We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place”
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Milwaukie, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nice Place”
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Great staff, very comfortable,Good access next to highway

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrandpaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    94
    67
    45
    28
See reviews for
103
87
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel is situated at the intersection of two major roads and faces the back of a gas station. Not a promising start. Our room was adequately furnished, although it really should have been re-decorated or even just spruced up a while back. The bed was not easy to get in to one side as it was nearly smack against the wall. Unnecessary as the room was of a good size and with a little imagination the bed could have been repositioned. On the plus side the receptionist, Angela, was cheerful and very helpful and the restaurant offered a good breakfast at a reasonable price. In the unlikely event we ever travel to Monterey again we will not be staying in the Bay Park.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

San Francisco, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My 1st visit to Monterey in several years and my 1st since I developed limited mobility due to MS. I rely on a scooter and a 4-wheeled walker, alternately. I have stayed at many motels/hotels that claim to have "handicapped accessible" rooms, but theirs are just one of 2 that truly do! Ours was a well thought-out room for someone with "special needs"! There really isn't anything the designers didn't think of, including the peek-hole in the door at the level one woud need from a wheelchair as well as one at normal height.The walk-in (or roll-in) shower with bench is great! All the rest of our accommodations were only excellent--helpful and pleasant personnel, immaculate rooms, very good restaurant. We'll surely say there again on our next trip to Monterey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

My husband and I just returned from a one-night stay at this hotel. Our friends were also guests in an accessible room the same night. We found the rooms very clean and very comfortable and in a perfect location. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our friends were more-than-impressed with the accessible room and its features. We had no complaints whatsoever and would most definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We stayed here two nights while attending the Sea Otter Classic held at Laguana Seca Raceway which is about 15 min away. It's EZ on and off for HWY 1. The hotel is clean, our room could have been upgraded and was very basic. It could have used a painting, the walls were smudged with something like black scuff marks, the beds were ok, nothing to rave about. If you are looking for a hotel that is close to the wharf then this may suit your needs. The hotel has outer hallways and at times a little noisey, and we were right over the spa. The staff was very friendly and it is across from a large mall within walking distance. There are places to eat and shop and a movie theater. The wharf is driving distance about 5 minutes, kind of a long walk be doable. Overall I might stay here again, but there are a number of hotels going towards the wharf on Munars Ave so you may want to check on those, We used AAA rates so that may be something you're interested in. Be advised there were not enough plugs for our electronics. The one that was there looked like the plug from "A Christmas Story", we had to unplug the coffee maker and DVD player to charge our phones.

Room Tip: Building number 2, this hotel is on a hill so its tri-level
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa cruz, ca
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Exceptional service and housekeeping staff- called once for extra pillows and they were brought up immediately, called another time for an extra blanket and they brought up *two* immediately (other motels often give me hassles with extra pillows). The hotel extended a late checkout to us with no hesitation, even though checkout was on a Saturday. The pool and very large hot tub were excellent, and fitness center was decent (although nearly hidden in a labyrinthine corridor without any directional signage, my only complaint).

Very convenient location (right next to Del Monte shopping center and freeway and close to downtown too). Room was comfortable with large flat screen tv, fridge, and DVD player too! Bed was quite comfortable. They have free snacks each evening in the bar. The hotel is right on a busy street so if you are sensitive to traffic noise in the early morning, it might be an issue for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aurabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My wife and I took our two small children to the area from San Diego for a wedding in Carmel. We looked at a lot of other hotels in this price range but settled on this one for the location. While it is not a plush resort, we felt like it was a great value and relatively close to all that Monterey and Carmel By The Sea have to offer. The other hotels in the area were generally far more expensive and did not appear to be more spectacular in any way.

The staff was extremely friendly and the location was perfect. The room was nice and comfortable for all for of us. The 32" flat screen TV was a nice touch and everything in the room was newer and clean.

Other things that we appreciated were the pool, hot tub, free DSL and the salad bar at the restaurant in the hotel There is a gas station and convenience store nearby which was handy and the Del Monte Center mall is a block away with a movie theater, Starbucks and plenty of stores and services.

Bottom line is this is not a Hyatt or a Hilton, but we did not expect much luxury for the price, so we felt it was a great value for the area and we would definitely stay there again.

Some of the criticism of the Bay Park Hotel cracks me up. If you want the Hyatt or Hilton, next time, cough up another couple of hundred bills per night and stay there.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sdjase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 56 in Monterey
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 56 in Monterey
781 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#54 of 56 in Monterey
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Property: Bay Park Hotel
Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing