We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent...”
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We opened the door and it was clean but felt like we walked into a Mad Men episode - very 60s decor - the bedspread, the cottage cheese ceiling... But it did have a few modern amenities - iPod clock radio, flat screen with cable and free wifi. The location is okay - kinda near trees and is clean and conveniently near a mall ( in case you forget your long sleeve clothing in the 50 degree weather) and pretty close to downtown and Cannery Row. It was also a little musty smelling.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank REA312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
There are newer reviews for Bay Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2012

This hotel needs a lot of upgrades. For $160 it was not worth the price at all. The walls are paper thin, we defiantly did not get a good night sleep..Also our room smelled like mold, i think the rooms could have been cleaner. The staff was nice and friendly that is the only reason why I would even give this hotel 2 stars. The restaurant down stairs was also over priced. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I sent my daughter and her family on a vacation to Monterey, CA and booked the Bay Park Hotel. After being in their room for a few minutes, my daughter had trouble breathing ... She has severe allergies. She left the hotel and drove away to make sure it was the room. After a few minutes she was feeling much better. So, she and her family went back to the office to explain what had happened. They immediately put them in a different room. They have also decided not to rent the first room to anyone until it is thoroughly checked out for mold or other allergens. I was very pleasantly surprised to find the hotel so accommodating. I would definitely book there again. Great customer service!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0semary47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed here with my family for one night. The room was nice and it was clean. The stay was pretty short so I didn't have time to sample too much. The staff is courteous and helpful. The hotel is pretty basic but quite good if your stay is short. The carpeting in the hallways is not extremely clean, and the in-house restaurant closes very early! Aside from that, we had a good stay and we won't mind coming back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SiddharthK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2012

Great staff, very comfortable,Good access next to highway

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrandpaWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The hotel is situated at the intersection of two major roads and faces the back of a gas station. Not a promising start. Our room was adequately furnished, although it really should have been re-decorated or even just spruced up a while back. The bed was not easy to get in to one side as it was nearly smack against the wall. Unnecessary as the room was of a good size and with a little imagination the bed could have been repositioned. On the plus side the receptionist, Angela, was cheerful and very helpful and the restaurant offered a good breakfast at a reasonable price. In the unlikely event we ever travel to Monterey again we will not be staying in the Bay Park.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 52Asher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

My 1st visit to Monterey in several years and my 1st since I developed limited mobility due to MS. I rely on a scooter and a 4-wheeled walker, alternately. I have stayed at many motels/hotels that claim to have "handicapped accessible" rooms, but theirs are just one of 2 that truly do! Ours was a well thought-out room for someone with "special needs"! There really isn't anything the designers didn't think of, including the peek-hole in the door at the level one woud need from a wheelchair as well as one at normal height.The walk-in (or roll-in) shower with bench is great! All the rest of our accommodations were only excellent--helpful and pleasant personnel, immaculate rooms, very good restaurant. We'll surely say there again on our next trip to Monterey.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 56 in Monterey
787 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#48 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £77 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing