We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left Early”
Review of Blue Lagoon Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterey
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Lagoon Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 January 2014

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Decent place. No frills. I woke the Innkeeper up when I arrived late at night. I woke him up with an early departure as well.
Bathroom has recently been remodeled. Fireplace worked. Heat worked. No A/C. Carpets relatively clean. I could see where the vacuum cleaner didn't go. Curtains discolored. Not a bad place to stay for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

First of all, I stay at dozens of hotels in different states every year and the majority are budget conscious. The little things don't bother me unless there are a ton of bad little things in one place. I Booked 3 nights here thru Expedia based on price, decent reviews and location. There are several restaurants, a bowling alley, convenient stores and a CVS within minutes to walk too. Upon arrival, noticed that there were a small amount of units with tight parking and shady characters cursing and hanging out in front of their rooms. The front desk was neither friendly nor rude. When I entered the room, I was taken aback at the claustrophobic size. Upon closer inspection, I began to discover cracks, stains, a missing showerhead, bad tv reception and the worst of all...NO A/C! The website says "climate control" which I now know does NOT mean air conditioning. It was so hot, even with the windows open (which you could hear all of the foul language from other people as well as the traffic). I was going to buy a fan and try to make the best of it, but I just couldn't. For the very first time, I called and cancelled my stay. Fortunately, I was only charged one night and quickly found a wonderful replacement (which I also reviewed here on Tripadvisor). My trip was nearly ruined, but, thanks to Expedia, the crisis was averted. Do NOT stay here unless you like filth and heat!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Very nice hotel for the price! It's an old building, but very clean with redone bathrooms. The guests staying there were very quiet (which was good, because the walls were thin). TV stations were spotty, and you have to pull out the handle on the shower to get it to work (I couldn't figure it out, had to ask the front desk). Owner was very nice and woke up after hours to let me in. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Save1star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We had no issue with our reservations made on Hotel.Com. After checking the motels web site Hotel.Com was 40.00 and their web site was 80.00. It is on par with a motel 6, easier to park and quieter. The floors in bathroom our nice granite tiles. However I have a major pet peeve of mildew. I know it is moist here but use bleach please. The tub stopper in deep need of bleach.

We would stay again, no it is not right next to the beach, but at 40 a night it beat the hell out of the more expensive ones.

It is time to replace the carpets,no kleenix, or any type of paper or pens on desk.

However we were having so much fun and wanted to stay another night, we paid 55 for a Friday night, excellent so we stayed. The wireless internet is included and the signal strenght is excellent. We slept here, it has a fridge and microwave, very handy. No coffee pot but we brought are own, also no blow dryer.

So your choice, comfy beds, in need of new carpeting but clean and in a good neighborhood. The safeway down the street has excellent take out deli's for picnic on the beach. It is close to the main entertainments, but not too close, we were there in 7 minutes. So your choice again. We would rather go out and eat and have not spend a 100 on a room for sleeping. So yes, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: They all seemed to be about the same, we had a double room so no fireplace. Good cable at night with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dcinnv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

you may search the address and find fireplace inn. you're there. location isnt great, NEED A CAR. but all in all it served its purpose. very clean. very spacious. staff were really friendly. theres a chinese restaurant and 711 across the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ak356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

good place w/ reasonable rates, friendly and clean

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,085 reviews
2.8 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Lagoon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Lagoon Inn

Address: 2362 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: £75 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing