We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 times and counting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I love this place! Seriously! I took my girlfriend here for the first time on our 5 year anniversary and we got the whale watching package. Not only were we welcomed with a wonderful staff at the front desk we also got yummy cookies, and when I say yummy I mean YUMMY!! Our room was beautiful includes 3 doors to a balcony facing the wharf , included couches, and even a fridge. The hotel is in the perfect place and is walking distance to the wharf.

The second trip was for Valentines day and we received the same wonderful treatment at the front desk including those delicious cookies. Our room was smaller this time but just as beautiful with a wonderful view. I love this place and could not recommend it more to others. Also, they are dog friendly which means next trip my boxer boy will be accompany us.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room facing the wharf :)
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,485)
There are newer reviews for Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,144 - 1,150 of 2,485 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Great hotel with terrific staff! At first check in we were told we had to pay for seven nights and were blown away!! The next day this was fixed. Valet and conceive few staff were outstanding. They both has wonderful dining ideas!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phyllis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I absolutely need to give a great "you rock" to your masseuse, Jessica. She was great! She was conscientious about pressure & areas of problems.

I really enjoyed the spa. My deep tissue massage was EXACTLY what it supposed to be. It was perfect! The steam room (women's side) was fantastic. The weather was great while we were there and I opened my sliding door for fresh air at night, but the noise coming from the Sea Lions was fairly disruptive (not that the hotel has any control over that). It did not diminish my feelings for coming back or overall rating, just want to be honest.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank kelleygirlA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were there for a convention--the hotel staff was fantastic, always right there when we needed them. Room was nice and convenient. One thing I do not understand though, is why do expensive hotels charge for wifi and the cheap motels do not? Of course the location was great. We had an issue with the shower, plumber came almost immediately and fixed it. Food in the hotel restaurant was outstanding. Wasn't thrilled with the Banquet food--but there was lots of us. Overall, our stay was wonderful.

Room Tip: Don't have one. Our was fine.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and hope while you were here you had a wonderful conference.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

My wife and I love Portola Hotel & Spa. We have been coming to Monterey since 1997. Over the years we have stayed at other hotels and have decided Portola is the one. Portola has the best of both worlds. From the South you enter Down Town Alvarado St. to shops ,clubs, restaurants and theaters. From the North you enter the Old World of Monterey with Museums, Old Fisherman's Wharf and a walk/bike path that takes you to Cannery Row and beyond. Great restaurants, beautiful views. We love the fire pit at Jacks, a relaxing spot to meet other travelers. Friendly staff, good food and great location. From Portola Plaza you can see and do so much and not have to get into a car to do it.

Room Tip: Top floor, Ocean view. You won't regret it. Best time of year for weather is Sept., Oct., Nov.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeff v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel because we were going to a meeting in the attached convenion center, which was very convenient. The hotel provided the food for the meeting during the breaks and in the evening and it was quite good. Our room was nice - clean and modern, but nothing exceptional. The valet parking service was very good. We had a small balcony looking down towards the bay which is a couple of blocks away. The structure of the hotel has some oddities. We were in a building which was separated form the rest, so we had to ride the elevator to the third floor, then walk outside to our building. We past several rooms that had patios that people walked past instead of balconies. We had asked for a king size bed, but we had to settle for 2 double beds. Dogs were definitely allowed, but that was no problem. It is about a five minute walk form the hotel past some interesting very historic buildings to the pier. The lack of air conditioning was not a problem. The breakfast buffet was quite good. There was a wait to get a table but it was less time than the man taking names thought it would be. And you each get a nice warm cookie when you check in. We would go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanttogotoall50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your kind words and compliments on the valet team. We hope you enjoyed your conference and time in Monterey and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

When we arrived and started to unload our car, the porters immediately notified us that we had 3 minutes to unload, check-in and move our car. We notified the front desk of this and they immediately apologized but we still felt we were being rushed and hustled. In response to our displeasure, our room was upgraded to one with a view of the ocean. You do not have to pay their high fees for parking as there is ample parking nearby the hotel, just look for the 2hr parking signs which allow you to park overnight and save you $20.

Lobby is a bit dated and the hotel bar closes way too early. The business center is not free as one would expect for a 4-star hotel. The concierge was very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. The location is great but you need to drive to the main part of the town as it is a bit of a walk to the better restaurants and shops.

This is probably just an anomaly, the faucet temperature was inconsistent suggesting that it is not maintained.

Room Tip: Don't be pressured to park your car in the hotel overnight, find street parking if you are not r...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your feedback and we share your comments with our team. We are working on remodeling all of the bathrooms as well as recertification for U.S. Green Building Council LEED®-EB in support of our green efforts.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,624 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,449 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £152 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing