We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 Night stay in Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Blaton
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“2 Night stay in Monterey”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We are quite happy with our experience in this hotel, the room was comfortable and clean. The staff very friendly. The breakfeast room is a bit short : two poor tables and 6 chairs... and the choice was not as large as in other BW hotels.
The place is a bit far from the center of Monterey but a perfect location to get to Carmel and Big Sur.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic_be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We have limited space in our lobby and offer trays so that guest may enjoy their complimentary breakfast in-room.We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    313
    100
    27
    5
See reviews for
312
266
24
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, United States
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We love this hotel. It's an excellent location very close to Hwy 1 & a great jumping off point for Monterey, Pacific Grove, Carmel and Big Sur. It's not luxurious, but is very adequate for a family vacation or business trip. No A/C - but it's not needed at night at this coastal location. We stayed here twice in June, 4 nights each time, and slept with our windows open every night. Absolutely quiet neighborhood. Attractive "oasis" on Fremont Blvd. near the Monterey Fairgrounds. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, great water pressure in the showers, and courteous staff. Each room had a small fridge, microwave & a safe. Excellent, fast & reliable wi-fi. The breakfast was a limited selection of food, but did have decent-tasting hot cooked eggs & also a hot breakfast meat.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review of our property. Your thoughtful comments covered many positive amenities guest can expect during their stay. We sincerely appreciate your consideration and look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights in a standard room with a king bed and I asked to have a crib put into the room for my daughter. The room was an odd shape but we made it work for us. It was shaped like a check mark so we put the crib at the far end of the room where it angled so that the light wouldn't bother the baby. There was too much furniture for the size of the room, but again, we made it work. I moved the extra furniture out of the way and it was fine. My one complaint about the room was the lack of air conditioning. I know it is Monterey and the weather is usually cooler but the ceiling fan was not enough. We had to leave our window open which let all of the street noise in,

Breakfast was satisfactory. The eggs were oddly shaped (life mini frisbees) but I think they are meant to be put into the English muffins. They had a choice of muffins, bagels, eng muffins, eggo waffles, eggs/sausage and the other usual hot & cold cereal fare. Not a foodie haven but just right if all you are looking for is a quick and easy breakfast. The eating area, however, is quite small. Either go early or plan on taking breakfast back to your room.

All in all, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the street, in case you need to keep the window open (since t...
See more room tips
Green Features: The room had a designated recycling bin, which is not standard in all hotels, that was nice. Would be nice if they had a compost bin at breakfast since most things at breakfast were compostable.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suyen888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of our property. We were pleased with your review title as this indicated how much you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your taking the time to post your lengthy review and hope they will be of assistance to those traveling with family. Happy Summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed here for four nights. We had the suite on the main flour, with a King bed and a murphy double bed. We liked that there was a separate room with the king, and plenty of room next to the murphy bed for a rollaway. Plenty of space for our three children, and we had our own room. Also liked that it had two separate televisions! Really like the table and chairs and breakfast nook, so we had a spot to eat breakfast and other snacks. This room with lots of space made all the difference in our trip. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Grangesnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Thank you very much for your wonderful review regarding your stay at our property. We were pleased to know the entire family enjoyed our Studio Suite during your trip and appreciate your taking the time to post your complimentary comments. Happy Summer and Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2014

As many others have stated this hotel is a great value. Rooms are large and clean. Bed was comfortable, breakfast served was nice. We did not spend a lot of time at the hotel, it is centrally located for easy access all around the Monterey area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Philip Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review and top rating of our property. Your concise comments regarding your stay will prove helpful for those considering our property when visiting the Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
453 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We chose this hotel and this particular Best Western based on the Trip Advisor ratings and the value it presented. The first thing we noticed when we arrived was that there was no parking for guests checking in. We had to drive round to the back of the building only to find that one cannot enter from the rear unless a guest since the elevator requires a room key card! We saw another arriving guest encounter the same perplexing issue. I would highly recommend reserving at least one space for guest check-in parking. Of course, the lack of check-in parking may be due to the fact that the parking lot has a limited number of spaces for guest parking period. The exterior and interior of the hotel were pleasant, the staff friendly and welcoming. We very much liked our king corner room on the second floor overlooking the parking lot because it had a nice view of tree tops and it was quiet (even though located right next to Denny's Restaurant). The room was large and pleasantly appointed, the bed comfortable. As to concerns some have expressed about the lack of air conditioning, we did not find that to be a problem. We simply opened up the windows and enjoyed the cool coastal air. Noise was not an issue with the windows open either.

Here is the one thing that kept me from rating my stay as Excellent -- although the room appeared to be very clean upon arrival, the next morning my husband pulled the nightstand away from the wall looking for an outlet and discovered a discarded hair band and worse the paper wrapping from a cupcake with food still clinging to it. Neither belonged to us. Yuck. This made us question the cleanliness of the room. We left the nightstand pulled out slightly to see if the housekeeping staff would find the items during their next cleaning and I am happy to report that they did, though they left the hair band on the nightstand likely thinking it was ours. We later found an errant jelly bean by the windows (also not ours). I would say that a reminder to staff to move furniture in order to effect a thorough cleaning would be in order. Otherwise, this is an excellent value and pleasant location. We would return and we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner king second or third floor facing the back will be quieter and have nicer views with windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CacheOn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. Please accept my sincere apology regarding the cleanliness issue experienced during your stay. I would have apologized in person had you brought the problem to my attention during your stay. Although it is our housekeeping policy to move the furnishing on a daily basis, it can be challenging to do so when we are very busy and still allow guests to check-in on a timely basis. I do appreciate your taking the time to post your comments as this gives me an opportunity to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was our sixth Western Stay during our 3 week holiday and we stayed for 2 nights. Very welcoming and helpful front desk staff. Our room was clean, large and quiet with 2 very comfortable queen beds. Bathroom was a good size and shower was hot. Breakfast was just average with limited choices in comparison with some other places we stayed. Hotel is a short drive from the tourist attractions, Monterey, Carmel and Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for your review and 4 out 5 rating of our property. We were thrilled to know that you had a "very good stay". Please accept our sincere thanks for you loyalty to the Best Western brand. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,239 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Property: Best Western De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing