We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge, comfortable rooms. Great value.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #12 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Redmond, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Huge, comfortable rooms. Great value.”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October, Friday and Saturday. Our room was so comfortable and clean, we thoroughly enjoyed all the time we spent in the room. This is not something we can usually say about hotel rooms. We had requested top floor which they happily accommodated. Our room had windows on two sides so we had lots of light. The windows opened (what a treat!) so we could easily control the temperature in our room. Our room had a desk with office chair, sofa, chair with ottoman, king sized bed, refrigerator (worked well), microwave (simple but worked), safe (could not get this to lock), TV (never turned it on), and plenty of dressers and night stands to completely move in. The hotel was full on Saturday yet we rarely heard any voices or noises, even though our room was right next to the elevator. The breakfast was minimal, but we are fine with a bowl of Raisin Bran and a fresh orange. Coffee was good. Eating area is tiny but they provide trays and encourage you to take your breakfast back to your room or outside, which was nice. Not many hotels make it easy to take food back to your room. All staff were very pleasant. Cost was great for the area. We will stay in this hotel again. Really loved the size of the room. And it was so clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our property. We sincerely appreciate your mentioning so many positive aspects of your stay. Our Trip Advisor reviews are in the excellent to very good range. We make every effort to provide a clean and comfortable room at a reasonable rate. In addition, our caring staff is available to assist guests 24 hours a day. We care about each guests experience and I believe reviews such as yours reaffirm we are doing a good job. Thanks again for your great posting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    322
    105
    27
    6
See reviews for
321
270
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
350 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

After checking rates and reviews of Monterey Hotels, we decided to book three nights at the beginning of October. On arriving at the Hotel we thought that it looked very nice, was very clean and appeared newer than it probably is. When we checked into the Hotel, the young man at the desk was very pleasant and efficient. Upon entering our room we were very impressed with the size and layout of the room. It was a large corner room on the back of the building, had a king size bed, a small refrigerator, a small microwave and a safe. Much has been said about the lack of air conditioning in many of the Monterey Hotels, but this room had windows that open on two sides so heat was not a problem. Although there was some traffic noise, leaving the windows open was also not a problem. There was an occasional airplane taking off or landing that was somewhat noisy, but they were not that common. The room was well appointed and very clean. Breakfast was included, but it was a fairly typical continental style layout. It was adequate, but not exciting. It would be nice to have some yogurt and possibly waffles added to the menu. There are several restaurants and other services very near the Hotel, while it is only about a ten minute drive to Cannery Row, the Aquarium, or slightly longer to Carmel. The rate that we paid was under $100.00 per night, which is very inexpensive for the Monterey area. I would definitely recommend this Hotel to anyone staying in the Monterey area.

Room Tip: The corner rooms are a little larger and have windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review, top rating and recommendation of our property. Your senior contributor Trip Advisor status was evident by your detailed review.
We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to post your comments and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Monterey. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

the "Hot" breakfast left a lot to be desired. it was so bad that we ate at Denny's the next day. The sausage had no taste and the eggs were scary. If you are into eating gluten, enjoy the rolls, bagels and toast. The hot tub was so full of chemicals it burned the eyes. The room was very nice and the staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We will be making changes to our lobby this winter to better accommodate the complimentary breakfast provided. I am sorry that you did not enjoy the breakfast. Not all guest stay with us for the breakfast, actually they stay for the reasons you mentioned, a nice room and the friendly staff. I do appreciate your taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I stayed at the De Anza on a recommendation from a friend. I would generalize the hotel as very good. The room was quite large and very clean and I managed to score one of the garage spaces on the backside of the building which was nice. The breakfast was basic - toast, muffins, cereal, sausage and some strange egg patty things.

For you car and bike folks, I think we were parked at Laguna Seca within 15 minutes of the De Anza. Fisherman's Wharf was about a 10 minute drive.

My buddies stayed across the street, paid more for their room and it wasn't as nice as mine at the De Anza.

As noted by others there is no A/C. Not a problem when I stayed there.

Also, this place is basic. I don't think there was pool and no on site spa services or anything like that. Good sized clean room, basic breakfast, comfy bed and close enough to the tourist area without the high price. I will stay there again when in Monterey.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review of our property. As you mentioned, we are in a good location for those wanting to get to local attractions such as Laguna Seca and Fisherman’s Wharf. We do have both a seasonally heated outdoor pool and hot tub heated year round. We offer very good quality bedding, towels and lovely eco friendly amenities. Most guests find having a fridge, microwave and in-room safe very convenient. We appreciate your thoughtful comments regarding our good value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa clara, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This is a great place to stay if you are ever in town whether for business or pleasure. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and the king room that i got was very spacious and clean. I would definitely recommend this hotel to all my friends and will definitely stay here again the next time i'm in town.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Wow! Thanks for your awesome review and top rating of our property. I could not have asked for a better posting or higher recommendation. Please accept my sincere gratitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gardnerville, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The room(s) were perfect for ourselves-the grandparents--and our daughter and her two boys. We were only there one night but would have been quite comfortable to stay 2-3 weeks! Friendly staff, the 3 TV's and the Koi pond in the lobby...what more could a family Want???

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for letting us and others know about your great stay at our property. We realize many families travel together and we make every effort to accommodate
any special needs they may have. We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments
and hope you will come back to Monterey for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013 via mobile

We arrived about 11:30 at night and the person at the front desk helped us quickly and we were in our room in minutes. The place is well lit and very secure, in a nice area with other Hotels and restaurants. The room was large and comfortable. There is no air conditioning. You can open the window, but the highway noise is too much. There was a nice ceiling fan so it was fairly comfortable. Breakfast is very limited. Good value for the money

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RichFromOmaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you very much for your complimentary review and high rating of our property. As a seasoned traveler and top contributor to Trip Advisor, I was very pleased to read the great
review title and your comments. With reviews in 42 cities, you have stayed in many hotel rooms. We appreciate your letting others know about your positive experience at the De Anza Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
1,027 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
2,347 reviews
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Property: Best Western De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing