We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No Honesty Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Inn Monterey
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
merced
1 review
“No Honesty Here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday on Saturday May, 25 2013. I inadvertently left a pair of very special shoes behind. We checked out Sunday and went directly home where I unpacked and realized I had left my shoes. They were very unique and the last thing my mother gave me before she died. I immediately called the manager and left my information. He promised to call me right back when he had the shoes. He never called. I kept on it calling every day, several times a day leaving the same information again with the manager as well as with the owner and front desk man. They always promised to call right back but not once did they. Finally one week later I spoke again to the manager who said they did not have my shoes. Despite having a lost and found policy they were never turned in or logged in by housekeeping. I told him exactly where I left those shoes and offered a $50 reward. I am responsible for leaving them behind, however nothing overides honesty, especially if you want to operate a good business. The manager said he trusted his staff and thought I was a liar. I got angry and advised him that California law requires the finder of property to make a reasonable attempt to locate its owner, otherwise keeping the item is THEFT! My family has stayed at this location more than 50 times only because it's cheap and we were attending relatives' graduation ceremonies from the Naval Academy. Not a single one of us will ever go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teri r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    127
    84
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
126
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We paid $175 for two nights through Expedia for this hotel or as i put it, "motel". there is a reason why their website does not show you the outside of the hotel. http://pacificinnmonterey.com/... ripped carpets on outside stairs, chipped paint, old railings, and just old. the place needs a facelift badly! That is a cheap price for this area. But considering that I was fooled by the pictures all together, i feel ripped off. the inside of the room was better. the bed was pretty firm. The sinked was plugged (filled up with water) and only two bath towels that felt old and used. the bathroom did not seem clean and the paint was chipped in the room too. It felt more like a motel 6 than a "hotel" and I can not see paying more than $50 a night for this. We never had the breakfast but were also never told about it. Ian seemed nice but gave me no receipt and treated me different since i paid through Expedia. He never said anything about the breakfast. The whole experience was strange and i would not go back. Don't let their website fool you people.

Room Tip: they are also not organized, were suppose to reschedule me and did not, they found a room at last mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

South Yarmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night on a recent road trip in California. The first thing we noticed was that the area and the other guests were a little sketchy. The front desk clerk, while attempting to be amusing and helpful, was a bit strange. After assigning a room to us on the second floor, he asked us to wait a minute and ran up to inspect the room and then assigned another room to us on the first floor!?! The room we got was no prize, I can assure you. I can only imagine what the other room was like. The room we got had badly stained carpeting and towels that were very thin and stained. They should have been replaced a long time ago. We went out to a local restaurant for dinner and when we returned, our parking spot was taken. We had a couple of other choices in parking spaces, but took care in selecting one that was under the lights for a small measure of security. To the hotels credit, the bed was very comfortable and had nice bedding. But that being said, we couldn't wait for morning so we could get out of there. It was a good price, but no bargain, in my opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

The staff person we dealt with here was very nice, and they waived the dog fee for us. They have mini fridges and microwaves in the rooms. But that was where the positives ended.

We arrived late and found that they gave us a room with two full beds -- way too small for both me and my husband. So we ended up sleeping in separate beds (weird). The room reeked of cigarette smoke and we both have allergies. I opened the window to let in some air and realized the area outside was very noisy -- cars going by, doors being slammed, people talking, etc. The blanket on the bed was extremely thin and it was pretty cold; I couldn't find any extra blankets in the room.

I went out to the car at one point and walked behind a guy who reeked of marijuana. When I took the dog out in the morning, there was almost no where for her to do her business. I ended up finding a small piece of dirt littered with cigarette butts.

All this for 9 hours at $100. No wonder they waived the pet fee; if we'd paid $125 for that, I would have bee livid. We won't be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank sm823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I've stayed at this motel 3 to 4 times in the last year. manager is friendly and helpful. it is clean and excellent at this price range. It's also a good location with market and restaurants within blocks.

they are no longer part of the best western chain so let's see if it changes for the better or worse.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fast4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I checked in during late November 2012 and paid for 4 nights in advance. After becoming very sick, I decided to return home the next day. They refused to refund my three days in advance that I had paid. They said they would send me a check. I have called twice and each time they said a check would go out the next day. I wrote a letter of complaint to Best Western, but they could help because their contract with the Ramona Inn had been cancelled. Now it is February 2013, almost 3 month have gone by and I still have not received my refund. I would not recommend this motel.

Room Tip: find another motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erland R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
El Castell Motel
El Castell Motel
#25 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
Comfort Inn Monterey Bay
#35 of 55 in Monterey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Inn Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Inn Monterey

Property: Pacific Inn Monterey
Address: 2332 Fremont St, Monterey, CA 93940-5407 (Formerly Ramona Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Inn Monterey 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are conveniently located in Monterey minutes from all the major attractions such as the Aquarium, 17 mile drive, Pebble Beach, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Carmel. Our hotel also features pet friendly rooms upon request. All rooms have been recently remodeled at the end of 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Inn Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Ramona Hotel Monterey
Best Western Monterey
Monterey Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing