We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

The motel is clean, has decent size bedrooms and has been refurbished a little to make this a pleasant stopover place to stay.
The staff however, couldn't have been less friendly if they tried?! Maybe we caught them on a bad day going by other reviews, but we felt very unwelcome upon arrival.
The breakfast was of a good freebie motel standard, having cereals, waffles, toast and cakes along with coffee and juices.
For the price we paid it was a more than adequate place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pajtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (869)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

566 - 572 of 869 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Nothing better if you're attending an event at the Monterey Fairgrounds (Jazz Festival, etc.). Good sized rooms, clean and convenient; typical motel breakfast with all the amenities. Friendly staff. Rates a bit high, but it was festival weekend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

All was very good for us. Only the breakfast room is a little bit small if some people are arriving at the same time. The items for breakfast are good concerning quality and quantitiy in relation to a lot of other US-Motels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8tripMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Stayed two nights. Room was clean and very quiet. The motel was VERY full, but even with all the people based on the parking lot and the people at breakfast was still quiet.
There was only one luggage holder and when I asked at the front desk for another, the indication was there were no others. I asked if I could then have an extra chair. She said she would bring one, but it never arrived. Breakfast was continental style and just ok.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had booked another motel (Pacific Inn) through booking.com, but when we arrived there, the clerk told us that they were overbooked, and suggested this motel. The clerk also told us that she would call El Castell to let them know we were coming. We were, of course, stunned and called booking.com for their information. Booking.com's policy is that the motel that overbooked us needed to get us another room, and were required to pay the difference in price if there was one. When we got to El Castell, the new clerk had not been called. She did, however, have an available room which was more expensive. Instead of dealing with Pacific Inn, we decided to just pay the extra cost. The room we had, 108, was newly refurbished. It was very clean, even though small. Since we were not spending a great deal of time in our room, this was very nice and comfortable. We apparently were on the side of the motel that was quiet, since some of the reviews said that one side was noisier. The breakfast (cereal and milk, muffins, Belgian waffle, coffee & tea) was adequate. The dining room is small, but very clean. The clerks were also very helpful and nice. For the price we paid per night ( we stayed 2 nights) this was a wonderful. The motel is located in an area where there are many motels. It is not in the central area of Monterey, but just minutes away from the typical tourist areas. There is a pool on the property but we didn't use it.

Room Tip: Check out the reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The hotels on Fremont St. have the reputation of being dumps. And yes, I have been staying at these various dumps for 30 years now. But now, with the upgrades at El Castell Motel - I feel I can walk on the floors and carpet without picking up cooties. The rooms are small but well equipped. I will continue to stay here. The employees are friendly and so a good job of keeping the place clean.

Room Tip: I like the single level building for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbgb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The rooms were quite big and absolutely clean. The bathroom was also bigger than most of our hotels, which was really nice.

The breakfast was the typical American breakfast, which you get in most of the motels. But everything tasted good and there was always a woman who helped and who was refelling the muesli etc.

The only thing that was a bit annoying were the people on the parking lot behind / on the left side
of the hotel. I guess they were guests of the bar next to the motel. If they hadn't been that loud we would have really enjoyed everything.
The beds were also comfortable.

The service on the front desk was really nice and helpful when it comes to directions, suggestions what to do in Monterey.

The El Castell Motel is perfect, not only for couples but also for bigger groups. They have rooms for 6 people and there is still enough space for everything/everybody.


(I didn't use the swimming pool so there isn't anything I can say about.)

Room Tip: The rooms on the right side (next to Casa Verde Way) are definitely more quite than on the left side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Raphaela N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
1.9 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,115 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#25 of 56 in Monterey
217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#36 of 56 in Monterey
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Monterey
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £43 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing