We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Monterey Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Wilmington, DE
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful Monterey Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

The first thing you notice is the friendly greetings by staff-very helpful and solicitious. The hotel is well located, with full services, concierge, restaurants & bar/pub, spa, and fitness center. We stayed in a garden view room that was very nice and quiet. You can walk in old Monterey nearby, or over to Fisherman's Wharf that is also close. A little further walk is Cannery Row. Definitely recommend this hotel if you can swing it. Parking fees for self park or valet are charged to guests each day.

Room Tip: Rooms away from elevator and higher up. Check on location as some of the rooms are a good walk from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lovesdogs101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    733
    308
    149
    71
See reviews for
686
813
74
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

Monterey is a lovely town and this place is close to the tourist pier. The main part of town, cannery row etc, is 15-20 minutes walk away so if you don't have a car you're pretty well captured, and they know it; the nice-looking bars are way understaffed, both in quantity and quality of people, service at both was comically slow and error-prone. (Oh if you have got a car they charge $20 a day for parking; more evidence that they see you as a capture to be shaken down for as much cash as possible not a customer. Check their wifi charges before you book, too!). Reception staff smile nicely but did not follow up on requests. Rooms nicely decorated but have limited views, and are inadequately soundproofed, people do get noisy as Monterey is a party destination. You can stay much more cheaply and get better service at smaller places nearby.

Room Tip: They have a few floors of rooms above the car park across a windswept walkway with no shelter. No d...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was unaware of any environmentally friendly practices - except for discouraging people to burn gas making another visit!
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SASG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We made an impromptu decision to go to Monterey for the weekend. We decided to rolled the dice by using Travelocity's Top Secret Hotel Search. We chose the highest rated (both by site and consumer) and upon check out, viola! The Portola Hotel & Spa was chosen for us. Luckily it was a great choice.

From the outside the hotel looks like your typical-built-in-the-Seventies/Eighties hotel, and that's about where the typical look ends. It has definitely gone under a renovation on the inside. The rooms are Monterey Themed, somewhat Nautical and very Preppy. A very comfortable bed, big screen flat panel TV, Keurig Coffe Maker, Hair Dryer, good size bathroom, and a great view of the bay. What more could you ask for an overnight? Well, the staff was very personable and polite. Oh and it's a kid friendly hotel (they have a pirate themed scavenger hunt, just ask the front desk).
You can definitely spend a lot more at other 4-5 star hotels down by the Aquarium, but why would you? The Portola is a great value and just far enough away (about a mile walk down the bike/ped path) from all the hubbub on Cannery Row.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYer32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

What a wonderful place to stay in Monterey! We were on a family trip to Napa and we decided to stop in Monterey for 2 nights. We had our two yorkies with us, and Portola was so accommodating! It was a wonderful location and perfect! We will definitely recommend to family and friends!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morro Bay, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights on a travelzoo deal and were very pleased with our experience. The staff are professional and extremely helpful. Our room was comfortable, although quite far from the lobby. Since we asked for a quiet room, we ended up on the 3rd floor and at the end of several corridors. Note that this is a huge place so be aware when you are assigned your room. The lobby is most pleasant, and there is free internet close to the bar area.
Walking toward the bay from the hotel, you can follow the walking path along the bay and up to Cannery Row. It's a lovely walk, with entertainment provided by the local seals and otters.
We also used a travelzoo coupon for Jack's Restaurant & Lounge, located at the far end of the lobby, where we enjoyed breakfast (included with our offer) and dinner (a separate offer). The dinner was excellent, beautifully presented, tasty, with a nice selection of California wines.
The breakfast was buffet style but you could order eggs, pancakes, waffles, or French toast served to the table. Good food and service...we will return!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Profs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, We were pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay as well as your meals in Jacks Restaurant & Lounge. Please be sure to signup (if you have not already) for the Portola Hotel & Spa monthly newsletter so you are the first to hear specials and promotions for your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here with our two daughters (2 1/2 and 7) we made reservations about an hr before we arrived to Monterey, very helpful and even had a room ready before check in at 4pm. We were greeted by every employee and everyone was so friendly. Nice room with a little fridge and within walking distance to great food on the pier. About a mile walk to Cannery Row, beautiful trail and we got to see harbor seals too! Had breakfast buffet at Jacks, eveything was so delicious!

Green Features: If you chose not to have new linens and towels you got a $5 credit to use at restaurant which was nice!
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

my daughter and i stayed here a couple weeks ago for a girls getaway. im not too computer savvy but im taking the time out of my day to tell everyone about my experience. first, like everyone says, the hotel is close to everything. and second, the mimosa breakfast is AMAZING. but i really just wanted to talk about the customer service. i feel like everyone was just so amazing to us! they went above and beyond to make us feel special. alex at the front desk was so handsom, and very warm when greeting us. the girl i talked to about booking, i think her name was britney or whitney was fabulous. i called the hotel about 4 times with a million questions, and each time i happened to get her on the phone. now either shes there 24/7 or it was fate. im sure i annoyed the heck out of her, but she was just so sweet. she answered every question i had, and then some. she referred us to a great lunch spotin big sur and she helped clarify the reservation when i got 2 emails. i told you im not computer savvy. but anyways, i know this review is for the hotel, i just want to let whoever is in charge know, that you have hired a wonderful employee. and i cant wait until i get to go back to the hotel again. ill definitely be calling that young lady again! p.s. the cookies are great!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank hippiemama123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and share such wonderful feedback about your experience and our staff! We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and had an amazing mimosa breakfast at Jacks Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you and your daughter back soon.

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,559 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing