We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Pacific(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Monterey Marriott(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Monterey Hotel(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colton Inn(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Abrego(Monterey)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,648)
Filter reviews
2,648 results
Traveller rating
1,217
820
350
179
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,217
820
350
179
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrew pubjack's restaurantfisherman's wharfwarm cookiescannery rowchocolate chip cookiesceiling fanconvention centerbreakfast buffetself parkingwithin walking distanceper dayupon checkbeautiful hotelmonterey baysea lionswhale watching
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,274 - 2,279 of 2,648 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The hotel is clean and in a wonderful location. It's the seagulls that kept us up especially with young children. We had a room overlooking the shops and it was suppose to be a quiet room but I guess with nature you just can't control it. The walk to Fisherman's wharf was about 3 min and we had fun sampling all the clam chowder. We took the FREE trolley that runs from Memorial Day to Labor Day to get to the aquarium and Cannery Row. The kids had so much fun riding it and since they're little they had energy when we got to where we were going. We ate at the onsite brewery one night and really enjoyed their fried calamari. The margarita's for $3 (I believe) weren't that great. The nachos were pretty good but since it was all so reasonable for happy hour it made for a nice meal. The Maritime museum is right there along with a couple of other museums that were all free of charge with a request for a donation. My Museum was just a short walk and excellent for kids ages 18mo-6 years. Our kids loved it! The location of the hotel is wonderful and the rooms were very large for a hotel room. We had a king bed, crib and sleeping bag and still had room to move around with no problem. The shower head needed to be updated. The parking was $17/day and there was no alternative parking we found while researching. Most of Monterey charges for parking so we just kept our car parked and walked and took the trolley which is why the location is so key.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erika_Folsom_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Great location! Short walk to Fisherman's Warf. Hotel is very clean, staff is very friendly. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2009

This hotel is beautiful from the outside, but the balcony was unusable due to the noise from the leaf blow and construction near the restaurant. The toilets flush with such a loud boom that it awoke everyone in our room.
The quad area between some of the rooms and the main part of the hotel is nice filled with shops, homeless and speeding cyclist. That area should be avoided if using a cane or walker.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

We were not sure what to expect, having booked online - I've learned the hard way pictures can be deceiving. However, the Portola was even better than the photos. The rooms were very large. We were two adults and two older teens and these were rooms that had so much space in them we didn't mind hanging out there. The beds were soft and comfortable, as well! The location was excellent. We were away from Cannery Row, so you didn't get all the crowds in our courtyard which made things more peaceful. However, a leisurely walk to Cannery Row was about 10 minutes along the water. The Wharf was 2 minutes away. Kayaking 5 minutes. All walking distance! Our hotel was surrounded by fine dining restaurants and the restaurant on sight was more than satisfactory and yummy. We sat outside around the open pit fireplace drinking wine and chatted with other hotel guests. Plenty to do for the older teens, too. Several clubs within walking distance. Friends stayed at the "other high-end hotel nearby" and were less than pleased with it. I'll definitely be coming back to the Portola. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SageVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

The hotel has a great location. The service was great. Everyone was very friendly and the lobby is beautiful. The rooms are nicely furnished. with nice individual touches. However, there is no A/C and it can get hot. We had an upgraded room that had a "city view",which was not a vew at all, that were suppose to be their quiet rooms but our room was still extremely noisy. We were on a walkway and you could hear conversations of people walking by on the walkway below. i could hear the music from the room next door. It was hot and there was no A/C, so we needed to open the door for a breeze but the noise level was horrible even with the patio door shut. They need to invest in some better insulation and glass. That was the only bad thing about the hotel. It was a great value. We paid $149.00 for the room and that included breakfast. It was a nice breakfast. We also liked the bar.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dixie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews