We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay at this hotel!!”
Review of Bay Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bay Park Hotel
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
San Mateo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Do not stay at this hotel!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This was the worst experience I have ever had with a hotel. The room was dirty. There were roaches on the bed. There were spiders and spiderwebs in the room. The toilet was dirty with poop that had not been properly cleaned. There was a foul smell and it also smelled like smoke (this was a smoke-free room, supposedly). When we went to complain to the person in charge (Steve Brady). He treated us in a very rude, aggressive manner and said we must have brought the bugs ourselves. He said we were just being cheap and wanted a free hotel stay. We ended up leaving close to midnight since we not only did not want to stay at this horrible hotel, but we also did not feel safe. We had to drive back to San Francisco and our Labor day weekend was ruined.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanFranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizdgm, General Manager at Bay Park Hotel, responded to this review, 18 September 2010
I spoke with this guest the day after he had left our hotel at midnight. He did tell me that there had been a bug on top of the bed (it was a silverfish) and one spider in the corner of the room. His biggest disappointment had been the rudeness of our night clerk. I agreed with him that he had not been properly treated by our night clerk when he brought up his discomfort with the bug. Since he had been treated so unprofessionally, I gave this guest a full refund. At no time did he tell me about a filthy toilet, multiple spiders, and a smell of smoke in his room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    87
    64
    43
    29
See reviews for
96
82
13
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2010

We have stayed here before and it was O.K. The location is pretty good. This time the room was dirty especially the bathroom. The bathroom smelled - well use your imagination. I asked that it be recleaned, but the smell was still there. The floor was dirty and the bathmat in the tub dirty. The bedspreads looked like something you would have thrown out years ago. The carpet was stained. Then there was the noise. Our room was located near a party room and finally at 11 p.m. I called to complain. THEN some group showed up EARLY in the morning and the noise started all over again. They acted like they were doing me a huge favor to bring extra towels. I spoke with the manager about all my concerns, but got nowhere. I think we were treated very poorly for returning customers. The smell in the bathroom really pushed me over the edge. We won't be returning. We paid over $150 per night. It was certainly not woth it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

There's a wide gap in properties in Monterey. The five stars are very good, but most of the hotel/motels are rubbish, but the Bay Park stands out because of its comfort, location, good restaurant and value. The staff are excellent, and the rooms nicely furnished, with free high speed wi-fi and free parking.
The beds are very comfortable and the bathroom well fitted out. The food and service in the restaurant was excellent, and while planned to dine out mostly, many times I chose to dine in.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crawfz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
246 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I stopped in Monterey for a few days while on my way to the Bay area and booked online with the BPH. It had been 15 years since I had stayed here last and thought I'd have a "Reunion" Booking online locked in a rate (Non-refundable BTW) that was about $70 less than their normal room rates so I went ahead - The Bay Park is a nice place to stay no question about it. Three stories but no elevator. The location is always questioned no matter where it's reviewed. BPH is located about 10 minutes from Fisherman's Wharf and sits on a hill within walking distance of the Del Monte Center, an outdoor mall that is very nice with shops and restaurants. The room was clean and the staff was really nice. The other thing I liked about it was the have a bar (Safari Club) and a separate restaurant (Crazy Horse) attached to the hotel in case you're not up to going to the Wharf or Cannery Row. The only thing is there is a gas station/mini mart directly in front of the BPH so be careful where you ask for a room. I asked for a bay view and the view was limited by trees and was near the gas station (Noisy) and there are highways that run in front of and in back of this hotel which bothers some people. I'd say this is a nice place if you're looking for a place to hand your hat. The other nice thing about this establishment is because of its locale, there's not a lot of people traffic as I've experienced at other hotels. My suggestion go onto their website and check out my pictures on this site. Would I stay here again, sure but I will probably try a different place next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happygal2
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2008

When we opened the door of the first room we were given, we immediately noticed that one of the beds had not been made. We did not enter the room all the way but made a hasty retreat. The drapes were drawn and the room was dark so we were not sure if someone was still occupying it. We were given another room, which had an unpleasant odor. The highway is adjacent to the hotel, so there was a lot of vehicle noise all night long. The extra blanket appeared to have been well used but not washed. The door to the room did not secure properly.

On the plus side, the staff was pleasant, the room size nice, and we had an excellent meal at the hotel's restaurant.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Odor in room; proximity to highway
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank happygal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2008

I usually travel to Monterey often on business year round. During the summer it's difficult to find a hotel or inn with prices under $250. For $129 a night (during July is a great deal), this hotel provides a lot of ammenities. My room was clean and comfortable. I had free wireless internet service, DVD and flat screen TV. The hotel has a exercise room, pool and hot tub. It was also nice to have a restaurant on site, (great salad bar). Staff was very nice and accomodating. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Convenience for Business
  • Disliked — It took a while to get a internet connection
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank butch2Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We were in Monterey for a the Big Sur half marathon which draws a lot of people and so the local hotels seem to cost more on that weekend. Even the 2 star hotels are charging $150 or more a night. So I was excited to go online and find a so-called 3-star hotel, The Bay Park for $140 per night. To me, a 3 star hotel is very nice. When we arrived, I knew we were in for a disappointment before we even entered our room. The outside of the hotel seemed old and a little run down. When we entered our room, it was like stepping back to 1978. The bathroom fixtures were old, the shower tile was old, the furniture was old, the carpet was old, the walls were old, even the television was old. The room was clean enough but it would be nice if they could freshen up this old timer of a hotel. The room we chose had two very uncomfortable beds to accommodate 4 people and yet the bathroom only had two towels and one small bar of soap. Another disappointment was no free breakfast... something we got at a cheaper hotel down the street (Quality Inn). The only positive things I can say about the hotel is that the rooms have a mini refrigerator and the staff at the front desk are friendly. The bottom line is that this hotel should be considered a 1-star hotel, maybe a 2-star if they freshen it up a bit. But its far from being 3 stars.

Let me finish by pointing out something that symbolized the dated look and feel of this hotel. Just outside the hotel restaurant, was a plaque on the wall. On the plaque was a glass salad plate. The plaque was an award given to the restaurant for best salad bar. The award was given by the Iceberg Lettuce Foundation (or something like that) in the year... 1980.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff and location
  • Disliked — Too expensive for old hotel
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
Knights Inn Carmel Hill
#46 of 55 in Monterey
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Pelican Inn Monterey
Pelican Inn Monterey
#53 of 55 in Monterey
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#38 of 55 in Monterey
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
0.1 mi away
Mariposa Inn and Suites
Mariposa Inn and Suites
#31 of 55 in Monterey
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Park Hotel

Property: Bay Park Hotel
Address: 1425 Munras Ave, Monterey, CA 93940-6099
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bay Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Park Monterey
Bay Park Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing