We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!! Bedbugs!!”
Review of Casa Verde Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Verde Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware!! Bedbugs!!”
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Eww, is all i can say.. Before going to bed i grabbed a flashlight and checked the bed. Omg, Bedbugs everwhere running.. Large larve on the sides of the matresses..
Nasty.. Stay away!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trowe23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    10
    14
    7
    19
See reviews for
15
18
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

looked for a last minute place to stay. Would not recommend this place to anyone. The front desk staff was nice. however, can't say that about the foul smelling room. The sheets and tub and toilet were clean, the carpet filthy. There were signs of wear and tear everywhere. There was a very noisy group of men staying there and we were kept awake until after 2am. at $95 a night, I will be happy to spend more and go elsewhere next time I visit the area. lesson learned..We were also surprised to find out there is no wi-fi here. it's a norm for this day and age.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadtripper48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Lafayette, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2011

If you are financially strapped then that may be the only excuse to stay at this hotel. It is filthy and falling apart. All night long people were yelling and banging against the walls. The second night there were police everywhere. THINK VERY CLEARLY BEFORE RESERVING A ROOM HERE.

ps: They have nice flowers outside the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devinfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

We had read reviews in 2007 of a bed bug problem but was assured that it was long in the past. Woke up today to a bug crawling on my boyfriend's neck when he went into the bathroom and then discovered two more under the mattress. Luckily we were checking out that day but to all those potential future guests, I highly recommend that you find other accommodations.

There are other complaints that I could mention but really, what else needs to be said after listing bed bugs as the primary complaint?

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanDiegoSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

I've stayed here many times before, and have always had a comfortable stay. It's not fancy, but I have what I need, the location is perfect for doing business on the Monterey Peninsula, and I leave well rested. Any problems? The Management fixes any difficulties at once. A terrific value, something you normally don't find in Monterey.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffn03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2010

If you need a place to sleep and shower, and you're rooming alone and on a budget, then it is fine. Bathroom door did not have a handle. Rooms rather old and dimly lite. Some stained towels. Kinda gross to be honest, wouldn't recommend it to a friend, but luckily it was just for one night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sic92009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folsom, CA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Don't expect the Hilton, this is closer to Motel 6. If you just need a place to sleep at night, this place is fine. If you're looking to be pampered, this isn't where you should stay. It is NOT my intention to trash this place. Everyone needs to make a living, right? Please take what I say into consideration before you decide to book a room at the Casa Verde.

Good stuff - cheap, 5 minutes from airport, walking distance to food, queen sized beds available (doubles are too small for my family), free parking, near grocery store

Bad stuff - room wasn't super clean, not all electrical outlets were up to code, no ventilation in bathroom, our window had a pane that was cracked, pamphlets in office were outdated (ie - prices were not correct)

Interesting stuff - VHS player in my room, porn theater/shop across the street, VERY close to Seaside, WiFi was from a different hotel

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliJoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,035 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Monterey - Fremont Street
0.1 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#23 of 56 in Monterey
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
690 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#34 of 56 in Monterey
404 reviews
0.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Travelodge
Monterey Bay Travelodge
#38 of 56 in Monterey
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Verde Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Verde Inn

Property: Casa Verde Inn
Address: 2113 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Verde Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Casa Verde Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Verde Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing