We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bare bones motor inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
A TripAdvisor Member
“bare bones motor inn”
Reviewed 20 February 2006

I stayed in a King room with jet/spa bath. If all you want is somewhere to spend the night - this place will be ok. The room was dreary, several stains on the carpet, old cheap furniture. It was not dirty, it's just clear that the owners threw these rooms together to make a quick buck. If you have to pay more than $60 ish a night (I did) find somewhere else. Oh yes - this is right on busy Munras Ave - traffic noise comes right in to room - but you get use to it.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    113
    82
    32
    25
See reviews for
57
150
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2005

Made reservations over a month before our visit. Upon entering our room, found we were given a king bed instead of 2 doubles as reserved. Showed front desk our printed out confirmation with 2 doubles written on it and clerk just shrugged her shoulders and said there were no other rooms. She did give us a plastic futon/mattress to sleep on the floor---said we could use it "free of charge"...duh. Next, the free internet wasn't working the 2nd & 3rd day of our visit. Per owners..."maybe it'll work tomorrow". Also, our window frame was broken--bent so that it wouldn't stay on the track. anyone could have easily gotten into our room by just pulling on the window. One more thing...big gape between bottom of door & floor----cool night for the person that had to sleep on the floor on the "free" plastic mattress. Yes, the price was good, but not worth the problems.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zxc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2005

Ugh! We hated it here, and you will too. This place is very old and downtrodden, and we can't figure out what they claim has been renovated. The pool was the filthiest we have ever seen. ONe positive about this hotel is it is across the street from a nice shopping mall with lots of stores including a starbucks and chipotles, as well as many restaurants.

Helpful?
1 Thank Whatacountry!
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2005

I stayed at this lovely motel for a night. It is also a Knight's Inn property. The manager, Nick Patel and his wife Vidia, are so gracious and helpful; they allowed me to check in early. The room was spotless, smelled great, seems like recently renovated, gleaming floor tiles in bathroom, carpets very clean, bed and bedding great too. For the $60 I paid, in Monterey, it was a great deal. And that included a breakfast that you go to the lobby for and eat in your room- they even have cafeteria-style trays to carry the stuff. They had coffee, tea, hot cocoa all the time in the lobby. In addition, they had 3 types of cereal in sealed Tupperware (Raisin bran cheerios, oatmeal the day I was there) and fresh cold milk in a sealed pitcher, along with fresh Danish kept in a sealed container also. I would go here again, just a short drive to the Wharf. They also have coupons for Monterey places in the lobby.

  • Stayed August 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beaujoe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2005

My wife and I stayed in the Carmel Hill Lodge for one night whilst touring California on our honeymoon. We used a coupon from roomsaver.com and got a good deal.
The motel was well located just off highway 1 and wasn't at all noisy. The room was one of the largest we stayed in and was spotlessly clean.
We can highly recommend this motel and only wish we had more time in the Monterey area. Dont miss the fabulous 17 mile drive and check out the nearby hotel (within walking distance behind the gas station) for an evening meal.

Helpful?
13 Thank mikenfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
0.2 mi away
Padre Oaks
Padre Oaks
#49 of 55 in Monterey
40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Americas Best Value Presidents Inn on Munras
0.1 mi away
Bay Park Hotel
Bay Park Hotel
#45 of 55 in Monterey
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn Carmel Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn Carmel Hill

Property: Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Address: 1374 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6139 (Formerly Carmel Hill Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Knights Inn Carmel Hill 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Knights Inn Carmel Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Carmel Hill Hotel Monterey
Knights Inn Monterey
Monterey Knights Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing