandler_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

First time in Monterey and the first time I stayed at the hotel. I was surprised at the cleanliness of the hotel inside and outside. Decorated nicely. The rooms were not super large but they were clean, comfortable and the beds super comfortable. I especially loved the first quality of bedding used on the beds (soft down comforters). Staff was helpful from the room service, valet to the registration staff. It was good to see a hotel that really catered to its guest. The staff was friendly and ready to help, especially Jenna, Robert and Chris. "Kudos" to the manager and her staff! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Hotel has a good location close to everything but other the that it is an ok hotel. It is just a place to stay, nothing major. The Spa is also nothing major, felt more like an after thought. As other reviews have mentioned, the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything. Didn't bother us too much but if you are a light sleeper, I can see how this will be bothersome.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noemivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and do hope you will return to Monterey and the Portola Hotel & Spa soon. Please let us know while you are here if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £150 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing