We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeding Expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I have had the opportunity to enjoy the accommodations at the Portola Hotel & spa, both from a business and recreational persepective. Each time, my expectations of the facillity and it's staff have been exceeded exponentially. My strongest recommendation for anyone in need of hotel accommodations in the area, for either business or personal reasons.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next business or personal trip!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,239 - 1,245 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for a weekend event. The room were spacious,clean and the bed was comfortable, and staff were very friendly and helpful. I had a balcony view of the beautiful Custom Adobe Plaza. We really enjoy the warm homemade chocolate chips cookies they offered. We had breafast at Jack's restaurant and the Omeletes is to dye for, not too bad the rounds of Mimosa. The staff at the restaurant were very attentive to our needs, excellent service. We enyoyed our stay and definitely we wil return for another weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We were happy to hear you stayed with us for your weekend getaway in Monterey and you had an opportunity to enjoy brunch in Jacks Restaurant with bottomless mimosas. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

I just stayed at this hotel for a week long conference and the meeting rooms were great, but the hotel rooms are even better! The reason I say that is the bed was so comfortable, I was actually able to sleep, which is usually not the case when I'm away from home. The mattress was perfect and the pillows were plentiful and soft! There was one unusual thing in the bathroom and that was there was no drawers in the vanity, but not that big of a deal. I like to work out so I enjoyed morning runs on the bike bath along the water that's just a minute from the back of the hotel. The only downside in my experience is that the gym is rather small and does not have much to offer for strength conditioning; dumbbells up to 50 pounds, one flat bench, and a small cable crossover machine. The upside to the latter piece of equipment was that it offered a few pull-up options. I think my family would have enjoyed it too since it was conveniently located and you could probably walk to the aquarium and cannery row. Finally, there was a pretty cool farmer's market across the street...I think it was on Tuesday evening?

Room Tip: Beware that there is no elevator if you are in a room in the 200 series, but it's only one fligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

I ended up at Portola Hotel after finding out that the Hyatt Regency in Monterey defines "pet" as "dog only" but doesn't specify this on their website. I was traveling with a cat. I did explain to them that more people had cats as pets in the US than dogs...

To save myself more annoyance, I called Portola Hotel before making the reservation to ask specifics on the pet policy. They were surprised that I wanted to know if a cat qualified as a pet. Of course it did! Their attitude on the phone and with check in was wonderful.

The room was pleasant and everything one needed. The kitties and I enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCM2934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Portola Hotel is a great get-a-way place for couples that want to get away from Cannery Row crowds and spend time browsing through the old town and concrete wharf area. They are right outside the hotel doors. My wife and I do not like crowds and really like this hotel because of the personal attention given us during our stay. We picked a room on the 7th floor because of the excellent views from that floor however rooms on the 6th floor provided excellent views as well on a previous visit. We found Jack's restaurant provided excellent service and environment. The hotel and restaurant staff were great!! As a desert in Jacks we tried a new "Apple Pie Martini" that is just great.

Room Tip: I would chose the 6th or 7th floors for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Borms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms. Upon check in one couple was put on the 3rd floor (actually ground floor) and the other couple was placed on the 4th floor. Both rooms were the same price but not worth the same at all!
The 3rd floor room was right beside the road, a smaller room and not a nice bathroom. The toilet didn't work at all. It was a long walk to the room as it was the farthest from the elevator and down a hall where apparently all guests had dogs as it sounded like a pound as you walked down the hall with all the dogs barking .
The 4th floor room was larger, nicer and had a balcony!
Needless to say we addressed our concerns with the front desk. Thankfully the hotel addressed our concerned and we were moved to a 4th floor room with our friends in a decent room with a working toilet.
The hotel was in a great location near the waterfront, restaurants and shopping.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank campingcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I went here with my wife, daughter and 2 dogs in tow.. Did not know what to expect but I was blown away with the hospitality, location and the room.. It could not have been more perfect. I requested to transfer to the outer wing to be closer to parking and the front desk did not hesitate and provided it to me.
Only thing is parking is 17 dollars a day, and 50 bucks for my 2 critters to stay with us.

Room Tip: request your room on the outer side so you will be close to parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jessreidad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate you sharing your experience with your family and we were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming your entire family back including your two dogs very soon!

Sincerely,
The Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,566 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £115 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing