We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“June 29th 2007 Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Ranked #16 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersGold level
Bay area, Ca
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“June 29th 2007 Stay”
Reviewed 5 July 2007

We stayed here for one night from the 29th to the first of July. It was very nice, and we enjoyed our stay. We had a courtyard view room for $179.00 and thought it was really worth it, the hotel is large and clean and they really have nice touches. I don't have any complaints. It is close by attractions, cookies on arrival, bottled water in the room, and a very nice staff made the stay very nice. Easy check-in, parking, and check-out. The places to eat on site were nice, and we did order room service Sunday morning and it was very good. I would stay here again and recommend it to anyone looking for a nice hotel in Monterey!

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank justmarried67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,081
    757
    316
    155
    75
See reviews for
706
835
75
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (558)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Ramon, CA.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2007

My husband and I stayed here one night, June 27th 2007, on a quick overnight trip to Monterey. We thoroughly enjoyed this hotel, and would return. We booked a Deluxe King room, on very short notice, at a significant discount (a summer special advertised on the hotel's website). The two best things about this hotel are its location (adjacent to marina, Fisherman's Wharf, and the beach walk, and also right on a nice plaza with shops), and its beautiful lobby and grounds. Mature trees grow right in the lobby, their tops covered by a greenhouse/skylight. Our room was clean, attractive, comfortable and very quiet. We were on the third floor and had a nice sunny walled-in patio with wrought-iron table and chairs where we had coffee in the morning. We weren't high enough for an ocean view, but close enough to hear the sea sounds and the seagulls. We didn't get a chance to dine in the hotel but they have a restaurant and a brew pub that both looked inviting. We had absolutely no complaints here. This hotel is not a high rise, it's very spread out into many separate wings. The pool, fitness room, and some of the hotel rooms are actually across the little plaza adjacent to the parking garage. If I had been interested in using the pool, it would have been quite a long trek from my room across the plaza in my bathing suit... I wouldn't pick this place if pool use was a major planned activity. I think the room orientations and desirability vary significantly depending on which wing you are placed in; I certainly wouldn't have wanted a room adjacent to the parking garage. So may be best to clarify your placement here...

  • Liked — The location and beautiful lobby
  • Disliked — the pool location
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank djssrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
No. California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2007

There were some great things about this hotel, as well as some not so great things.

The good--The hotel itself was very nice, the room was well-decorated and clean, the bottled water in the room was a nice touch, and the staff in the lounge and restaurant were great. Most of all, the hotel is in a great area, right next to the wharf and easy walking distance to Cannery Row.

The bad--Make sure you don't get stuck in a room without a balcony. Most of them have balconies, and although it was requested, it isn't what we got. The room was not ready when we got there, and although they had better rooms available, they would not upgrade without charging us an extra $100/night. It certainly is their right, but not what I have generally experienced at hotels who want to earn a guest's return business. The front desk staff, while friendly, struggled to give basic directions even when looking at a map. And yes, the walls were so thin I could hear the gentleman in the next room snoring the first night.

Overall, this was a hotel that didn't ruin my vacation, but didn't add to it either. I would stay here again because of the great location, but only if the price was significantly better from the other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MM_TT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton Park NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2007

We stayed in Monterey for two nights on our way down the coast. We weren't excited about San Francisco, but once we got to Monterey, we were ecstatic, especially when we got to the hotel. The location, the view we had, the food at the hotel, everything was awesome. There is a free trolley in Monterey now that stops at the hotel. We took it to the aquarium, which you can walk to if you prefer. We were right across from the Wharf also, which had great food. Monterey was great, and the Portola Plaza played a major role in our enjoyment.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, amenities, restaurants
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank StevenKollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2007

We seem to have a different experience than some others on this site.

We stayed in June on a high floor with a sea view and really enjoyed out stay. It was a large, clean and what looked like recently renovated room with modern furniture and all you could want in a hotel to feel like a pampered guest.
We had complimentary breakfast in our rate which was delicious, lots of choice there.

The reception staff were friendly and give you warm cookies on arrival which were really good!

Monterey is a beautiful area and so staying at the Portola added to the enjoyment of our holiday.

Location was excellent, close to wharf, aquarium and dining.

As we had no complaints, we would definately recommend this hotel, as it was a really good place to stay.

  • Liked — Cozy room
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Tinabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2007

My wife and I had reservations at the Hyatt Highland Inn in Carmel, but we were not happy with the condition of the hotel and drove down to Monterey looking for another hotel in the area. Without a reservation we went into the Portola Plaza Hotel, inspected the available room and had a great stay. We found our room on the 6th floor to be quiet, good size, renovated and most of all very clean. The staff was friendly and the location great. This hotel offers a good home base while visiting this area, but I think Monterey reminds me of the older areas of Jersey Shore that have seen their better days. The Portola Plaza, Big Sur, the 17 mile drive and Sunday brunch at Pebble Beach made our visit a memorable one.

  • Liked — A very clean room.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Suremarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ventura county, ca
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2007

read up on this hotel for negatives. noise was most reported. room was in main building on 4th floor. No noise, extremely quiet.
room much better than anticipated. deserves a 3 plus star rating. impressed with all services. will return again.
visitor from ventura county.

  • Liked — low key, relaxing environment
  • Disliked — no complaints
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xyzyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.1 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 55 in Monterey
2,297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 55 in Monterey
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.7 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
1,596 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacific
Hotel Pacific
#11 of 55 in Monterey
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay

Property: Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Address: 2 Portola Plaza, Monterey, CA 93940-2419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Monterey
#3 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#4 Business Hotel in Monterey
#4 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#8 Family Hotel in Monterey
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 379
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portola Hotel & Spa reflects the captivating spirit of a rich, historical setting surrounded by everything that the Monterey Peninsula has to offer. Your stay at the Portola Hotel begins with warm homemade chocolate chip cookies, provided at check-in. As the only Silver LEED Certified hotel on the central coast of California, the hotel boasts 379 guestrooms and suites, an award winning full service day spa, three on-site restaurants including a craft brewery and more! Portola Hotel & Spa is one of California's premier family-friendly destinations offering easy access to Monterey's favorite attractions. The hotel is also pet friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portola Hotel And Spa At Monterey Bay
Portola Hotel Monterey Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing