We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything”
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Small but comfortable. Very clean and bed was comfortable. About four doors down was a party, but they quit about midnight and weren't so overly loud that we wanted to complain. All in all it was a nice place to stay; we'll be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2013

This was all in all a great place to stay. Not far from any attractions. The only problem is that the bed me and my wife slept on was noisy every time we made any movement. They said a new one is coming, but of course, we'll be gone. Otherwise, it was pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on 4th and 5th July. Overall a pleasant stay. The room was well suited to our party of 5. We had a double room and a family room in one suite. The furniture was looking a little tired and only having one toilet was a problem especially as it was in the same room as the shower. Beds were very comfortable and the linen clean and changed daily along with towels. Breakfast was a little disappointing.....very basic and not much space. Both mornings I had to request for milk as the dispenser had run out. Value for money.....I would say average. Next time I would prob look for 2 separate rooms rather than the suite.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank miniman657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here for a noght while visiting the neighboring attractions. The hotel is very basic, but this is what we were looking for. The room and shower were clean and fresh. Breakfast rich and tasty.

The one negative point I have - they did not have a rollaway bed, which meant all three kids had to share one queen bed. Not the end of the world, but you'd expect a hotel to be prepared for such a request.

Still, bottom line - recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watergrinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

this place was fine for a quick stop- room was clean- bed was comfortable- staff was very friendly. It was very close to the airport and other amenities around town. At $69.99 you cant go wrong.
The only complaint was my closet doo rhad been kicked in by someone and had a huge hole on the bottom that no one had repaired.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

The El Castell is a landmark motel in North Monterey. The staff is professional and the room was spotless. Brand new bed and bedding apparently made the rest excellent overall. The disco next door kept me up two out of three nights. The t.v. was good to watch at that time. The pool is a perfect lap pool at a perfect temperature, although no one swept or cleaned around the pool for the 3 days I was there, bandaids, stir sticks, coffee cups, newspapers, and more were around the pool from the night I arrived to the morning I left. The water seemed clean enough and I truly enjoyed it and will return because of it.
The breakfast bar is elaborate for carbohydrate friendly eating habits, otherwise, check out the fine cafes everywhere along the area for a real breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blueskydove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

During our stay we could sleep well, the room was clean and had enough space por 3 people. We stayed in a two queen bed room. Breakfast was good if we compare to other motels and hotels that we had. Unfortunately, like all the places we´ve stayed in, it had carpet on the floor, which I think it is very bad for alergic people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Appeltaart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,087 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
200 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
144 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £48 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing