We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Monterey / Carmel
Ranked #28 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We chose this motel based on TA reviews and because we wanted a typical motel where we could park outside the room on our three trip around California. We booked a two queen room for two nights because that was all that was left. I was a little disappointed that we were given a room at the end of the row behind the stairs but it was fine and had a second window high up on the side wall. We were impressed by the exterior of the motel (lots of flowers) and the room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large and there was a second sink outside. We enjoyed our stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend this motel. Whilst it was more expensive than most Super 8s it was good value for the location ($208 for 2 nights).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller5247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed one night @ this super8 branch. The room was big and comfortable. Breakfast was nice and was a good morning starter. The motel is located opposite to a mall that has everything you need. Wi-Fi signal was OK and satisfying.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AniLoPo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

The good:
Friendly staff, free adequate parking, affordable rates, small continental breakfast, walking distance to strip mall/restaurants/retail stores just across the street. 5 minutes drive to downtown. Small clean comfortable room. Small refrigerator and microwave available. Free wi-fi.

The bad:
Thin walls, someone above me on the second floor did a lot of walking late at night so I did not get much sleep. They also got up at early 5am and boy did the floors creak. When someone took a shower, you can hear the noisy plumbing through the walls. The heater/ac unit was loud, so I turned it off. The shower knob leaked when turned on. It was also hard to manage the hot and cold water combination. You could not open your bathroom door fully because it hit the top of the shower rod.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theCFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

After seeing some of the other reviews, it's evident that others aren't aware that rates change with demand. For us, our senior rate booked through the hotel's website was a great deal even though it changed throughout our 8 night stay (higher on the weekend and during the Jazz festival). That being said, obviously your expectations have a lot to do with satisfaction, right? We wanted - and got - a clean but simple room central to everything that we'd feel safe and comfortable at night since we weren't hanging out there during the day. The staff was very friendly to us...maybe you get what you give? As others have said, the breakfast is as simple as you can get with a couple of cereals, toast, bananas, and such but we walked over to Whole Foods right across the street and we're satisfied (it was good for other room snacks too, of course). Yes, the noise from the street is always in the background but it didn't keep us awake. The king suite room and bed were very comfortable and the room was spacious. Bottom line, this hotel worked well for us and we'd stay again.

Room Tip: If a king suite works for you, ask for room 211 because the supply room which is only used during th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lammejn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed here in between taxi rides from the Asilomar Conference grounds and the Monterey airport, using our Wyndham Rewards points. The room was clean and comfortable, and management was pleasant and helpful. The breakfast area is small but was not really crowded when we went in. The motel is a short walk from a shopping center, and there is a very nice grocery store (Whole Foods) on the edge of that center where we got a really good sandwich to take back to the motel for our dinner. We had also stopped in a restaurant in the shopping center for a glass of wine, and I'd certainly make that same round again! All things considered, this was a very nice travel experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimS90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

We stayed at this motel during the labor day weekend and paid over $100/night for a Queen size bed room. For that money, this hotel is not a great value. If it were around $60 or $70 I would have rated higher but for this price range I would expect little more.
The rooms, esp. bathroom, are really tiny. My biggest complaint was that the room had an unpleasant damp odor. We stayed in the second floor.
The hotel is not within walking distance (about 3 miles) to aquarium or the beach to pay a premium price for the location. Its located across a shopping mall.
I do have to say the rooms were really clean with nice interior and the bed was comfortable.
I was really surprised because I booked this hotel after reading very excellent reviews on Tripadvisor including large size rooms and nice smell but my experience is not that great but it seems like YMMV depending on which room you get.
You do get free WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, and free parking.
Mainly the value and unpleasant odor brought down my rating for this hotel.
If you are willing to pay $100+ for an average (but clean) motel then this is your place.
One tip book very early to get cheap price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkyHighTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We found this motel to be of excellent value.It was clean and looked as if it has just been refurbished. The parking areas had all been resurfaced and re marked out. The breakfast was O.K. It was in the reception area with limited seating but the food was good and there was a good choice of breakfast food and drinks. The location was good for both Monterey and Carmel. Close to the main highway and opposite the large shopping mall. It was fairly quiet at night being set back from the road. Overall experience was very good.

Room Tip: We were on the upper floor and found this to be more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterey by the Sea
0.4 mi away
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
The Arbor Inn - Monterey
#39 of 56 in Monterey
144 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lone Oak Lodge
Lone Oak Lodge
#4 of 56 in Monterey
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Monterey Downtown
0.4 mi away
Best Western Park Crest Inn
2.2 mi away
Ramada Monterey
Ramada Monterey
#26 of 56 in Monterey
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Monterey / Carmel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Monterey / Carmel

Address: 1300 Munras Ave, Hwy-1 Exit Munras Avenue, Monterey, CA 93940-6108
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £30 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Monterey / Carmel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Monterey / Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Monterey/Carmel Hotel Monterey
Super Eight Monterey
Monterey Super Eight
Monterey Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing