We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean & worked with us on our rates”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Ogden, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very clean & worked with us on our rates”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We originally booked another hotel but got there and hated it. It was gross, not at all like it was pictured and tiny! So we ended up moving to the Knights Inn. It was literally that same night throughout the weekend that we were staying so we spoke with them about what rates they could give us and they also let me look at the room first before I paid so there wasn't another surprise. They came out to almost $400 less for the weekend than they originally quoted! We had the room with the huge Jacuzzi tub in the room and a large king sized bed. It was awesome to have that. Not the best of locations but the last minute hookup and the room makes up for location.

I would recommend this hotel to the budget friendly because if you don't have $400+ dollars to spend a night in Monterrey then this is the only way to ensure cleanliness as well as a great hotel at a good price. Only downfall, not much for breakfast. But wholefoods is literally across the street! Yum

Room Tip: Go for the room with the Jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    114
    82
    32
    26
See reviews for
57
151
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Cordova, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Wow, another site posted that it was a 3 star hotel. It's NOT. Its a 1 star, first they have a 60 day cancellation policy. If you cancel in that time you will be charged for the room. The front desk was helpful and letting me stay after I canceled and got charged for it. On another site it was not clear on the cancellation policy. The AC didn't work. Parking was horrible. The breakfast was a joke. The room at least smelled of bleach when we checked in, but the bed was old and uncomfortable. The sheets were rough and had cigarette burn marks. There was mold in the bathroom along the wall. You could here people walking up the stairs and closing their doors all night. It was not worth the money.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

It was a pay for what you get hotel. The room was clean the bed was comfortable. The minimal breakfast was offered in a dodgy corner room that meant get your coffee and go as only 3 people would fit in at one time. The hotel was located on the highway and across from a shopping centre which had a wonderful whole food market which we had our breakfast at. As we wanted a downstairs room we had to upgrade and Staff told us the better room offered bigger bed flat screen TV, so we paid parked unpacked and TV was not flat screen but a rather older style. TV. I also found this a bit far from the town. I would not stay here again especially if I was stopping for more than one night.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stopped for one night on our road trip on the West Coast. We requested rooms on the upper floor as my friend is a light sleeper and it was no problem at all.
The rooms were airy and clean and the huge bed was comfortable. The TV might have been a little on the older side but it did the job.
The Inn is a about 10mins from Fisherman's Wharf but just across the road from a shopping mall and restaurants.
Breakfast was a buffet served in a very small room...bit of a squeeze when everyone breakfasts at the same time...but it was perfectly adequate; coffee, cereal and pastries. We took ours outside and sat by the pool as it was a beautiful morning.
Couldn't fault our stay...the staff were polite and overall it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Request a room on the top floor if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central illinois
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

It is an older property, but very clean, nice big bed. Nice staff. Breakfast was pretty minimal. Very convenient location to downtown. movies & shopping right across the street. Water pressure was bad, big window in the bathroom didn't have a sturdy lock on it which made me nervous. The price was very good, but definitely not a high end kind of place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Pros: - Location close to highway, shopping centre and Carmel
- Decent price

Cons: - Rooms are not kept in the best condition (broken faucet in shower, old tv with bad reception, microwave didn't work, old bedding, very uncomfortable foam-like extra blanket)
- The outside pool was filthy
- No shower pressure and no hot water in bathroom sink
- Very slow wifi internet
- VERY thin floors. The people below us said they could hear every step we took

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a working microwave and fridge, and make sure you are on the top floor to avoid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Very polite. Bed is very comfortable! Free breakfast & walking distance next to the shopping center & not far from the aquarium which is where we went. Only bad thing was the air conditioner smelled a LITTLE funky.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#50 of 56 in Monterey
41 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#37 of 56 in Monterey
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Park Hotel
Bay Park Hotel
#46 of 56 in Monterey
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Property: Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing