We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value”
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
netivot
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent value”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Read a lot of reviews for this hotel mentioning its value for money and cleanliness so decided to try it. Cant fault anything but the "gym". From the very friendly receptionist to the spotless rooms and the excellent value for money, we were given the "Fall" rate which including tax came to $79.59. Breakfast is not included but they have a wonderful salad bar where you can enjoy a cooked breakfast and an evening meal for $10 a person. The only thing I didnt like was the gym which only had one treadmill and looked a little dingy with a previous leak in the ceiling leaving a nasty mark. There is also a very nice bar on the property although we didnt use it. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leanneNetivot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review of your stay at Bay Park Hotel on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We're glad that you found our amenities and the friendliness of our staff to be of real benefit for your travels. We are very thankful you shared this with us and with others. We hope to see you again the next time around in beautiful Monterey, CA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    85
    64
    41
    27
See reviews for
94
79
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The room is clean and the bed is new and comfortable. The front desk is very friendly and helpful. The bath room was recently remodeled. The TV channels are very limited(I only found one working). I always use the chain hotels when we travel. This is my first time to try the local one. It worked very well for overnight stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summer620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Thank you for sharing your great experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return in the future!

Best Regards, Andrea Chavez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We chose this hotel because we had a boat in tow and they seemed to have the biggest parking lot. We did find a spot in the lot and that was lucky though I dont think this would have been the case in high season.
This hotel was not bad at all for the money. They had a restaurant with decent salad bar big enough to qualify for dinner. Which was great because it was not easy driving around town with a boat. Breakfast was not bad either, though not free by any means. Served and cooked by the same guy.
The other reason we chose this hotel was because they were pet friendly. The one bad side of the whole deal was we didn't know that there was a $30.00 charge for our tiny Chihuahua which was not mentioned anywhere until we had paid and arrived at the desk. We thought this charge was excessive so if you are going to Monterey with a pet you might want to call around first. the good value room turned into top dollar with the addition of a pet.

Room Tip: If you have a pet call around other places as they charge $30.00 extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baywood Park, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

All the charm of a cellblock. Noisy (hydraulic metal doors slamming - cinder block halls - thin walls - loud guests - partying in parking lot - housecleaning on walkies-talkies in AM ) shares parking lot with service station under renovation (charming view) - hotel could use it more. two stars only for ease of location to both Carmel & Monterey, but not much in immediate vicinity & staff seemed 'earnest' if not overwhelmed. Sorry but too many other options in the area.

Room Tip: ,,,,try another facility
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gary k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Monterey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Nightmare. Minimal assistance from front desk. No bellman or bag boy. Sensor keys out dated to doors, room OLD, COLD and barely functioning. Had to call maintenance guy TWICE (i stayed less than 24 hours) my heater broken, he brought me a plug in! 49 degrees that night. Toilet did not flush, tub water did not drain. I called for late check out, they offered a big one hour without charge, wth? Paper thin walls, right next to freeway on ramp. I heard every door close, people walking stairs & talking all night! My room was in no condition to be booked at all! They should have paid me to stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed overnight as part of a Starline tour and was pleasantly surprised at the value for money and the great food served in the restaurant on site called the Crazy Horse. The hotel bed was very was comfortable and the Service friendly .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing your experience with us on your recent stay at Bay Park Hotel. We are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We're glad that you found our services and amenities to be of real benefit for your travels. We are very thankful you shared this with us and with others. We look forward to your next visit in beautiful Monterey, CA.


Sincerely,

Andrea C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Think thickly painted cinder block walls with old carpet and peeling wallpaper. The musty smell was so strong that we ended up buying a candle to try and overpower it. On the positive side the restaurant above has a nice breakfast.


This is a property sorely in need of a remodel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandWS-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear your stay was less than expected. Our renovations should be completed by the end of this year. I hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,

Andrea C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#46 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#42 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Monterey-Fisherman's Wharf Aquarium
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Property: Bay Park Hotel
Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing