We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monterey motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Monterey motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We had a pretty good experience at the Knights Inn. When we checked in, our room was on the 2nd floor. My mom requested a room on the bottom floor, but we also wanted to keep our room price. We were upgraded at no charge to a better room. It was spacious and clean, and I slept really well that night. Good location, with a quick drive to the wharf and aquarium. Breakfast is served in a teeny, tiny room. In fact, they want you to take your food back to your hotel room. It left a lot to be desired. Overall, we were pleased with this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    112
    80
    32
    23
See reviews for
54
148
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

This property is conveniently located near downtown and Fisherman's Wharf, however the hotel is showing it's age. Our room(with a king size bed) was plenty big enough, but all the furniture was old. Drawers were missing drawer pulls, the TV, microwave and refrigerator were small. There was no closet, although a small clothes rack was in the bathroom. the bathroom walls had missing plaster and showed rust. The was room was clean. The office staff person was very nice and helpful and allowed us to check in 2 hours early. We've been in worse and have been in better.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hdsauls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I stayed for 2 nights, when I got home and checked my bank account there was an extra charge that was not mine. Gigi made an error an our friends room and she applied the charges TO ME. I did not receive any notice telling me that I was paying for HER MISTAKE!! I called and she was not helpful AT ALL. Pretty much she told me I had to go to my friend and ask him for the money I was short. NEVER GOING THERE AGAIN!! It was her responsibility to notify me of the additional charges and was never notified.

Room Tip: Pay CASH! They will withdraw money with out notice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I believe the hotel was ok for the price however, they do not offer breakfast because it is more like snacks. You are just going to find Costco muffins cut in half, one fruit, two choices of cereal, milk and coffee and there is no place to sit so you need to take your "breakfast" to your room. The rooms smell a lot like bug spray and the office where you check in smell like incense that I cannot handle. The location is ok if you rent or have a car. If you do not have a car, this hotel is far from everything. Well, there is mall just across the street but everything else is kind of far.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Booked at last minute, over Internet.

Easy to find, check in prompt and efficient.

Excellent free wifi.

Room very clean.

Breakfast basic but you get what you pay for. The wee room was a mess but this was down to inconsiderated guests spilling stuff about and not clearing up.

Very pleased overall. The price was good and the bed was huge!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hill-run_bisom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

This motel provides a basic clean motel room for a reasonable price. It is a good location, but is very sparse on quality amenities.

The office smells like burning incense which is not pleasant to most people I think, but that is a relatively minor quibble. The "breakfast" is very sparse and it exists in a tiny space next to the office no bigger than a closet. Another negative was the tiny bath towels. The bed was a little hard and the TV was old.

On the positive side, it was clean, the sheets were soft, the location was convenient, the internet worked well in my room and the price was affordable.

We would recommend the motel and would stay there again if you keep your expectations low and don't plan on spending too much time in the room.

Room Tip: Parking fills up early. If this is important to you, get there before evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Higgs B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for 1 night only, but we wished that we could have stayed even longer. The staff was friendly and provided alot of help regarding things to see while in Monterrey. The room was very tidy and clean. We would definetely recommend a stay at Knights Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauge N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#47 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#42 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#50 of 55 in Monterey
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Property: Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing