We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfortunately not what we were expecting”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unfortunately not what we were expecting”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Pros: - Location close to highway, shopping centre and Carmel
- Decent price

Cons: - Rooms are not kept in the best condition (broken faucet in shower, old tv with bad reception, microwave didn't work, old bedding, very uncomfortable foam-like extra blanket)
- The outside pool was filthy
- No shower pressure and no hot water in bathroom sink
- Very slow wifi internet
- VERY thin floors. The people below us said they could hear every step we took

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a working microwave and fridge, and make sure you are on the top floor to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    114
    82
    32
    26
See reviews for
57
151
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very polite. Bed is very comfortable! Free breakfast & walking distance next to the shopping center & not far from the aquarium which is where we went. Only bad thing was the air conditioner smelled a LITTLE funky.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrieta, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

About what you would expect for the price. The rooms where kept up, all though beds and blankets were old. The outside of the hotel was quite pleasant, and the free breakfast (cereal, muffins and coffee) was a nice surprise. The only real complaint, was do to the moist seaside air the front doors to each room are badly warped. So in the morning (4am typically), when the seagulls come to sit and scream on your porch, you can hear it very clearly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge, CA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. Price was great and the hotel was very clean. Bathroom was relatively recently updated. It is in a good location and it is a great value. Continental breakfast was provided too. We didn't have any hotel reservations anywhere and this was a great stop.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernon, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Rolled into town late afternoon was able to get a room here. First impressions - very clean, spacious, had microwave, mini fridge and stated that it included breakfast. Is a great location across from the mall and was well cared for. Beds were hard and the breakfast (if you can call it that) was lame. A tiny hallway with cereal and a muffin with no space to eat. Okay in a pinch.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Canada Flintridge, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped by here for one night during our road trip up the California coast. We checked in and were impressed at the size of the room. We had a microwave and a fridge (although the fridge wasn't that cold). The shower also didn't get very hot. The bath wasn't working so we asked the front desk to come help. He didn't speak much English and didn't know what to do about the bath so he just left after looking at it. Then the power went out sometime while we were sleeping so we couldn't charge our phones, use the air conditioner/heater, use Wi-fi, or shower because I couldn't blow dry my hair after. It was also obviously dark in the room. We called the front desk, and they said no problem, but the power never came back. The people were very nice, but not very helpful. I'm so glad that I only stayed for one evening.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I was under the mistaken impression that my room would have a microwave and a refrigerator since I did request it. When I asked I was told there was going to have a fee. didn't like that at all!! . So my review is ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#50 of 56 in Monterey
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#37 of 56 in Monterey
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Park Hotel
Bay Park Hotel
#46 of 56 in Monterey
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Property: Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing