We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have been staying here for three years, we love the Portola!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #17 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 March 2009

We visit Monterey quite often (every 2-3 months) and we feel that the Portola Hotel is everything we need. Whether it be a romantic getaway for just the two of us (top floor rooms) or a fun weekend with the kids, we are always extremely satisfied with the service, from beginning to end. From storing our bikes for us, or making a dinner reservation, there is nothing they wouldn't do for you. It is located right on Fisherman's Wharf, a short walk to the beach, bike/running trails right there, restaurants are plentiful, and you can hear the sea lions from your room!! We have sent many of our friends, both for business and pleasure, and they come home just as happy as we are!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebeachbunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,552)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,229 - 2,235 of 2,552 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2009

We booked a standard room, and when we arrived, we were upgraded to a deluxe room, 601. Its balcony overlooked the Bay, Fisherman's Wharf, the downtown and the hills to the east. The location of the hotel is perfect, right on the historic Plaza with everything (including Cannery Row), within walking distance. The room itself was very attractive. The hotel staff is the best I've encountered in the USA, without a doubt, gracious and helpful and warm. We loved our stay there.

The only negatives were the $10 daily fee for internet service (at the lowest available speed) and the very cheap, thin, single ply toilet tissue. What a strange way in which to "cheap out."

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2009

The Portola had a great staff. My husband and I stayed two nights here after visiting San Francisco. We were originally supposed to vacation in the Florida Keys but Hurricane Ike changed our mind and we canceled our trip last minute and flew to California instead. In conversation with the lady at the front desk we explained why were in Monterey and she decided to upgrade our room to an ocean view. It was beautiful. The location was great and I never saw another hotel that even compared while we were there.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adc4f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 12 February 2009

We have stayed at the Portola six times. The service is wonderful; the porters are right there to take your luggage or just open doors if you choose to unload yourself. The behind the desk people are polite and very friendly; they greet you with fresh baked chocolate chip cookies (yum). The rooms are nice and we have always had a nice view even when we went on "special offers". The balconys are nice and have a small table and chairs. Jack's breakfast is the best; everything imaginable plus an onsite chef to make any kind of omelette you want. The location is great, near everything. The new spa is very nice. We don't have a negative thing to say about the Portola; it is gracious and well kept and a fun experience. They are one of the few places in Montery that has an easy chair in the room; some of the most expensive hotels have a desk chair and I guess you are supposed to sit on the bed (too old for that thanks).

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Dull, disappointing, verging on dreadful.

But first the good news It's quite well situated close to amenities, easy to get to though area not a patch on nearby Carmel and splendours of the Big Sur. Staff are friendly and make a point of remembering guest names. Reception area is reasonable no complaints.

3 rooms later we finally had one that wasn't in a pokey annex across the street, nor being stared into by people on the street. We didn't have a view but at least we were high enough that those on street didn't have one either! As a motel this would be passable -(we might even ghave awarded it 2*) but it's expenisve and shabby. The pool area was so forlorn we abandoned any idea of a dip - we never found the much heralded spa. Food was to die for - at least I thought I was going to after eating their lunch - a truly disappointing fare, stewed vegetables, drenched lifeless salad and rubbery pork.

The room was okay - just - by travel lodge standards - which this isn't (and we were in a deluxe!) The bed was akin to sleeping on a ski-slope. The bed cover hadn't been changed and was badly stained. In fairness housekeeping arrived within minutes and changed it for a clean one. Wifi access at $10 for 10 minutes was eye-watering. Fortunately we had a cable and could hard-wire for $10 a day.

We wouldn't go back - they do lots of conferences - if your company book one here I'd recommend you room in the adjacent Marriot - I didn't take a look but it can't be any worse!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ECAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2009

This hotel is quite a find. I have nothing negative to share and highly recommend staying here. The Hotel's spa and restaurant 'Jacks' are amazing too! The location couldn't be more perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank N333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2009

My family and I stayed at Portola Hotel & Spa for the weekend for my sons 5th birthday. My sister and her family came along as well. We had connecting rooms. From booking the reservation to check out was such a great experience. When my family and I walked in the hotel, the staff had smiles on their faces and greeted us with kindness and generosity. Room services was great. Jack's downstairs was also fabulous.I could go on and on about how beautiful our stay was. Overall, it was just a great experience. I would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Monterey area.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MrsEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,655 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £123 - £292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing