We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We found this motel to be of excellent value.It was clean and looked as if it has just been refurbished. The parking areas had all been resurfaced and re marked out. The breakfast was O.K. It was in the reception area with limited seating but the food was good and there was a good choice of breakfast food and drinks. The location was good for both Monterey and Carmel. Close to the main highway and opposite the large shopping mall. It was fairly quiet at night being set back from the road. Overall experience was very good.

Room Tip: We were on the upper floor and found this to be more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    439
    171
    38
    23
See reviews for
346
397
53
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

We chose this hotel mainly on previous tripadvisor reviews. Hotels in this area are usually expensive, however this was excellent value for what we needed. Rooms were clean and quiet with a complimentary breakfast. Couldnt really ask for more, I would definately recommend this for a stay in Monterey

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Torres9_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The thing that struck us about this hotel was the size of the rooms! They were massive. I think that stood out as we has stayed in quite small rooms in San Francisco the night before. Very nice and modern rooms and bathroom. The breakfast was a bit crowded which was actually in the reception area. It is a bit of a walk to the main centre from this hotel. About a 40 minute walk. Free wifi and Tea/ Coffee in rooms was appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

met all are needs as far as location , also the room was very clean and bed was comfortable,
the continental breakfast was a great start to our day and save time so we didnt have to stop off to eat, before sight seeing . I will definetely stay here again .also across the road, hidden behind trees was a great designer mall, were we picked up a few gifts.the staff at hotel were extremely
helpful cant wait to visit again . mike and bernie

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernie951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
armonk, ny
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

For an extra $10, we got the suite with 2 King size beds. It was the most spacious motel room I have ever seen. The bathroom was even spacious, with 2 sinks. The staff was friendly and efficient and the room was clean and nicely decorated. Breakfast is served in the office, but we took ours to the pool side tables and had a nice time. The only downside was the pool, which was a bit too chilly for swimming.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eli37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Dear guest, We are glad you enjoyed your stay at our property. our staff works very hard to maintain the property and make sure every guest has a positive experience. We hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
383 reviews
269 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

I went for this on the basis of good reviews. What a mistake. The motel is way out of central Monterey. The management were unfriendly bordering on hostile when I tried to get a bigger room. Our room was minuscule, a tiny Queen room a third of the size of most standard motel rooms. The room coffee was miserable, breakfast in the reception was unhealthy, the fridge had to be switched off at night because of the noise volume. Good things: the hot water was very hot, the room was clean and there were flowers hung on the outside and it is very near a mall with a couple of restaurants and a Wholefoods warehouse

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kongsberg, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had only a one night stop as we drove through on our way to San Francisco. A good value for money, decent size, and fair up to date rooms and clean. Very good standard for motel. Recommended for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norwegian76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
super8mry, Owner at Super 8 Monterey / Carmel, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad you enjoyed the cleanliness and the complimentary room amenities. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Monterey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#3 of 56 in Monterey
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
2.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#27 of 56 in Monterey
171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Monterey
Super 8 Monterey
#35 of 56 in Monterey
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Property: Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super 8
Monterey Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing