We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AAA Approved”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of El Castell Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Castell Motel
Ranked #25 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Carmichael, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“AAA Approved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

Recently renovated, spacious, for our family of four. We stayed for the indoor pool. Breakfast included waffles, cereal, juices, muffins, milk. Excellent choice for our budget and tastes. We will definitely return here when we come to Monterey.

Room Tip: Rooms have warm heat and made all of the difference during our cold January visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    317
    173
    46
    33
See reviews for
343
234
26
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

The room was really clean and had a wondeful smell. The furniture was new and fancy. The Staff was very frriendly. The breakfast was simple (continental), but enough. It is highly recomended, nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are excelent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielPP1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

This motel was recommended by someone who visits Monterey often. I needed a place for one night and the price was very good, however I was hesitant because it only was only rated with 2 stars. I was pleasantly surprised by the room. We got a room with two queen beds. It was nicer than I thought. The room was well appointed with comfortable beds, a refrigerator, and microwave. It is close to downtown, the wharf, aquarium and beaches ( within 2 to 3 miles). THe motel has an indoor pool. There are restaurants within walking distance and a Safeway a few blocks away.
There was a small free breakfast in the lobby with toast, coffee, cereal and make your own waffles.
I would stay here again and recommend that you give it a try.

Room Tip: We stayed near the lobby and pool. The rooms in the back may be more quiet, but we did not hear any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerryTravels11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

The outside is old but the rooms have been recently renovated. The 2 bedroom room is Gigantic !! kids loved and I would definetely stay there again. Breakfast for sure could be much better but it is ok..

Room Tip: If you are travelling with Kids definetely go for the room with 2 bedrooms.. Kids will enjoy the q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djalmabritto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
156 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed here two nights and glad we did based on what others have said. Good price, clean, roomy, newish without that well-used feel. Location is fine as Monterey is not big. Don't expect sea views for the price, but you can get to that in about 5 minutes by car. Included is good wifi and breakfast (it can get crowded and there is a wait for waffles and maybe a table but all good). Also, there was coffee making in the room. No kettle and disposable cups provided. Service was very efficient and their use of technology is good. Why not a 5 star? Nothings perfect, so a few cracked tiles, very tight parking are minor points off.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eudele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody, Wyoming
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This newly remodeled/painted room was pretty and very clean with TONS of outlets! Room included a fridge, coffee maker, microwave, and TV. WiFi worked well. The front desk was very helpful and friendly - ready to oblige. Our pillows were too fluffy (we prefer flatter ones) and they happily exchanged them. The bed was comfortable - a slightly hard pillow-top - and a nice, soft and warm blanket was available. Towels were standard budget towels. The room was quiet but you could occasionally hear planes flying over (near airport?) and Sunday night a band was playing nearby but not audible on Monday night. The energy-efficient toilet and shower didn't have much water pressure, but plenty of hot water. No clock or phone in room but most of us have cell phones anyway. Toilet/shower in one room but tight squeeze to sink in main room. Laundry facilities onsite: $3 to wash, $3 to dry. Breakfast included waffles (hubby's favorite), 3 cereals, pastries, coffee, hot water, milk, 2 juices.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coppergirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travel by roadtrip a lot on vacations so we've stayed at a lot of different hotels and motels. when we felt tired from driving we booked our room here 30 mins before checking in through Expedia and really were just going by reviews we read online. We just needed a place to sleep overnight and we were really impressed by the cleanliness of the rooms! Yes the sink faucet was a little leaky and you might hear dull and muffled sounds of your neighbor's footsteps or whatever but it's not at all horrible like some of the reviews make it seem. The beds were CLEAN, the shower was well-maintained and CLEAN. There's an indoor pool which will probably be used best during the hottest months, not fall or winter season. People forget it's not a 5 star hotel but for the price, this place beats some 5 star places i've stayed at before. The service at the desk was very friendly, told me everything I needed to know aboutthe amenities upon checkin in. We arrived at 9:30 pm and the neighborhood was quiet and dark, maybe not like Beverly hills but hey, if you're smart enough you wouldn't be walking around in the dark of the night by yourself anywhere unless your at a secluded resort! Duh! Plus monterey would only be beautiful to see during the day so why go out in the street at night? We got our room for $50 for one night and for me, we totally got our money's worth!! We will be back here again for sure and maybe stay longer!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsjbala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
1.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
Pacific Inn Monterey
Pacific Inn Monterey
#28 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Castell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Castell Motel

Property: El Castell Motel
Address: 2102 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5294
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — El Castell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is conveniently located minutes from all the major attractions of Monterey such as the Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, 17 mile drive, Cannery Row and Carmel. We have several room types that range from 1 Queen/King bed to 1 bedroom suites with 3 beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Castell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Castell Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing