We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

Arrived after eleven hours in the car and check in was easy, really helpful girl on reception who recommended a choice of local restaurants & local amenities in the short overnight we are here.

We booked the two bedroom suite, it's huge! Very clean and nice, breakfast included. Recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ju35_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Your review title "Wow" says it all. Thank you very much for the great review and top rating for our property. We wish you safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    313
    100
    27
    5
See reviews for
312
266
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Orange, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My family stayed at the DeAnza Inn in Monterey during our recent trip to California. We were very pleased with the accomodations provided at this hotel, including extremely comfortable beds and an adequate breakfast to start the day and helpful staff. The hotel is not on the waterfront but is only a short distance from the Monterey Aquarium, state parks and all other sites of interest. We felt it was a terrific value and would recommend it to other budget minded travelers.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Geordias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of out property. You mentioned many of the reasons guest choose to stay with us when visiting the Monterey Peninsula. We appreciate your letting others know of your positive experience and your complimentary comments. Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

If your room faces on the south side and on a clear night and if your window is open, you can hear the sea lions going"omf" in the night as they call out to their mates. Who says you need to have a waterfront beach view, to hear the sea lions. A very enjoyable experience and stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank vinnieCIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your complimentary review and top rating of our property. Your review title was fun and I must say you are the first guest to comment on the "omf". We sincerely appreciate your taking the time to post your comments. Happy Thanksgiving!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Best Western De Anza Inn is not the hotel for you if you want to get the true Monterey/Carmel/Pacific Grove vibe. It is a good location to get around but you will have to drive every where. I like to take walks in the evening and there is only the busy street. The parking area was very small. The rooms were clean, but at the time I was there in October 2013 the mattress was in need of being replaced. Spend a little more and go to Pacific Grove and experence. The breakfast a little below par.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvah777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your review of our property. We are located in northern Monterey just 2 miles from the city center and 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Most guests appreciate the value we provide and don't mind the short drive to the local attractions. You mentioned spending a little more, however, rooms rates are considerably higher the closer you are to the Aquarium. We recommend parking at Fisherman's Wharf and walking the historic downtown and along the coastal path. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Nice spacious rooms at a Great value with a decent morning breakfast. Parking spots are tight. Beware showers get extremely hot when any toilet near you is flushed Our kids loved the giant goldfish in the lobby.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alishad29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you very much for your "Great Value" review and 4 out of 5 rating. We appreciated your comments regarding our koi pond, adults love it just as much as the kids do! I wish you had mentioned the hot water issue to the front desk as this is an indicator that the recently replaced
faucet cartridge may be malfunctioning. Thanks again for taking the time to post your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

When we started searching for a hotel in Monterey we were shocked to see how much they were charging for fairly average accommodation, with moderate reviews. We scoured TripAdvisor and the Bed Bug Registry (www.bedbugregistry.com) before settling on the BW Plus De Anza - ranked number 7 of 53 hotels in Monterey and we are glad we did.

We booked our room directly on the hotel website, taking advantage of their $99.99 per night rate including tax. The hotel is around 3 miles out of the centre, but has good access to all the attractions and is easy to find from Highway 1. It is on a strip with other hotels, but there is very little in the way of services. There is a CVS pharmacy on the opposite side of the road, a Denny's next door and a restaurant on the other side of the hotel, but we either went into Monterey or to the Del Monte Centre about 3 miles away, where there is plenty of restaurants including PF Changs and a Whole Foods Market.

We booked a King and were given a spacious room on the 2nd floor (209), facing over the pool. It was a lovely clean corner room with two windows - so plenty of light, a King Bed, sofa bed, coffee table, lounge chair, work desk and a unit holding the TV, fridge, safe and microwave. This is a totally non smoking hotel which is a bonus for us.

The room did not have A/C, but the ceiling fan above the bed was sufficient as we experienced cool foggy weather during our visit - I imagine it may get a little stuffy in the summer. Parking is available behind the hotel with a few spaces at the front but is a little tight to negotiate if you have a large vehicle.

The bathroom was small but sufficient for our needs and most importantly very clean. The internet worked well and the only thing which let the hotel down was the breakfast. The selection was basic and not particularly good quality compared to other hotels of this standard we have stayed in - we have already fed this back to the hotel.

Overall we were impressed with the hotel and the service and we would recommend it for a short stay in the Monterey area, rather than paying the overpriced rates nearer the centre of town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KuwaitGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed and complimentary review of our property. You mentioned many of the reasons we are highly rated on Trip Advisor. I should note we will be making changes to our lobby to improve our complimentary breakfast. Making better use of the space we have will allow us to offer more options. Thank you again for letting us know that you were impressed with both the property and staff. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SF CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Very nice and clean hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Was not aware until we arrived that there was no air conditioning in the rooms. We were on the second floor facing the street and when we opened the windows the street noise was so loud we couldnt' hear the tv. So we requested to be moved to a room in the back of the building. Was on the 3rd floor but was a lot quiet especially at night. The sea breeze cooled the room down nicely. Also the hot items on the breakfast menu weren't that good so went next door to Denny's

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Big49fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deanza2141, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Property: Best Western De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing