We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“please do not stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 15 August 2009

the worst:

rabid seagulls, perched outside of your room 24 hours a day...they start screaming at 330 am and do not stop. the service is mediocre, had to switch rooms due the birds which the staf said wasn't their problem. the bathrooms look like my grandmothers house in 1972...the wireless internet: $450 FOR 10 HOURS...NO KIDDING. you can plug into the landline for a reasonable price, but hope you want to sit at a desk to do so. i will say that the spa was nice, but sadly you have to go back to your room after...which has no a/c. sorry guys (portola), you go it way wrong.

don't do it, there are much better options for you money

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cw212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,221 - 2,227 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights for our mini-moon. We very much enjoyed every part of our honeymoon except for this hotel. Lets see - they couldn't find a gift that a friend left for us, put us in the wrong room at first (an ugly view of the building next door, not the courtyard/ocean view we reserved) they called us at 7:30 *AM* on our first morning there to ask about something, and then again at 8:50, didnt clean our room one day, didn't have amenities listed in their book in the room, many little things. They get 2 stars because they did upgrade our room and send champagne to the room. But overall I would never recommend this place or stay there again. They claim to be a 5 star place, but are no better than a Ramada Inn. They claim to be so cheap but really it's because they nickel and dime you for every little thing. Internet was $10 a day, but free up the street at the Motel 6.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misticme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2009

Extremely bad customer service
Deluxe room below average
Undervalued guest experience

Expected a romantic getaway with the miss's but instead left with frustration and unsatisfaction. No problems during check-in which was the only positive out of our experience. To start off, we were charged for self parking ($17) even when I had decided to go for the free street parking which the person at the front desk who checked us in had suggested we should do. It was as if they just slapped a $17 charge just to see if we would say anything. The frustrating part was not just the inappropriate charge, but having to ask not once but twice to have the charge removed. Received a $35 credit for food and beverages and would rather have been able to use this towards the room, which was clearly not a deluxe room. The only standout from any regular room that I have been to in my past is the balcony and 'partial' ocean view past buildings and half a mile away. In addition, we were charged for the tip that was left at Jack's restaurant when our meal amounted to just under $22 on the check. We decided to leave a gracious tip using the remainder of the $35 food credit. When it was time to checkout, we had a charge of $25 to Jacks restaurant and an additional charge of $13(the tip). In the end somehow we still had to pay $3 out of our pocket when my assumption was that a $35 food credit would INCLUDE the tip...apparently not. How annoying is it when the person at the front makes it sound as if she's doing us a favor by crediting our money back, yet that's what SHOULD have happened in the first place. She had the audacity to say, " I really shouldn't be crediting this back" When really we shouldn't have had this problem in the first place! And why did I still have a $3 charge?? Is this to prove a point?? Or is the hotel really hurting that bad?? Beware if you must come for a convention and get away from this place as it is certainly not of the kind where you can let the staff take care of you. Didn't try the spa and didn't need to, we will NOT be recommending this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vactionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2009

For the price, $170 a night, the room was over-valued. Floor plan was poorley designed. Internet came at a cost and there was no continental breakfast. Our temperature guage did not respond to anything other than the "comfort zone" which we found to be on the warm side. We opened the windows to cool off but soon found that the seagulls where extrememly noisy. We were continuously kept awake by their annoying screams. On the plus, we did receive two free chocolate chip cookies upon checking in....

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank toofless916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

This is really quite a nice hotel but they have got it into their heads that the area is so cool year-round that they don't need aircon. Apparently many hotels in the area are without it too. They are wrong. These rooms do have fans but they only recirculate stale air and many rooms do not have windows that can safely be left open overnight. We got moved to an upstairs room so we could leave the window open and then had a good night's sleep. Its a great area near Fisherman's Wharf and generally the hotel is spacious. We would return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bognor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

The hotel is clean and in a wonderful location. It's the seagulls that kept us up especially with young children. We had a room overlooking the shops and it was suppose to be a quiet room but I guess with nature you just can't control it. The walk to Fisherman's wharf was about 3 min and we had fun sampling all the clam chowder. We took the FREE trolley that runs from Memorial Day to Labor Day to get to the aquarium and Cannery Row. The kids had so much fun riding it and since they're little they had energy when we got to where we were going. We ate at the onsite brewery one night and really enjoyed their fried calamari. The margarita's for $3 (I believe) weren't that great. The nachos were pretty good but since it was all so reasonable for happy hour it made for a nice meal. The Maritime museum is right there along with a couple of other museums that were all free of charge with a request for a donation. My Museum was just a short walk and excellent for kids ages 18mo-6 years. Our kids loved it! The location of the hotel is wonderful and the rooms were very large for a hotel room. We had a king bed, crib and sleeping bag and still had room to move around with no problem. The shower head needed to be updated. The parking was $17/day and there was no alternative parking we found while researching. Most of Monterey charges for parking so we just kept our car parked and walked and took the trolley which is why the location is so key.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erika_Folsom_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2009

Great location! Short walk to Fisherman's Warf. Hotel is very clean, staff is very friendly. We had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cwesner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,577 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,357 reviews
1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#7 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £134 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing