We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insanely Lovely”
Review of Old Monterey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Monterey Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Monterey B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2012

My stay here was beyond lovely! I was treated exceptionally well, and I've never had more comfortable and relaxing accommodations away from home. I stayed at the Tattershall during the first week of December so the Christmas decor added to the ambiance. The 'lobby' area was so relaxing: the warm fire, the jazzy classical Christmas music and the wine and hors d'oeuvres served late afternoon was perfection and provided the right closure to the day.

Breakfast was very delicious and abundant- guests could dine in the dining room with the other guests or guests could opt to have it delivered to their room. Please take note that as of this writing, breakfast is vegetarian due to the size of the inn (gov't regulations)...but don't panic!! Vegetarian does not mean they serve tofu and oatmeal. Breakfast is high-end and extremely fresh and local (delicate parfaits, chocolate croissants, baked eggs, cheese blintzes, etc) and is a crowd-pleaser. The menu is displayed the night before at the reception table.

The amenities were beyond what I expected: lush toiletries, abundant snacks, hot water for tea available during practically all times, robes and slippers and even spa treatments you could choose from and other packages for couples.

Attention to detail is taken quite seriously. Every effort was made to make sure that I was comfortable and that any reservations/excursions/outings were accommodated since their reputation in the area means they are able to offer their guests a little more exclusivity.

The location is in a very residential neighborhood so it was very quiet at night!

Room Tip: My preference is off-season for any trip. I practically had the whole inn to myself and was given a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (549)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 549 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2012

My husband and I were given a generous gift certificate for this lovely place and used it in late August of this year. As others have noted, and we totally concur, everything from the room to the food to grounds was absolutely perfect!! We were very impressed with the type of care that went into everything, very unusual these days with the pervasive "do-it-yourself" mentality. Our stay was very restful and pleasant. It was heartwarming also to meet others at the breakfast table and get to know them, not by email or even cell phones but by actually talking to them. That's the type of atmosphere you find there. Don't forget to walk around the area, it is beautiful and you might just see a deer or two!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Just spent another memorable weekend at the "Inn". Each visit we are impressed with the rooms, the staff and the food. Every room is unique and tells its own story. The grounds are magical, peaceful and serene. The weather has been perfect for each visit. Try to take in as many sites as you can the scenery is spetacular.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My husband and I recently celebrated our 33rd anniversary at the Old Monterey Inn. We spent one night in the Library Suite and two in the Ashford Suite which has a lovely sitting room. There is every attention to detail at this property down to the champagne for our anniversary that welcomed us to our room. The innkeepers, Katy and Larry are the consummate hosts. Katy serves the most delicious gourmet breakfasts.Yummy cookies will greet you in the afternoon when you return from a day of shopping, sightseeing, etc. Wine and light appetizers are served in the evening. The Inn had wonderful little note cards with directions printed on them for local restaurants, shopping and sightseeing. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable with regard to restaurant reservations, directions and any thing you needed help with. A nice extra touch is a refrigerator for the guests that is stocked with juices, soda, yogurt and waters. You can also buy a discounted VIP ticket to the Monterey Aquarium at the front desk. I would return again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovetogoLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed at the Old Monterey Inn on October 4th for one night in the Mayfield suite and it was lovely. The house and gardens are beautiful, the staff was extremely courteous and breakfast a taste treat! I would return here without hesitation for a longer stay,

Room Tip: Mayfield Suite has a fantastic whirlpool tub for two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cat_and_Rob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I have traveled for 30 years for my business, and this is the first time I've written a review - From the moment you check in you know you've found a special place. The owners are gracious and welcoming, the staff is very attentive, and the surroundings are incredibly lovely and peaceful.
It is truly a gem in the heart of Monterey.
Jean W

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jwhiteaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

On a recent trip to California, my husband and I had the pleasure to stay at the Old Monterey Inn for three glorious nights. The Bed and Breakfast is set in an historic and charming mansion amid beautiful gardens. We stayed in the Mayfield Suite which was quite spacious with a two-person jacuzzi both romantic and relaxing. The bath products were Aveda which are of a high quality and the bed was heavenly. I actually bought some of the lavender and lemon soaps to use at home. We had breakfast ate in the dining room one morning and had breakfast in our room for the remaining two. I would recommend the breakfast in your room, it is a special treat! The breakfast were delicious the egg strata, french toast, berry cobbler to name a few and the presentation was impeccable with sterling silver creamer and sugar bowls. It helped to begin a day of sightseeing/hiking. A nice touch is the availability of soda, yogurt and water in a help yourself refrigerator near your room. The nightly wine and cheese gave you an opportunity to sample local wines as you chat with fellow guests about the day's activities. The staff were knowledgeable about restaurants and other places of interest and willing to provide directions and maps to assist you. You can't go wrong with this romantic inn!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Momski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.5 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,001 reviews
1.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,641 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,499 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Monterey Inn

Address: 500 Martin St, Monterey, CA 93940-4491
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monterey
Price Range: £184 - £353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Monterey Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover the most romantic bed and breakfast in Monterey, CA. Our Monterey B&B features luxurious rooms and suites with comfy beds, fireplaces and spa tubs. Enjoy a delicious gourmet vegetarian breakfast or stroll the breathtaking gardens of our Monterey luxury inn. A peaceful and secluded atmosphere only minutes to everything in downtown Monterey. Experience what true luxury and comfort can be at our unforgettable Monterey bed and breakfast, a Select Registry property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Old Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Monterey Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing