We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a little family trip”
Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #23 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for a little family trip”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Nothing fancy but we thought it was a great spot for a family - loved the extra twin bed in 219. We didn't know about the fair, but since it was across the street, we went, and it was the highlight of our trip! Great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    323
    174
    46
    33
See reviews for
348
237
30
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice big updated rooms. Good breakfast. Close to the wharf & restaurants(5min drive). Great base of operations for exploring the Monterey area. Hardwood floors were a little dirty, but that was the only negative about the place. Comfortable beds. nice pool for the kids. Lots of European customers that you get to meet at breakfast. Overall a great value for the money.

Room Tip: Double bed room was great with kitchenette. Floors were a little dirty(hardwood,no carpet), which w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookburner451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013 via mobile

Nice big room, clean, staff ok. A little way out of town but only a mile or so. Safeway nearby. Freeway also nearby and I do seem to be getting sensitive to road noise. My wife and son slept through it but I could not.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregg2918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

We were looking for an affordable hotel and found it! The hotel room was clean and huge. Perfect for a family of 4 (including teenagers). The room had 2 queen beds, desk & chair, table with 2 chairs, microwave, refrigerator and a sink separate from the bathroom. As soon as we walked into our room, we decided to stay another night. The hotel has a swimming pool which was covered with an attached open space. The hotel includes a free continental breakfast, which was satisfying, but the area was small. So, we ate back in our room. One downside was that our room was on the end and we could hear the traffic and people talking outside our room. The hotel is in walking distance to several restaurants and a CVS drug store. Also, it is convenient to the Fisherman's Wharf in Monterey, but your need to drive there. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelGirl66-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the services are great.the wifi connecation works fine too. The parking is for free.

We stayed for 2 nights and was all good.

This is probably the best inn you can get in Monterey.

It is close to the wharf, but you will need a car for it, nevertheless there is a Denny's just in front and a liquor store nearby.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GabrielCotrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteca, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very nice and clean. Breakfast area needs to be larger for the amount of guests they serve. The three days during the week we stayed they were very busy. We went for breakfast at 3 different
times and it was busy every day. But it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NammieGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Nice place. Conformable beds, pool is big, deep, nice for kids. Some traffic noise.
But the worst is the breakfast area. 4 tables for that many rooms is ridiculous. The buffet is so tiny you have to queue 15 to 20min to get something. Then hope to find a place to sit. We stayed 2 days, both the same problem despite 1h difference in our schedule. This really needs to be fixed.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dominique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Property: El Castell Motel
Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing