We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Park Crest Inn
Ranked #19 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“nice and clean”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

we stayed here for 1 night with 3 kids.hotel was clean and nice. great area, not far from the bay aquarrium. although beds could be a little better and water pressure in the shower needs a bust...
breakfast was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Gil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for taking time and reviewed our hotel. We are happy to hear that you had pleasant stay with us. We are committed to provide excellent service to our guest. Hope to see you in near future again.
Thanks,
Sanjay Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    245
    137
    33
    14
See reviews for
235
225
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Keep in mind I'm a fan of Best Westerns. I just don't think this one lives up to the name. We walked into the room to find large black stains on the carpet. We didn't feel comfortable being barefoot the rest of the time we were there because of it. But I wasn't going to complain. And then the lamp didn't work. In the adjoining room where my Father and his wife were staying, their smoke alarm battery started beeping the first five minutes we were there. So we had to wait for batteries, he finally went to get them, and put them in himself. Then around 10pm that night, the power went out in the entire hotel. The manager said it was only out for 45 min, but it seemed at least an hour and a 1/2 if not more. She said it was due to the heavy rain, and it hadn't happened for two years before then. The problem is we're night owls. Going to bed before 11pm on a Sat. because the power is out and our phones are almost dead and we can't charge them...was not how I wanted to spend our weekend getaway. No games, no t.v., no phones, no lights. It took long enough for us to decide to go to bed as we had no other choice. The next day, I heard another employee tell a guest that the power goes out every time they have heavy rain. I was upset to hear this, because it was no longer an unforeseen issue that isn't anyones fault. It seems to be a known issue that Best Western and/or management are not taking care of to make sure it doesn't happen again. So after all this I talked to the manager about some kind of compensation. She ended up giving me 10% off the room. It was at least something to acknowledge our terrible stay. But, she had an excuse for EVERYTHING. I felt like I was arguing with a friend or family member (as far as her unprofessionalism.) With the stains she said I should have said something as soon as I checked in and she would have moved us to another room. I told her would it still have been a connecting room to my family? She said no it would have been a couple rooms over, but they don't guarantee connecting rooms anyway. Shouldn't my room be perfect as soon as I walk in? They shouldn't have to move me! And the lamp was just unplugged...but I had pulled the nightstand out and just couldn't tell that was the case. But she blamed us! She said when her ladies leave the room they check EVERYTHING. That we must have done it when we sat on the bed. Even though turning the lights on was obviously the first thing we did before laying on the beds. As far as the power outage she said it wasn't out for that long, didn't seem to care we had to go to bed early and had no t.v., and said the other girl "hasn't been here for that long, I've been here for nine years" and the power never goes out. Ok...why did the other girl say it does? She also said, "The power going out can happen anywhere, it can happen at home." But my point was, we weren't home, we were paying $109 to be there, and at lease at home we would be prepared for a power outage. They had 4 lanterns and other than that were totally unprepared and had nothing to offer that night besides "People should be in bed this late anyways." Also, on the way out of the room the next day, a huge pile of clothes dropped down right next to us from the 2nd floor into a bin. The cleaning lady should look to make sure no one is near her basket when she's tossing bedding in. It could have landed on us but it certainly startled us. And why was she throwing bedding over a balcony anyways?! Besides the manager the other girl was professional and friendly. And the breakfast was pretty good. Other than that, definitely won't stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drea3081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our establishment. We apologize for any inconvenience. We will definitely take your comments very seriously and make sure we can provide better accommodation for our future guest. I hope you will give us chance in future to prove ourselves.
Sincerely
Sanjay Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loomis, California, Usa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

I have stayed in various pricey hotels in Carmel and Monterey and the Park Crest Inn by far was the best value. Its centrally located, clean, modern and not over priced. I would recommend this hotel to my friend and family.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We are happy to hear that you had pleasant stay with us. Thank you for taking time to review our establishment. We hope to see you in near future.
Thanks,
Sanjay Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We arrived on Friday night so that we could go whales watching on Saturday morning. We arrived and were checked in by very helpful staff. Room was clean and inviting. The king bed mattress (room 160) was comfortable on my wife's side on the bed, but my side the mattress seemed to be broken down. Still with that being the only problem, which I did not report to the office, our stay was enjoyable and would return again for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Randy6272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkcrestInnGM, General Manager at Best Western Park Crest Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
We appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel. We took your comments seriously and try to improve, so our future guest will have pleasant stay. Once again thank you and hope to see you in future.
Thanks,
Sanjay Patel
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qualicum Beach
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We were tourists in the area and found this hotel to be the perfect location to do many day trips in the surrounding area. The hotel is clean and well managed with great rates for seniors.
We booked ahead 2 nites on the internet with a great rate for the area and stayed 3 more nites with the same price honoured for the next 3 nites. That was a nice gesture. Breakfast includes fresh fruit, boiled eggs, yogurt, cereal, an assortment of breads and an automated pancake machine that we found amusing. There was plenty to choose from. We highly recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Choose a quiet room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I picked this hotel because of it's location. We are needed to be near the hospital for some medical care. The hotel was clean, our room was comfortable and roomy. We asked for a quiet room. We were on the back, 2nd floor. It overlooks a tree covered hillside. Except for the garbage truck coming early, it was quiet. You could hear the person above us on the third floor. When he sneezed, walked and got into bed. I'd stay in this hotel again, but would ask for the third floor, to avoid that noise. Breakfast was fair. Eggs rubbery, bacon paper thin, bananas were perfect and the bagels looked fresh. The hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. We hope to stay again soon, and hope for a third floor room. The breakfast room opens at 7:00. I think an earlier open time would be great.

Room Tip: Liked I noted before, ask for a room on the third floor, if you want quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchLinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powell River, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

It's always a pleasure. Staff very friendly, good location, spacious rooms and very reasonable rates, the best rates of our whole trip in the western US states. We always stop there on our travels, close to the wharf.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, some rooms at the front have a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyOpini0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
2.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Park Crest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Park Crest Inn

Property: Best Western Park Crest Inn
Address: 1100 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-4514
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Monterey
#17 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Park Crest Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Park Crest Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Park Crest Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing