We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Very Nice Place”
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
212 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very Very Nice Place”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This was a great place. The hotel was very clean and comfortable. We had not complants. The room was spacious. We felt very at home. Would come back again. The front desk was very helpful. We were traveling for both business and personal.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starlet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    85
    64
    41
    27
See reviews for
94
79
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for a getaway to Monterey. The hotel was in a good location right off the highway, and within several miles of the pier, and the 17 mile drive. We were not happy with our original room, which for some reason was a "single", when we requested a queen size bed for 2 people. The room was so cramped! We had already unloaded all our luggage, and had to go down to request another room. They did give us a larger "upgraded" room, which looked exactly the same but was much larger. They had told us they'd only be able to give it to us for that night, but my husband talked to them and they let us stay there for the next 2 nights of our stay as well. The bathroom was handicap accessible and large. The bed was about the same size though. The room did not have an inviting feeling, since one of the walls looks like a jail cell with the block wall. We enjoyed using the spa, which is pretty secluded. We had a hard time finding it! There was a bit of noise, but it is next to a freeway. There is also a strange older man that works behind the front desk. My hubby walked over to the restaurant/bar area to check it out (it was closed at this time) and he told him he couldn't go in there because he might be "from the health department". We had a good laugh about that later. I would probably not stay here again.

Room Tip: This place is kind of set up like an apartment building, so there are large sliding door windows whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drea1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2011

this hotel needs an overhaul...dirty dank carpets in the room, urine odors everywhere, cell block appearance to all the rooms, dingy dark and grotty hallways to the rooms (we were down stairs), and SUPER LOUD...from constant freeway noise and old plumbing....i know it is expensive here, but i will pay the extra 50/100 or whatever it is next time....this bedspread on my bed is disgusting....EWWwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

We spent one night at the BPH and it was fine. The staff were very good and helped us out with our onward travel but the room, although large, was nothing special.
The restaurant is very good. They talk a lot about their salad bar but it really is worth eating there for this as well as some reasonable proced main meals too.
Had a pretty quiet nights sleep considering the size and location. Not somewhere to stay for a long time but fine if you need a bed for the night.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StefRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We had a nice room in Building 3 on 3rd floor. We asked for a key to see the room (it was the last one they had) and they happily obliged. We were very impressed and they brought in a roll away at 10pm that night for our daughter! One of the cleanest and quietest stays we had in a while. Would stay here again and you cant beat the price in expensive Monterey. Total fluke finding it online late at night, but so glad we did!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandkathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My family and I stayed here despite the poor reviews. Upon entering the room, I found it "nice", the decor was ok and it had a flat screen TV which I figured was a step above what I had read. After further inspection, I found a dead fly on the curtain and the bathroom did smell like urine. (as noted in previous reviews). When laying down, I could also smell a pine-sol and urine smell coming from the carpet. I know how expensive it can be in Monterey but next time I will be willing to spend a little extra cash on a room.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cemcemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2011

My wife and I spent one night at the BPH.

Check in staff were friendly and helpful.

We had a standard room on the 3rd floor in building 4. Room was a little dated and small, however it was comfy enough to make it feel spacious. Bed was good, had a good selection of channels on TV and there was complimentary Wi Fi internet. The bathroom was clean and tidy.

Parking is also complimentary.

We didn't use the gym but one is available. There is also a nice pool and spa area.

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the BPH and would happily return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jbg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#46 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#32 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#43 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Property: Bay Park Hotel
Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing