We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok value, iffy location, ok room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western De Anza Inn
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Simi Valley
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ok value, iffy location, ok room”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was average or a bit below average. The room was large and seemed clean, but had a parking lot view. The staff was so nice but the location sucked. It's far from all the attractions of Monterey. Breakfast was ok, but we ended up eating out because it had no healthy options. Overall, would not stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank saraheleid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are approximately 2 miles from the city center and 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Most guests have a vehicle and do not mind the short drive of 4-5 minutes given the savings in the room rate. I am sorry you didn't research your options before making your reservations as there are several Best Western properties on the Monterey Peninsula to choose from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    322
    105
    27
    6
See reviews for
321
270
25
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Plan on skipping the breakfast and eat out. Quality of breakfast is very bad. For the high price that is being charged, a better breakfast should be expected. Neighborhood is not the greatest area of town.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of property. I am sorry you didn't enjoy the complimentary breakfast provided. I was surprised that you felt the room rate of $134.99 + taxes was a high price to pay given the average room rate in Monterey during the summer can be over $250.00.
I would recommend a Best Western Plus property for future stays as they are required to provide additional breakfast options. I appreciate your taking the time to post your comments and hope you had a safe trip back to Stockton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We like to stay up high away from street noise. We stayed on floor 3 in room 314 which was quiet at night. Our room was clean and nice and comfortable and quiet. Overall our stay was excellent. The customer service of the staff was excellent. We would like to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank wonderful32859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review and top rating of our property. We sincerely appreciated your mentioning the "excellent" customer service provided. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Monterey. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I booked this hotel because during our road trip no other hotels in the area were available, or would accept a one-night stay for Saturday. I had no high expectations, and they were met. It is the first hotel I've ever stayed at where the front desk proudly states as they give you your key, "there is someone here all night if you need anything". I suppose there are actually hotels out there where all of the staff leaves at night, but I've never stayed at one. I thought to myself, "I should hope so."

Anyway, it is a tired older hotel. There is a carp pool in the lobby, but it looks so sad and plain, you feel bad for the fish. The elevator is smaller, but it works. Just don't overload it.

The rooms were fine. Really nothing to complain about there. Not high end, but they don't pretend to be high end.

In the morning they had a small buffet setup in the lobby, As there were six in my party, the two or three tables in the breakfast area did not suffice as there were a couple of other people there. So while it may have been included, we opted to go to a local coffee/donut place to get something to eat. I could not imagine trying to get the kids to stand while they ate.

Location-wise the hotel was easy to find and easy to get to places from.

If I were in charge of this place, I would spend a bit of money on the lobby, breakfast area, and spruce up elevator - if that's possible. I think then the overall impression would change, because the rooms were okay, but the lobby lacks any character and is not a comfortable place to be.

After all that, would I stay here again? Yes if I was in the same situation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuGrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. The last line of your comments stated,
“After all that, would I stay here again? Yes if I was in the same situation. I wish you would have started out the review with those comments since most readers may not ake the time to read the review in its entirety. I appreciated your candid comments and am pleased to inform you, we are in the process of redecorating the lobby. Furnishing, lighting and artwork are on order but as with most things the decorating process can be lengthy. I hope to have the lobby completed by the end of the year. Just in time to replace our in-room and corridor carpets. Painting of the exterior of the building should also be completed by the end of November. You were correct that not all properties in the area have a front desk agent on staff as we do. We just remind guests that there is someone available at all times to assist them. We are a small property and our lobby serves our complimentary breakfast. We provide trays so you may take it back to your room. Thank you for providing me an opportunity to let readers now what is taking place at the De Anza Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The rooms are clean and lovely, however very warm in July. I immediately went to turn on our a/c and found nothing. Upon contacting the desk I was told no A/C at this hotel. What? We tried to open windows, but curtains allowed bright street lights and traffic noise was loud. There was a ceiling fan, but nothing could cool this room without cool air. Fans offered, but blowing hot air is not cooling. We were miserable. I would not book hotel in warm months. I was told on checkout that most Monterey hotels do not have A/C. I looked across the street and noticed units in the rooms and called to double check. After investigating, the hotels up and down their street have A/C. Other than this.....clean and lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review of our property. Please note that TripAdvisor has an article regarding air conditioning availability on the Monterey Peninsula. I would recommend reading the article when considering a visit and definitely before making reservations. If you wish to sacrifice cleanliness and a well maintained room for air-conditioning you may select one a few properties on North Fremont that have air-conditioning. I am surprised by the number of guests that do not research their destination prior to traveling. I believe a few simple questions or reading prior to making your reservations would benefit everyone. By the way I would look at the air-conditioning filter in the room or inquire about the properties maintenance schedule for this process. It might be an eye opener!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madera, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel was very clean the rooms were nice and well kept. The staff was friendly and very helpful. Its is located close to any are you may want to visit. Shopping is close to everything and also it is very close to the beach and the Warf.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank HappyDays1123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Thank you very much for your complimentary review and top rating of our property. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and our close proximity to local attractions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murcia, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel rooms are spacious, renovated and clean. In the hotel rooms you will find all the necessary items. The hotel offers breakfast, however there are only six chairs and a couch to sit on when eating breakfast. The hotel is fully occupied, which means that you have to take your breakfast to your room if you want to sit down while eating. The hotel has a hot tub and swimming pool situated near the road. It looks awful, but the water is nicely heated though.
Location is perfect to visit Montery and Carmel

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BeGlobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at Best Western De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your review and 4 out 5 rating of our property. I think your title should have read, nice hotel with limited breakfast seating. You did not mention the type, quality or presentation of the complimentary breakfast. I assume you would have commented had you not enjoyed it. We have limited seating because we do not have space for a designated breakfast room as we are a small 43 room inn. Since the complimentary breakfast is available for 3 hours, from 7am to 10am, I would recommend coming right at 7am or after 9:30am. If you come at the peak time usually between 8 -9am, we offer trays so you may enjoy breakfast in your room. I appreciate your taking the time to posts your comments as this allows me an opportunity to discuss the issues mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
0.2 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,027 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#6 of 56 in Monterey
2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western De Anza Inn

Property: Best Western De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 North Fremont Street, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Green Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Best Western De Anza Inn! Discover this pleasant Inn located in Monterey, California and just minutes away from Historic Cannery Row, Pebble Beach and the world renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Best Western De Anza Inn offers a convenient location, quality amenities and reasonable rates to ensure a comfortable stay on the California coast. This completely non-smoking Inn is close to a variety of local shops and restaurants, as well as attractions which have made the Monterey Peninsula a travel destination. The Best Western De Anza Inn offers 43 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms. Each room features a microwave, refrigerator, cable satellite television and complimentary wireless Internet. Other Inn amenities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, interior corridors, and a business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing