We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for Monterey, but odd hotel layout & no air”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Our experience at Portola was good, but not nearly up to the 4-diamond standards inidcated on the plaques in the lobby.

The lobby is an atrium. Nice, but a little messy with leaves throughout.

Check-in was okay. We got to the hotel early (noon). They said our room was being cleaned, so we walked to Cannery Row for lunch. When we checked back at almost 3, the room still was not ready. That was disappointing. A few minutes more of waiting (and lots of calls by the guy at the front desk), and they said it was done.

The room itself was spacious and nicely decorated. It had a "balcony" overlooking the "courtyard," which turned out to be a patio with a flowerbox looking directly at a wall of the next buidling. The hotel is spread out across several buildings. All of the "balconies" that we could see, however, looked onto "courtyards" that were really cement walkways with a few dull flowerboxes. Since the room didn't have air conditioning and it was really hot in there, even though the temperature outside wasn't above 70, we sat outside on our balcony... looking at the wall. Not quite what I had in mind when I was thinking about a weekend trip to Monterey.

Also, we walked by the pool and it was small and overloaded with people and kids everywhere. We skipped that.

I had a Travelzoo coupon for a great rate. So for the price paid, it was good. If I go another weekend, I'll stay at one of the quaint hotels in Carmel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJJ18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We value you as a guest and we want you to know that we greatly appreciate your feedback. We always make it a point to share guest feedback with our team to improve future guest experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Monterey soon!

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,212 - 1,218 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

My sister and I recently stayed at the Portola Hotel and Spa for a week. From the moment we arrived we were treated with friendliness, courtesy, and respect. Chris at the Front Desk patiently listened to our concerns and addressed them one by one. We felt as if we had our own personal concierge with Chris during our entire stay! Another female at the desk went out of her way to help me resolve the wi-fi issue I was having with my iPad. The valets were exceptional as well...remembering details of our needs and providing directions, help with luggage, etc. at a moment's notice. Benjamin and Mario were standouts...but all were top notch! Our maid Elena was lovely and accommodating.

Every aspect of our stay was enjoyable, and we look forward to our stay again for next year's conference. A big "Thank you" to the staff at The Portola Hotel and Spa for making us feel welcome and making our stay a memorable one!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarianneW075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

In all categories, the Portola is superb. Wonderful beds, huge rooms, very clean, and close to some of the most beautiful locations in all of the US. The very best part of my 1-week experience there was the super friendly staff, especially Chris, the cookie man behind the registration desk.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I just wanted to share with everybody that wants to stay in Monterey bay.Portola Hotel @ spay will take good care of you when you stay there , hands down the best place from the staff all the way down to the people in the parking garage.When you stay there its so close to everything ......i just thought i would tell everyone that Portola Hotel @ Spa is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Great hotel, wonderful ambiance, Jack's is beyond superb, best beds of any hotel yet - and don't be dismayed at the rude check in clerks - especially Troy the front desk manager, the early morning volley of very loud and rude toilet flushes that sound like gun shots and the screeching seagulls who join those who get up early and flush. The homeless also add their blight to the scene and the skate boarders add a little excitement. Parking is the abomination of desolation.
Have fun and be prepared to take a second for payment of outrageous room rates.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konkerpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Portola Hotel in Monterey CA for the annual Sea Otter Bicycle Cloassic at Leguna Seca. I would like to say from the check-in - room accomodations, Monterey Bay view, Jack's Lounge everything was absolutely awesome. Portola is close to everything...bike path, restaurants, Cannery Row,
Anne Roberts - hotel concierge, got us tickets to the Food & Wine Event @ Pebble..did a wonderful job...thanks again Portola - see you next year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing Monterey Bay have wonderful views - for some sea-life noise may be a factor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mike f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last year for a few days during the kids spring break. Had such a great time that we couldn't wait to book another trip. This was our second time staying at this hotel and it is first class service from the valet, front desk, house keeping. It's a quick walk to cannery row along a paved walking/bike trail along the water. Great safe location! Very close to old monterey wharf where there's great food, dessert, gift shops. I'd give it 10 stars if I could.

Stayed: April 2014
Thank philclairedunphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £115 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing