We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2008

I usually travel to Monterey often on business year round. During the summer it's difficult to find a hotel or inn with prices under $250. For $129 a night (during July is a great deal), this hotel provides a lot of ammenities. My room was clean and comfortable. I had free wireless internet service, DVD and flat screen TV. The hotel has a exercise room, pool and hot tub. It was also nice to have a restaurant on site, (great salad bar). Staff was very nice and accomodating. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Convenience for Business
  • Disliked — It took a while to get a internet connection
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank butch2Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    78
    64
    39
    27
See reviews for
90
76
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
80 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2007

We were in Monterey for a the Big Sur half marathon which draws a lot of people and so the local hotels seem to cost more on that weekend. Even the 2 star hotels are charging $150 or more a night. So I was excited to go online and find a so-called 3-star hotel, The Bay Park for $140 per night. To me, a 3 star hotel is very nice. When we arrived, I knew we were in for a disappointment before we even entered our room. The outside of the hotel seemed old and a little run down. When we entered our room, it was like stepping back to 1978. The bathroom fixtures were old, the shower tile was old, the furniture was old, the carpet was old, the walls were old, even the television was old. The room was clean enough but it would be nice if they could freshen up this old timer of a hotel. The room we chose had two very uncomfortable beds to accommodate 4 people and yet the bathroom only had two towels and one small bar of soap. Another disappointment was no free breakfast... something we got at a cheaper hotel down the street (Quality Inn). The only positive things I can say about the hotel is that the rooms have a mini refrigerator and the staff at the front desk are friendly. The bottom line is that this hotel should be considered a 1-star hotel, maybe a 2-star if they freshen it up a bit. But its far from being 3 stars.

Let me finish by pointing out something that symbolized the dated look and feel of this hotel. Just outside the hotel restaurant, was a plaque on the wall. On the plaque was a glass salad plate. The plaque was an award given to the restaurant for best salad bar. The award was given by the Iceberg Lettuce Foundation (or something like that) in the year... 1980.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff and location
  • Disliked — Too expensive for old hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

jcu165
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2007

The room we had was not cleaned well and was infested with mold and mildew..The bed was worn out and the bathroom was just nasty..My wife went to Monterey for a relaxing weekend and this motel was told to be nice by some locals we know..Next time I will stay in the in Pacific Grove.For over $100.00 a night this place is a rip off...

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jcu165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

We were very disappointed with our stay at the Bay Park. Although the price was consistent with other lower-end hotels in the area, the rooms can only be described as sparse. Ours had bugs in it and hadn't been thoroughly cleaned from the previous guests. There is no insulation, so noise is a serious problem and rooms on the ends of the buildings have exposed cinderblock. The decor in the hotel does not appear to have been updated since the 1970s. Overall, we could have found a nicer and cleaner room for the same price.

One positive thing to say about the Bay Park is that the staff were quite friendly and helpful despite the problems with the facilities. Our breakfast server was very friendly, and the breakfast was well-prepared and quick.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Shad613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2007

Because we travel with a dog, we have a much more limited selection of hotels. When we find one that we would actually be pleased to stay in without a dog, it is a keeper. That was the case with the Bay Park. The accommodations were clean and relatively current. The staff was extremely helpful. The location is convenient, and since our room faced away from the freeway, the noise was not a problem. The bonus was the restaurant. The food was reasonable and very well prepared and presented. The service was excellent. Because we had an early tee-time we also ate breakfast there and it was fast, reasonable and good.

  • Liked — Clean & convenient
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2006

It's a great place to stay. It was the best inexpensive hotel I've stayed so far. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was not furnished amazingly but it was very clean. Breakfast and dinner was great for the price you pay. Such a cozy and friendly atmosphere and you feel like home. Don't expect 5 star hotel luxury at Bay Park, but I'm sure you'll be taken care of. Great for Skip Barber students, very convinient to get to the Mazda Race track.

  • Liked — Cozy Atmosphere and staff treatment
  • Disliked — Bed covers
  • Tips/Secrets — if you are not going to spend too much time at the hotel, this is one of thebest options. Inexpensive and convenient.
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2006

We got a late start making reservations, and ended up with this as our only option. I wish we'd have stayed in another hotel - or another town. It was AWFUL.

First, watch out for the "end of the building" - it is directly adjacent to the highway. We heard trucks & loud cars go by for most of the night, and couldn't sleep.

The rooms are older, worn, and have no character. In most other Monterrey hotels, you'd get a lot of style at this price. I overheard another person at the front desk say they thought the rooms were overpriced - but he was in the same predicament we were - no options.

The toilets also have a power suction that sounded like a torpedo. This was OK in our room, but we got to hear the room above us, and to the side of them, also. The shower has painfully slow pressure.

I could go on - but I'll spare you the text. The people at the front desk were nice, however.

Bottom line - if you're reading this, you've got options, so choose another hotel! If my wife and I were in this situation again, and Monterrey was booked, we would go to Seaside or "Carmel Valley".

  • Liked — we only had to stay one night -
  • Disliked — highway traffic, price, room
  • Tips/Secrets — avoid this if possible - stay in other area if Monterrey booked
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnW-Davis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#30 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#46 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#41 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Property: Bay Park Hotel
Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing