We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay at the Portola”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington State
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Amazing stay at the Portola”
Reviewed 20 September 2010

First let me say this was a winning bid on Priceline that gained me an incredible room for an amazing price. Not once did the staff there short me in any way or even mention I had done the prepay Priceline bid thing. I was treated like royalty. I did opt for the 20.00 a night valet parking as I had so much luggage and I was incredibly weary from a very long drive across California. There isn't much parking that I could see close by, and the only other option is 17.00 self park.

The luxury of this hotel gives it many thumbs up in my view. The linens, pillows, the decor, the mattress!, the lovely large flat screen LCD tv, the amenities in the large gorgeous bathroom, the cleanliness and lushness of this stay overwhelmed me. I loved it here, I will be back and highly recommend the location as it is right within walking distance of just about everything you'd want to see in Monterey. (Cannery Row, the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, the beach and that lovely Coastal Recreation Path were all right there)

I was given a room with a slice of harbor view, and a view over the courtyard, with a balcony, it was lovely with louvered shutters you could open to the sun and the sliding doors could also be opened to the fresh sea air. There is also a ceiling fan you can use. I was captivated from the start with the staff from check in to check out. I did not use their internet as there was a charge, I do feel they need to change that policy. What hotel doesn't offer free internet anymore?

I did not enjoy the in house brewery, Peter B's, happy hour as I thought I would, though their 3.00 margaritas are to die for, and their own micro brews were very very good. However, don't get the clams, even if they say they are "always fresh" when asked. Nope, tough, fishy, and the broth was so salty I couldn't dip the greasy grilled bread into it (I think they used the grill brush and grill oil on the bread as "butter") not good, but the server was really great, and I overtipped her as it wasn't her fault the food was not great.

Again, Priceline's definition of 4 stars is just that for this hotel. Fantastic stay and I will return for a much longer stay next time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flwrgrdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,071
    752
    314
    153
    75
See reviews for
698
832
75
371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (551)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2010

A beautiful hotel close to fisherman's wharf and more importantly, downtown. We loved the location and the atmosphere of the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable with a cute and spacious courtyard patio. It was great to have so many dining options in the hotel. Everyone was very helpful. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gineeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
219 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Stayed for 2 nights here on route back to San Fran. Hotel is close to alot of sites around Monterey and the Big Sur.
Check-in was stress free and the lady who served us was very nice and pleasant, on our way to our room, got our hot cookies, stayed in a Portola King overlooking the square in the State Park. Spacious room and bathroom, really comfortable.
Car parking $17 a day and you can come and go as you please, good value.
Ate in the in-house brewery one night, great fish and chips and some local brews. Good way to spend a few hours.
Behind the hotel into the town there are plenty of restaurants, so you will never be short of a place to eat. The hotel is in 2 parts, one by the car park and the main section. Our room was down from reception, up a small flight of stairs. All was good.
It is in walking distance to Cannery Row, but if you dont want to walk, a free trolley service is a stones throw close to the Wharf. Hotel is in a great location.
Recommended hotel to my cousin, he is just back from Portola and loved it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2010

We booked the hotel for our wedding anniversary and was expecting a three star facility where we can relax and be at peace. They have accessorized it compromising the utility factor. We would have rather had tooth paste instead of crown ceilings.

Though the main hotel is nice, we were pushed off to the side building which was not as good as we thought it would be. It was a tiny room and with two beds eventhough we had requested for a single King bed. Definitely not worth it for the price we paid. On top of that, you need to pay 17$ for parking and for us that was a first. We have never paid for parking as a hotel guest. And there was no free internet, which basically sucks especially when you are travelling for more than two days. Even in the hotel lobby, wifi was charged-thats ridiculous.Plus, the location is not exactly close to the waters. I suppose being in downtown runs the prices high.
On a good note, the house keeping staff was good and prompt always.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinxiegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PortolaHotelSpa, Manager at Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay, responded to this review, 15 September 2010
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay at the Portola Hotel & Spa. We are sorry to hear you were dissatisfied with having to pay for the parking and internet. It’s an industry standard and we regularly research to make sure we are on par with our competitors. We have put a lot of capital into maintaining a high standard for internet access for all of our guests.

We value you as a guest and we want you to know that we greatly appreciate your feedback. Although we cannot change this, we do hope you will return to the Portola Hotel & Spa. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our housekeeping staff and thought they were very prompt and good. Once again, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment.

Sincerely,

The Portola Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cameron Park.Calfornia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

we stayed for two days at this location, perfect wouldn't stay anywhere else. The location is perfect, downtown monterey right outside the front of the hotel and the Wharf right out the back. We didn't dine at any of the restaurant's at the hotel...Why there is just too much more to offer out and around Monterey! we did have some cocktails at the bar...great service. Spa was to die for, had the great relaxing time.."Sweatheart Package", I am a huge spa fan and was really happy with the ambiance. Room was very nice we had a garden view with a balacony it was perfect, it was clean and the bed was so comfy. Wharf was a expierence so many different places to eat..at one point felt like I was in Mexico looking at a timeshare...everyone wanted your business. Second night we walked to Cannery Row, less then a mile walk...had dinner at the "Fish Hopper" Oh my goodness what a great place...window view, make reservations! I would stay again and again at this hotel no doubt about it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacation03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin Lakes, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2010

2nd August in a row we spent 2 nights at the Portola. Comfortable and clean accomodations, superb/comfortable bed, friendly and helpful staff. Recommend highly and will definitely return and make it three in a row!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SHanson12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, California
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2010

I organized a convention at the Portola Hotel in Monterey. The staff was absolutely amazing. The location could not be better...steps from the beach and the wharf, with plenty of dining options nearby. If you are organizing a convention or business event, I have to give the Portola team my highest recommendations. You'll be happy you worked with them!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfarmerca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#13 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#5 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing