We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Broken bed. ”
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this place for one night. We were placed in the basement with brick walls which blocked any sort of wifi signal. The "free" wifi wasn't working even upon searching the name. When walking to our room we passed what looked to be like a storage hall way right outside our room. The pool gate was totally broken and the only was to get in was to CLIMB over the gate. The hot tub was nice and hot but the bricks around the hot rub were loose and made walking around the tub very dangerous. When it was time for bed we soon realized that one of the beds was broken, making sleeping near impossible without rolling out. The room was dirty; walls were covered in black handprints and the bedding smelt horrible. Would not recommend.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Andrealouann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

House cleaning steals your stuff and the hotel will not take responsibility for their personel stealing stuff. We called to speak to the manager. Got the run around their is never a manger there to speak too. We keep getting stories that they will call back. Yet they do not at all. Left a message on the manager voice mail. Still no call back. Very crappy service here

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gorgeous2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We chose this hotel based on price and a heated pool for the kids. Good news it is not a crack hotel. Bad news the pool was not heated, unsafe and the Jacuzzi had glass in it and was gross. The hotel seemed not up to code as far as railings, pool equipment and electrical. Wi-Fi was bad too. This place has a ton of potential - it needs work. When we made our complaints the staff member was argumentative. For the price I would stay here again because my expectations won't be high.

Room Tip: Wi-Fi not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank foodieskinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed for one night and had a great experience. Stayed in nice, clean room with one king and sofa bed, both very comfortable. Overall, room, parking and area around was clean, hotel is very close to highway and shopping mall, with short drive to 17 mile drive and downtown Monterey and Carmel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I enjoyed my stay. It is on the olders side, but every clean. The restaurant has a good salad bar. My room had been updated. The room had a flat screen TV with a good assortment of channels. The staff was very pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel advertises as a pet friendly hotel but had absolutely no grass area on property or nearby for pets to do their business. We were told to take our dog to the parking lot to let them urinate and defecate.
The rooms were fairly kept up but did not have a refrigerator or microwave available.
We had to ask multiple times for extra Towels and supplies. They would not deliver them to our room and made us go pick them up from the office.
We stayed for 3 nights, they only cleaned the room once during our stay, even though we made sure.to stay out of the room from 1030-3 daily and put the maid service requested sign on our door. When we complained the desk clerk was rude and said we must not have requested service and that they had until 530 to clean the room. Also that if we wanted earlier service we needed to notify the maid service ahead of time. We informed the clerk that we had put in a request when reserving the room that we had a toddler that would nap later in the afternoon and to have early cleaning service. She told us that they didn't look at any special requests from when reservations were made and that we should have reminded the maid service.
The only thing that was actually nice about the hotel was the restaurant, which was fairly priced and had good food. The waitressing staff was kind and attentive.
Overall the service was horrible from the actual hotel and rude. We will not be returning to the hotel itself.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BreeAnna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We only stayed here for one night after a very long drive up the west coast from Los Angeles, we arrived quite late and were greeted by Julia on the front desk (I really hope thats her name, my memory is fried after the trip- she had just come back from maternity leave anyway!) she was ever so lovely and friendly, she couldn't do enough for us and made a personal connection with us, talking to me about how she liked English things and making sure we got a nice room. Only down side to the place was there was no elevator to our room and we had a lot of cases!! The room itself was amazing, I don't know if it was the long drive and that we were tired but the bed was just the most comfortable thing ever! Like a big marshmallow!
We ate dinner in the restaurant too, Julia made sure we got up there on time as it was closing in 20 minutes.. food was nice, a little expensive but nice.
My partner is Italian and the next morning we wanted to watch them play in the world cup but the channel was fuzzy, we called reception and someone came up within 5 minutes and fixed it for us, lovely.
A short but very pleasant experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyBowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#32 of 56 in Monterey
790 reviews
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#49 of 56 in Monterey
298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Stargazer Inn and Suites
Stargazer Inn and Suites
#48 of 56 in Monterey
345 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £71 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing