We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Anaheim, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome! ”
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent 4 days at the Portola, it was amazing. You can't ask for a better location. The room was great and the service was excellent. We have never experienced better massages in all our travels. You have to schedule a massage, it's a must. We love seafood, however we don't eat it often, but these 4 days were an exception. The food was Great! If you're thinking of visiting Monterey, you have to stay at the Portola.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank MsShelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,108
    779
    322
    163
    75
See reviews for
735
851
75
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (571)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paso Robles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

not near the aquarium but close to downtown and some local joints. we walked a lot from the lobby to our room. we must have been really, really far away. bartender didn't make a good mule was a waste of money. but can't beat the hotel for the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allmost40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We paid in excess of $300 for one night in this hotel. For that money one expects a decent room and that is what we got (big comfortable bed, pleasant bathroom etc.). However, we were very disappointed to find that pretty much all amenities cost extra, including those that are normally included as a matter of course. In particular, not included in the price of the room were: (1) in-room wifi; (2) breakfast; (3) parking ($17 a night extra!); and (iii) use of the spa (even just the steam room). The last of these three was particularly galling, given the name of the hotel.

The buffet breakfast, which we ended up paying for, was very nice though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank conwaysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Hi Conwaysontou,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about the Portola Hotel & Spa on TripAdvisor. We were pleased to hear you had an opportunity to dine in Jacks Restaurant for breakfast and you enjoyed the brunch selections. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,
Portola Hotel & Spa Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We blocked out 20 rooms for a wedding party at The Portola Hotel & Spa, and had the best time ever. They completely exceeded our expectations in every way. From the beginning of the process to our guests arriving, the entire staff was great. Beyond the great service, the hotel is perfect in every way. It is close to all attractions in Monterey. You are directly across from the wharf. Almost all our guests had a view of the ocean. Plus the beds are extremely comfortable. We found the rooms to be spacious and quiet.

In addition, the spa is first class. We've been all over the world and can honestly say that the spa at Portola Hotel is one of the best we've experienced. We had several massages, facials, mani-pedi and all were top-notch.

We can't say enough good things about this hotel, all of our guests loved their stay and keep talking about how perfect it was. We'd highly recommend booking for a personal stay or large group - you can't go wrong. They impressed us two New Yorkers...that's saying a lot!

Room Tip: - Rooms on higher floor for better view. - Ask for a balcony room, if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SL1NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had overlooked the Portola Hotel over the years but decided to try it last month. What a pleasant surprise! We had a harbor view, which was lovely. The entire staff was just what you would expect from a 4-diamond hotel and the rooms are very nicely appointed. Bell and valet staff are top-notch. Location is superior with all of downtown Monterey and the wharf within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandErik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sf bay area
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed at the Portola hotel on 8-7-14 found it to be very comfortable. The mattress is to die for, the most comfortable hotel mattress ever! As soon as my wife sat on it, she could not believe it. The hotel was clean and the staff were wonderful. It is in a great location one block from Cannery Row. It was a bit noisy at night with the sea gulls screaming, and the sea lion's barking all night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pat560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here during the craziest week of the year for Monterey: Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance! The hotel was the epicenter for the RM Auction and so much more. Yet we were able to go up to the 6th floor into our room which had a view of Monterey Bay and Fisherman's Warf and escape it all. Then, with the push of an elevator button, we went back down and were in the thick of it all. If there ever was a balance of serenity in the heart of the action, Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay is that oasis! Walking distance to EVERYTHING it's address exemplifies, "location, location, location!" The staff was more than accommodating and even met their GM, Janine Chicourrat, who seemed to be always around making sure that everyone's stay was up to par!

Spacious rooms with K-cup coffee makers and 8 cup variety pack replenished daily for free was only one of their numerous amenities. From the balcony we could hear the sea-lions and seagulls, but close the doors and the comfortable beds beckoned you to sleep in peace and quiet.

We look forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrTaras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,293 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing