We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good motel”
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Lagoon Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Rooms are Clean and roomy, have microwave, refrigerator, television ,free wifi, clock radio, ice bucket, and glasses. Not available iron, ironing board, luggage stand, hair dryer, or Kleenex. A definite plus was the gas fireplace in each room. there was a continental breakfast in the office but no eating area, no pool or fitness room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2012

I needed a place to stay and this motel had a room available while all others did not. After staying I can see why. The property was tidy yet the room appeared OK but when looked at closer it was a mess. Quite a bit of debris was found under the bed and around the walls, from bottle caps to hair balls you name it. I found that 2 light bulbs were out that the maid completly ignored. The manager was also no help. When I ask him for a receipt for my stay he denied me saying I booked online and he could not give me one, "go deal with Expedia" he said. I actually booked through Hotels.com. There was a refrigerator in the room that was loud and I eventually turned off, it would have been nice to use it. Beware also that the motel's name is being changed to "The Fireplace Inn" and there is a makeshift sign saying "Formally the Blue Lagoon"

Stay away from this one until they make soem changes.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahoe1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

The blue Lagoon as changed name.

It now call the Fire Side inn.

Rooms are olds and smalls, the bathroom pluming is hard to work but does what it have to do.
The general cleanliness is average and the gas heaters are noisy. BUT, I stayed there 3 nights for 45$ tx inc during the week for a room whit 2 beds. So I guess i could not ask for a brand new room. We slept well. Just for you know the "breakfast" is cut muffins, coffee and OJ. WiFi worked great.

Would recommend it only if your on a budget or your cheap .... Just like me :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SebTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

I booked a night at the hotel in advance way back in june 2010 but had to cancel the booking about a week before it was due. The hotel went ahead and took the payment from my credit card even though i was within the cancellation period. Much worse than this, it is now 7 months later and I still have not been unable to get a refund, in spite of maybe 10 emails to the owner as well as the same number of calls from Venere (the booking site), there have been several promises to refund 'soon' but nothing has happened. Clearly the owner (Mike) is hoping I'll give up - how dishonest and untrustworthy is that?!

So take care - try not to book in advance, better still, go somewhere else where the service is better and honest.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Third A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

had a terrible experience at the blue lagoon.
it started off ok... for the price, i was actually expecting the place to be crappier than it first appeared. but that soon changed.
-first complaint - the management was INCREDIBLY rude. actually accused me of lying about there being cockroaches in the bathroom
-which leads me to my next complaint - yes, there were COCKROACHES in the bathroom!!! grosssssssss!!
-the bathroom sink was so clogged up that it took about 5 minutes for the water to drain, which is disgusting especially when you have multiple people brushing their teeth... you get the picture.
-the walls are paper thin.... you can hear everything... including people getting up at the crack of dawn and slamming doors, their luggage against walls, talking, etc.
-not to mention that there is a crack under the door in which car exhaust vented in and nearly suffocated us. (hmm... maybe how the cockroaches found their way in too...!)

bottom line, unless you are hard up on money, i would stay somewhere else. don't continue to support management who tells you you're lying when you make a complaint about their hotel. (on top of refusing to offer any kind of compensation/discount!)

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melissa427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2010

right price and bed is fine. tv worked. has fridge and micro. no frills. old but clean. coffee was available in the office, with sliced bundt cake but this did not start until 8am on sunday morning. no pool or spa

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank middleyears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This place isn't going to get confused with the Lodge at Pebble Beach any time soon, but it was fine for one night. Older fixtures and furnishings, to be sure, but clean and comfortable enough for an evening.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,552 reviews
2.6 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Merritt House Inn
Merritt House Inn
#3 of 10 in Monterey
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bayside Inn
Bayside Inn
#4 of 10 in Monterey
171 reviews
2.9 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Inn

Address: 2362 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: £64 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Blue Lagoon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing