We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value in Monterey”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed just one night. The room was very large and well equipped except for the tv which was too small and not high definition. The staff was very helpful in recommending sports bars to watch the World Cup. Close enough to the wharf and other attractions to walk but far enough away that the price was quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (916)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Monterey Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

497 - 503 of 916 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a great place to stay. Walking distance to the center of Monterey and to the Wharf area. Extremely friendly staff and very knowledgeable about local places to see and where to eat. Also great driving directions when needed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Vickie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our family of three adults and one teen stayed one night. We chose the hotel based on other TripAdvisor. Com reviews. Our room was large, larger than expected. The hotel was clean and front desk helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 126. Large room but backs up to free breakfast area. Too noisy if you are not an e...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfox18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and could have stayed many, many more. We really hated to leave. This was one of the best hotels we have stayed at in a very long time. It's not the most modern or elaborate, but the proximity to the beach (on it) and the absolutely amazing views make it just a wonderful place to stay. The staff was very nice, helpful and kind. They went out of their way to help us find exactly what we needed and were looking for. Cannery Row in downtown Monterey is only about a 10 minute drive away and after a full day of walking the area and shopping, coming back to your beach hotel was perfect. We got some wood and accessories from the front desk and went out on the beach in the evening and made a nice little fire to sit by and enjoy our drinks and reminisce about the fabulous day we had. It was a perfect way to end a wonderful day. We really loved this hotel and will be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: The beauty of this hotel is that it is close to Monterey without being in downtown Monterey. The bea...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlc143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This is not a deluxe hotel....not a destination resort....not beachfront. That being said, it was well-priced, well located and our room was very comfortable and extremely clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. We reserved an upgraded room with a fireplace (not used). The room had a good king bed, a stuffed chair with ottoman, a desk/chair, table with 2 chairs, refrigerator in a "bar" cabinet, and a large TV inside an armoire. The furnishings were comfortable and clean. The hotel has recently been renovated with new hallway and room carpets. The bathroom was the least desirable feature as it was small. Bath and toilet were in a separate room which was fine. But sink--closet--bath were all connected and we kept running into each other as access to sink was poor if someone needed the bath or closet. Additionally the soundproofing between rooms and floors was not as good as it should have been. We could hear our neighbors talking and people in the hallway. WiFi was free and worked well. Covered underground parking worked well for us as we had a nice car we wanted to be protected.

We did not try the complimentary breakfast, but it looked like a typical hotel type buffet. There is a Peets coffee store nearby and an excellent bakery/pastry shop (Paris Bakery) that we really enjoyed.

This hotel is a good option for a moderately priced, functional hotel if you are in Monterey.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the higher floors have a view of Monterey Bay.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtlez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This hotel and restaurant is right on the ocean front. The employees were extremely helpful and pleasant. The room amenities were wonderful, i.e., Kurig coffee maker, binoculars for whale watching, cleanliness, comfortable beds. They light 3 different bon fires each evening starting at about 8:30 pm until 11:00 pm. There were lots of guests who enjoyed the beautiful sunsets and the bon fires.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
2  Thank 69cynthiad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was a good value for the area. Well appointed and very friendly and professional staff. About 2 miles to Cannery Row but you can catch a free shuttle a few blocks from the hotel which runs continually to Fisherman's wharf and Cannery Row. Worth a look when heading to the Monterey area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank sunnesolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.1 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.6 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Monterey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Monterey Inn

Address: 825 Abrego St, Monterey, CA 93940-3103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Monterey
#16 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
#18 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £94 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Monterey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Monterey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Monterey Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey Hotel
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing