We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I'd recommend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“I'd recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for one night and had a great experience. Stayed in nice, clean room with one king and sofa bed, both very comfortable. Overall, room, parking and area around was clean, hotel is very close to highway and shopping mall, with short drive to 17 mile drive and downtown Monterey and Carmel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mtcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    79
    64
    39
    27
See reviews for
91
76
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay. It is on the olders side, but every clean. The restaurant has a good salad bar. My room had been updated. The room had a flat screen TV with a good assortment of channels. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JENJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel advertises as a pet friendly hotel but had absolutely no grass area on property or nearby for pets to do their business. We were told to take our dog to the parking lot to let them urinate and defecate.
The rooms were fairly kept up but did not have a refrigerator or microwave available.
We had to ask multiple times for extra Towels and supplies. They would not deliver them to our room and made us go pick them up from the office.
We stayed for 3 nights, they only cleaned the room once during our stay, even though we made sure.to stay out of the room from 1030-3 daily and put the maid service requested sign on our door. When we complained the desk clerk was rude and said we must not have requested service and that they had until 530 to clean the room. Also that if we wanted earlier service we needed to notify the maid service ahead of time. We informed the clerk that we had put in a request when reserving the room that we had a toddler that would nap later in the afternoon and to have early cleaning service. She told us that they didn't look at any special requests from when reservations were made and that we should have reminded the maid service.
The only thing that was actually nice about the hotel was the restaurant, which was fairly priced and had good food. The waitressing staff was kind and attentive.
Overall the service was horrible from the actual hotel and rude. We will not be returning to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BreeAnna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We only stayed here for one night after a very long drive up the west coast from Los Angeles, we arrived quite late and were greeted by Julia on the front desk (I really hope thats her name, my memory is fried after the trip- she had just come back from maternity leave anyway!) she was ever so lovely and friendly, she couldn't do enough for us and made a personal connection with us, talking to me about how she liked English things and making sure we got a nice room. Only down side to the place was there was no elevator to our room and we had a lot of cases!! The room itself was amazing, I don't know if it was the long drive and that we were tired but the bed was just the most comfortable thing ever! Like a big marshmallow!
We ate dinner in the restaurant too, Julia made sure we got up there on time as it was closing in 20 minutes.. food was nice, a little expensive but nice.
My partner is Italian and the next morning we wanted to watch them play in the world cup but the channel was fuzzy, we called reception and someone came up within 5 minutes and fixed it for us, lovely.
A short but very pleasant experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Location was average. Many places within the same area.
Price NOT WORTH IT!
Room was dingy, outdated, poor.
Customer service CRAP poor! They were more interested in getting us out than they were getting our feedback or ensuring we had a good experience or asking how our stay was--they simply didnt care!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ali I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The positive for this hotel is the location. Very close to the Monterey attractions and Pebble Beach and Carmel. Our room was very disappointing. It was small with cinder block walls and felt like we were in a bunker. It was located at the end of the hallway with the door facing the landing of the exterior hallway which made me uncomfortable. On our first day here we were treated to the site of a person rummaging through trash bags for returnable bottles right outside our door. The rug in our room was in dire need of replacing and the hallways seemed dingy. Wifi access was poor in our room also. The bathroom was clean and nicely remodeled but seemed out of place with the shabbiness of the room. Maybe it was just the location of our room that made it such an unpleasant experience but we booked months ago so hopefully if a better representation of what this hotel has to offer was available we should have gotten it. I would definitely recommend looking at other options in this area before considering staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoxFan30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
We're very glad that you enjoyed our good location, free parking and thank you for sending your comments! Although the room was not what you expected, we at Bay Park strive to accomodate our guests any way possible. I do agree the brick walls that make up one of the walls inside your room can be an annoyance, our hotel does offer middle section rooms that do not have that wall. I do see you noticed the recently remodeled restroom, Bay Park recently started remodeling its entire facility and soon we will have our rooms redily available with many more updated amenities.
Again, thanks for your comments and we're very sorry that you weren't completely happy with your room. We hope you had a great time in California and would love to see you again if you give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemite National Park, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We ended up at this hotel because we had a dog with us. Next time, we will be sure to find a different place to stay.

On a positive note, the location was good and the bed was comfortable.

The rest was disappointing. First, the price was ridiculous compared to other hotels in the area where we have stayed that were nicer. The room was very dated and missing items. The internet was down in our building, though I had requested it. It was rather clean, but not, "Wow, this is clean!"

We did not use the on-site restaurant

Overall, it was a disappointing experience, especially for the price considering we were not there during peak season. I definitely recommend looking elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YosemiteTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwforestparkinn, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for your review and appreciate your comments. I see you took advantage of our pet friendly rooms, our furry companions deserve to travel too. Our newly replaced matresses are fantastic for a restful and comfortable night. Now, I do apologize for the internet not working, I do know our system sometimes needs to be refreshed and re logged in.
What I gathered was the room rate as your main concern, although we believe that our rates are very competitive with neighboring hotels, sometimes smaller motels down the street may be a little cheaper due to their last minute unsold rooms.
Again, thank you for the comments so we can better improve our guets' stay. I hope you had a pleasant visit in Monterey and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#29 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#47 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Park Crest Inn
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
Motel 6 Monterey Downtown
#42 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Property: Bay Park Hotel
Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing