We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cameron Park.Calfornia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

we stayed for two days at this location, perfect wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is perfect, downtown monterey right outside the front of the hotel and the Wharf right out the back. We didn't dine at any of the restaurant's at the hotel...Why there is just too much more to offer out and around Monterey! we did have some cocktails at the bar...great service. Spa was to die for, had the great relaxing time.."Sweatheart Package", I am a huge spa fan and was really happy with the ambiance. Room was very nice we had a garden view with a balacony it was perfect, it was clean and the bed was so comfy. Wharf was a expierence so many different places to eat..at one point felt like I was in Mexico looking at a timeshare...everyone wanted your business. Second night we walked to Cannery Row, less then a mile walk...had dinner at the "Fish Hopper" Oh my goodness what a great place...window view, make reservations! I would stay again and again at this hotel no doubt about it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    735
    310
    150
    71
See reviews for
687
814
74
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (544)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2010

2nd August in a row we spent 2 nights at the Portola. Comfortable and clean accomodations, superb/comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff. Recommend highly and will definitely return and make it three in a row!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHanson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2010

I organized a convention at the Portola Hotel in Monterey. The staff was absolutely amazing. The location could not be better...steps from the beach and the wharf, with plenty of dining options nearby. If you are organizing a convention or business event, I have to give the Portola team my highest recommendations. You'll be happy you worked with them!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pfarmerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antioch, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

There's so much to say about this hotel its hard to know where to begin.

Service: The excellent service started when we pulled up to the front door and were greeted by the valet staff. They were pleasant and extremely helpful. The great service continued with the front desk staff, bell staff, the bartenders at Jack's Lounge/Peter J's, and the wait staff. At every turn we encountered courteous and helpful staff.

Room: The room was spacious and clean. It was simplistic in design and included a large flat screen tv, refrigerator and safe. The bathroom was maybe a little dated but it was large and clean and stocked with organic/green products. The toilet was a little loud and the shower had no pressure but these were not big issues for us. I slept nearest the restroom and my husband's late night trips did not wake me up:) We had a Portola King room that faced the courtyard.

Restaurants: We enjoyed a meal and drinks at Peter J's. The food was excellent and the drinks were good as well. The thing that sticks out about our time there was the service. The waitress was very hospitable; the bartender was accommodating and went the extra mile to make sure we enjoyed our drinks. The bartender at Jack's Lounge was extremely friendly and definitely knew what he was doing. The atmosphere was very relaxing and inviting at both places.

Location: The location of this hotel was excellent. It is steps from the wharf and downtown. This provides a variety of restaurants, bars and shops in which to indulge. I preferred this location to Cannery Row which is walking distance from the Portola. You can park your vehicle and have a wonderful time from this central location.

Hotel: The hotel itself is warm and inviting. I loved the open atrium feel of the lobby. The plaza provides shopping and is the location of activities such as festivals. One of which was happening during our stay. Parking was kind of expensive but hotels that are located at the center of activities usually have some type of parking fee associated with them so this wasn't a problem for us. We used valet during our stay.

The only negative during our stay was that we booked a discount package through a travel site. We received the rate when we checked in but was not given a coupon card that was included. Being as this was our first time staying here and using this discount site, I was not aware of the coupon card. When we received our final invoice, I noticed that a room service meal that was charged to the room did not include a 25% discount. I called the front desk and the same person that checked us in told me that I should have printed a coupon out from the site. When I explained that there was not a printable coupon on the site she simply repeated that there should have been. I let this go as we were simply happy and relaxed and thoroughly rested from out time here. However, when I dropped our room keys off at the front desk, I mentioned the discount to the gentleman behind the desk and he showed me the coupon card I should have been given at check in. He then adjusted our final bill to include the discount for our room service meal. The bummer is that we could have applied this discount to our meal at Peter J's and drinks at Jack's Lounge if we had the card.

Again, this in no way shape or form detracted from my opinion of this hotel. Overall, our stay was extremely enjoyable and we will definitely stay at the Portola again. Oh yeah, the warm cookies at check-in were awesome!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ebwhyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

This was a very comfortable hotel with pleasant staff, nice rooms and a nice location away from the touristy cannery row. It appears to be good for business gatherings with it's conference rooms, but we were there on a labor day weekend and it was pretty quiet, so probably a good choice for nonbusiness travelers on weekends and holidays. The room was very comfortable with a nautical design and a spacious bathroom. My daughter and i both commented on how comfortable the beds were. We also liked that we were not caught up in the touristy area and could walk to some non-touristy restaurants and shops. Also to be noted... the gym is very nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tam001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

When we arrived we had our beautiful Executive Suite all set up and 2 warm chocolate cookies! The staff was very helpful and nice! Very close to food and activities like whale watching and boche ball. Views were amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ASYNEGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights during the MotoGP at Laguna Seca. The hotel is large, spacious and has good amenities. Rooms are also reasonably large with good amenities and one of the comfiest beds I've ever slept in - definately one of my best ever nights sleep! However, all this comes at a cost. The hotel is expensive to stay at (or this may have been due to a major event being on), and food and drink is also at the upper end of the price scale - as is the daily parking charge which seemed a bit on the high side. However, it is a very nice hotel, with good restaurant, bar with brewery and lounge and it's location next to Fishermans Wharf is perfect - although it's a bit of a walk to Cannery Wharf. The hotel also has a good pet policy, so perfect if you want to take your pet on holiday too! I would return to this hotel, but only if I could get a deal to make the room rate more affordable.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill46Aberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,560 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#14 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED(R)-EB certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, two on site eateries, a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing