We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Large room, comfortable beds, not too far from downtown Monterey” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
Ranked #9 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Large room, comfortable beds, not too far from downtown Monterey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The room was large and clean and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast was basic and served in the lobby where about 10 people could be seeted.
Downtown Monterey was only a 5 minute drive, and Carmel not much further, so this is a good starting point to explore the area.
The pool was small and close to the road, but for us not an important thing.
Wifi was free and worked fine.
Overall we thought the hotel gave good value for the money we paid.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelVoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. Your comments were complimentary but I do not feel the overall rating accurately reflected them. I hope readers will take the time to read the entire review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    301
    304
    98
    27
    5
See reviews for
305
254
24
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester VA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent one night here with my daughter on our way from LA to San Francisco in June 2014. Location of hotel is off a very busy street full of motels, fast food places, and restaurants, but because of the way the hotel is situated on the property, it is very quiet and feels secluded. Our room was HUGE....two Queen beds, a full size couch, refrigerator, desk, TV and still had room to spare. Would be great for a family with several kids. Clean, well-appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was fine, but not very much room in the breakfast area to sit and eat....had to bring food back to room. Staff at the desk were helpful and friendly.

Green Features: I appreciate the hotel's' attempts to be environmentally friendly.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misskathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We appreciated your comments regarding the quality of the guestroom and our friendly staff. We were pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us for families traveling with children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here at the deAnza Inn, first off , the person who helped was extremely helpful and did his best to make our stay at least a little bit comfortable. His name was Javier and he was very kind and we appreciated his service. But, being a family, we tried to get a room with 2 queen beds and unfortunately they did not have any avaible, so 2 of us had to sleep on a very uncomfortable sofa pull out. The following morning, one of my daughters woke with a bug bite on her back, we know it wasn't there before we got to the Inn so I have to look done at the hotel cleanliness wise.....breakfast was a hustle and was indeed very loud and messy. Overall we will proably never stay there in the future for this hotel needs to shape up .....

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay and am concerned that you didn't ask to speak with me directly regarding the issues experienced while on our property. Please contact me as I wish to review our cleaning and inspection procedures.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clovis, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I stay at this hotel whenever I'm on business in Monterey. The rooms are large, the beds are cozy and the service/breakfast are superior. The staff are always friendly and helpful. The location isn't the greatest, but it's not bad either.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Doug-of-Clovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your review and 4 out of 5 rating of our property. We appreciate your taking the time to post your comments. Safe Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I gave 4 stars because of noise issues and the staff and manager did everything they possibly could to help us out. I felt DeAnza Inn customer service is top notch and worth complimenting them on. The hotel was sold out on our arrival date.

The good:

The room was very big and nicely appointed with chairs, desk and a sofa. Comfy bed, good pillows, decent wifi, clean bathroom. There really aren't any room with "views" given the location of this hotel, but we were fine with that. It is some distance from the Monterey attractions and not within walking distance, but we wanted to be away from those areas anyway. There is a Denny's one one side of hotel and Monterey Cookhouse (steaks, American food and bar), on the other side. CVS is across the street, which was nice. The outside mall is not far from here with good shopping and dining.

The noise: do not stay in Room 104 if you are light sleepers as it is right off the lobby, next to the elevator and dining area. On the plus side, it was nice to get our breakfast items and slip right back to our room to eat! IMHO a room on the 3rd floor away from the elevator would be best.

I will return to this BW because it is a very nice hotel with superior staff and a good location for our travel plans.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TaylorRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I appreciated your comments regarding our "top notch service" and was pleased to know you would choose to stay with us again when visiting the Monterey Peninsula.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springville, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

No Internet service, we complained went through a long process to get on and then lost connection, no one in our group could get on to the internet. Noisy, no sound proofing between floors. The noise was extra loud and we were in their upgraded rooms. Not a great experience for three days. The location to downtown was great and the décor was nice. If you stay there take ear plugs.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I apologize for the wi-fi and noise issues experienced during your stay. I do not see any notes in your reservation regarding either of the problems. Had I been made aware of them, I could have offered several options that would have made your stay more pleasant. I do appreciate your taking the time to post your comments as they may assist some readers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simi Valley
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Everything about this hotel was average or a bit below average. The room was large and seemed clean, but had a parking lot view. The staff was so nice but the location sucked. It's far from all the attractions of Monterey. Breakfast was ok, but we ended up eating out because it had no healthy options. Overall, would not stay again.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank saraheleid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwdeanza, General Manager at BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Thank you for your recent review of our property. We are approximately 2 miles from the city center and 3.54 miles from the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Most guests have a vehicle and do not mind the short drive of 4-5 minutes given the savings in the room rate. I am sorry you didn't research your options before making your reservations as there are several Best Western properties on the Monterey Peninsula to choose from.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Monterey Inn
1.8 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn
Address: 2141 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5242
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Monterey
#10 Family Hotel in Monterey
#10 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#21 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only three and a half miles from the top attraction, Monterey Bay Aquarium, our Monterey hotel is a great value with reasonable rates. Cannery Row and Fisherman's Wharf are just a short drive. Guests at our Monterey hotel can choose to spend the day lounging at the beach or exploring the local city. Seafood reigns supreme at the local restaurants, and there's an abundance of shopping to be had. The Monterey Peninsula offers travelers everything necessary for a memorable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN De Anza Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus De Anza Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing