We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely wonderful hotel!! Excellent service! Great location!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 9 September 2010

There's so much to say about this hotel its hard to know where to begin.

Service: The excellent service started when we pulled up to the front door and were greeted by the valet staff. They were pleasant and extremely helpful. The great service continued with the front desk staff, bell staff, the bartenders at Jack's Lounge/Peter J's, and the wait staff. At every turn we encountered courteous and helpful staff.

Room: The room was spacious and clean. It was simplistic in design and included a large flat screen tv, refrigerator and safe. The bathroom was maybe a little dated but it was large and clean and stocked with organic/green products. The toilet was a little loud and the shower had no pressure but these were not big issues for us. I slept nearest the restroom and my husband's late night trips did not wake me up:) We had a Portola King room that faced the courtyard.

Restaurants: We enjoyed a meal and drinks at Peter J's. The food was excellent and the drinks were good as well. The thing that sticks out about our time there was the service. The waitress was very hospitable; the bartender was accommodating and went the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our drinks. The bartender at Jack's Lounge was extremely friendly and definitely knew what he was doing. The atmosphere was very relaxing and inviting at both places.

Location: The location of this hotel was excellent. It is steps from the wharf and downtown. This provides a variety of restaurants, bars and shops in which to indulge. I preferred this location to Cannery Row which is walking distance from the Portola. You can park your vehicle and have a wonderful time from this central location.

Hotel: The hotel itself is warm and inviting. I loved the open atrium feel of the lobby. The plaza provides shopping and is the location of activities such as festivals. One of which was happening during our stay. Parking was kind of expensive but hotels that are located at the center of activities usually have some type of parking fee associated with them so this wasn't a problem for us. We used valet during our stay.

The only negative during our stay was that we booked a discount package through a travel site. We received the rate when we checked in but was not given a coupon card that was included. Being as this was our first time staying here and using this discount site, I was not aware of the coupon card. When we received our final invoice, I noticed that a room service meal that was charged to the room did not include a 25% discount. I called the front desk and the same person that checked us in told me that I should have printed a coupon out from the site. When I explained that there was not a printable coupon on the site she simply repeated that there should have been. I let this go as we were simply happy and relaxed and thoroughly rested from out time here. However, when I dropped our room keys off at the front desk, I mentioned the discount to the gentleman behind the desk and he showed me the coupon card I should have been given at check in. He then adjusted our final bill to include the discount for our room service meal. The bummer is that we could have applied this discount to our meal at Peter J's and drinks at Jack's Lounge if we had the card.

Again, this in no way shape or form detracted from my opinion of this hotel. Overall, our stay was extremely enjoyable and we will definitely stay at the Portola again. Oh yeah, the warm cookies at check-in were awesome!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ebwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,487)
There are newer reviews for Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,001 - 2,007 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2010

This was a very comfortable hotel with pleasant staff, nice rooms and a nice location away from the touristy cannery row. It appears to be good for business gatherings with it's conference rooms, but we were there on a labor day weekend and it was pretty quiet, so probably a good choice for nonbusiness travelers on weekends and holidays. The room was very comfortable with a nautical design and a spacious bathroom. My daughter and i both commented on how comfortable the beds were. We also liked that we were not caught up in the touristy area and could walk to some non-touristy restaurants and shops. Also to be noted... the gym is very nice.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tam001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

When we arrived we had our beautiful Executive Suite all set up and 2 warm chocolate cookies! The staff was very helpful and nice! Very close to food and activities like whale watching and boche ball. Views were amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASYNEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during the MotoGP at Laguna Seca. The hotel is large, spacious and has good amenities. Rooms are also reasonably large with good amenities and one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in - definately one of my best ever nights sleep! However, all this comes at a cost. The hotel is expensive to stay at (or this may have been due to a major event being on), and food and drink is also at the upper end of the price scale - as is the daily parking charge which seemed a bit on the high side. However, it is a very nice hotel, with good restaurant, bar with brewery and lounge and it's location next to Fishermans Wharf is perfect - although it's a bit of a walk to Cannery Wharf. The hotel also has a good pet policy, so perfect if you want to take your pet on holiday too! I would return to this hotel, but only if I could get a deal to make the room rate more affordable.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill46Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The hotel is located in Monterey Downtown, very close to the marina and fisherman's wharf. Public areas, lobby, etc, are great. Rooms are clean and big

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roccox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

So while on a recent road trip with my better half, we planned on staying one night in Monterey. Based on reviews I found here, I elected to stay at Portola.

We were really happy with our choice right away. The hotel is located right in the thick of things, with a couple of small downtown streets with retaurants and bars just outside the front door of the hotel, and the Warf and a couple of historic sites outside the rear door. The hotel itself was really beautiful, with a clean and well appointed lobby and a great lobby bar.

The staff interations I had were all positive. The valet and bellman was very quick and efficient, and was very friendly. He was nice enough to point out that valet was only $2.00 more than self parking, making it a no-brainer. The staff at the front desk was great. In fact, directly next to where I was checking in, there was a guest checking in who has a really nasty attitude and was very rude to the front desk staff. The hotel staff member remained completely professional and friendly, and really impressed me.

The room was really nice. The beds were fantastic, the furnishings were all great, and the room was very clean. The bathrooms could use a serious update, but the bathroom was certainly sufficient.

Overall, we had a great experience at this hotel, and would happily return!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UCSB_Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Had a very relaxing experience at this hotel. Room was very nice and clean. Upscale feel yet comfortable. Would definetly return... Location makes it easy to get all over if you're up to walking!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sillyamyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,626 reviews
1.0 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £150 - £348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing